Full-Round Actions and Extra Actions


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Let's say you use an ability to get an extra action in a round. For example, you use hero points to get an extra standard action.

You use a full-round action during that round. Can you use the extra action in addition?

---

Related text, in no real order.

Hero Points don't really talk about how this would work.

The Pathfinder Chronicler's ability gives an extra action, but it's not done on your turn.

Full-round actions

Quote:
A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can't be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step.
Quote:
Inspired Moment (Ex): At 11th level, the guide can have an inspired moment once per day as a free action. The ranger gains the following benefits until the end of his next turn. His speed increases by 10 feet. He can take an extra move or swift action on his turn. He gains a +4 bonus to AC and on attack rolls, skill checks, or ability checks. Finally, he automatically confirms any critical threat he scores. He can use this ability one additional time per day at 19th level. This ability replaces quarry and improved quarry.

Accelerate Time WoP

Quote:

The target of a wordspell with this effect word can take one additional move action each turn. This move action can come before, after, or between other actions, but not during a full-round action.

Boost: If the target takes a full-attack action, it can, instead of taking an extra move action, make one additional attack at its highest attack bonus.


Here's how I would rule it:

You can take the additional action as long as it does not interfere with the full round action. For instance, you could take the extra action to move 20' then cast a 1 round spell.

I would rule you cannot start casting the 1 round spell then move 20'.

I can't imagine that you will find a hard and fast rule, but that is how I would handle it at my table.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

An extra move, standard or full-round action is taken either before or after your (normal) full-round action, as you choose, and you choose again each time you take it.

Even without any extra actions, the rules are such that any action is taken as a whole, and then followed by other actions (unless there is a specific exception, such as Flyby Attack). Any extra action you might take does not change this.

Free, swift and immediate actions may be able to interrupt another action, as may non-actions such as a 5-foot step, AoO (or grip changing if that's how it is at your table!), but this is already detailed in the descriptions for those action-types.

Taking a full-round action would not preclude you from taking any extra action you are allowed, if that is the question you are asking! A full-round action takes up your entire normal round, not any bonus actions you might get!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Full-Round Actions and Extra Actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.