Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Does Short Sword Proficiency = Gladius Proficiency?


Rules Questions


The title of this thread says it all. I'm considering playing a rogue in an upcoming campaign who would fight with a gladius...since rogues are proficient with short swords, and the rules for the gladius in Ultimate Combat state that feats and abilities that apply to short swords apply to the gladius, does that mean the character would be proficient with it? The rules just seem a tad unclear to me, since the gladius is listed as an entirely separate martial weapon.


Yes, since short sword proficiency is an automatic "feat" for the rogue, the gladius is fair game.


agreed, since if you took the feat for SS proficiency it would work on gladius,
having a class ability do the same thing as the feat would also work...
it would be better if they just said proficiency is shared, but i think it would work fine.


Cool, I appreciate the help! My thoughts were that it would work that way, too.


So for extra 1 lb., 5 extra gold, and no extra proficiency, you get a weapon superior to the short sword? Two damage types is worth something.


Yup. The gladius is meant to be a warrior's primary weapon, where as the short sword acts as a backup weapon to the longsword/broadsword.
I like to keep weapons thematically restricted in my games (so very few katana in the Inner Sea), so I can't help but wonder where the Golarion gladius comes from.


i can see an argument for why it wouldn't apply...
feats that apply to SS apply to Gladius because it can be used like a SS...
but that isn't the ONLY way it can be used...
so if using Gladius features that diverge from a SS, that stuff shouldn't apply...?


Quandary wrote:


but that isn't the ONLY way it can be used...
so if using Gladius features that diverge from a SS, that stuff shouldn't apply...?

It all applies, otherwise the gladius would require more book keeping than it's worth.


Eh, this really only benefits the Rogue, and given how many nerfs they got, it doesn't really matter.


ArgentumLupus wrote:

Yup. The gladius is meant to be a warrior's primary weapon, where as the short sword acts as a backup weapon to the longsword/broadsword.

I like to keep weapons thematically restricted in my games (so very few katana in the Inner Sea), so I can't help but wonder where the Golarion gladius comes from.

The gladius is a gladiatorial weapon. It's probably available anywhere generically.

Apart from having the performance property the gladius is what a longsword should be: a light martial weapon with stats in between the dagger and longsword. Seriously, look at that thing in Valeros' left hand and tell me it can't do slashing damage.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Real world regional weapon restrictions don't quite work in Golarion.

This is because those countries exist in Golarion.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

So just to be clear, if you have the Shortword proficiency then you can fight with the Gladius as well? I like the idea.

Grand Lodge

Keep in mind the short sword is sorta SORTA also based on the 'Small Sword' or Court Swords of the 18th-19th Century (or it can be). I love the Gladius as a PFS weapon.Ironically? The real Gladius wasnt really designed as a slashing weapon and its primary use was to stab.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Does Short Sword Proficiency = Gladius Proficiency? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.