Missing with Throw Splash Weapon


Rules Questions


From here: "If you miss the target (whether aiming at a creature or a grid intersection), roll 1d8. This determines the misdirection of the throw, with 1 falling short (off-target in a straight line toward the thrower), and 2 through 8 rotating around the target creature or grid intersection in a clockwise direction. Then, count a number of squares in the indicated direction equal to the range increment of the throw. After you determine where the weapon landed, it deals splash damage to all creatures in that square and in all adjacent squares."

So, tell me if I get it right. An Alchemist throws a bomb (20 ft. range) to a character 10 ft. away from her and misses. The d8 roll results in 1, so the bomb falls 10 ft. behind the Alchemist?
Or if the Alchemist was 20 ft. away, the bomb falls in her own space?


Astral Wanderer wrote:


So, tell me if I get it right. An Alchemist throws a bomb (20 ft. range) to a character 10 ft. away from her and misses. The d8 roll results in 1, so the bomb falls 10 ft. behind the Alchemist?
Or if the Alchemist was 20 ft. away, the bomb falls in her own space?

This seems correct.

I actually thought there was a rule that it can't land more than half the thrown range away from the target. But I can't find it, so it must have been a different system.

Actually I think it is okay, casting bombs on short range should have its risks. If the alchemist moves to just 30 feat, then he is safe.

The miss in your example, might not be him throwing it backwards. It could be explained as the bomb bounces off the target's shield or armor, flying in the opposite direction.


If I'm reading correctly, no. I'm pretty sure that that all means this: if the alchemist throws his bomb at a target within his first range increment and misses, the bomb lands one square away; if his target was in his second range increment, than the bomb will land two squares away.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Astral Wanderer wrote:

So, tell me if I get it right. An Alchemist throws a bomb (20 ft. range) to a character 10 ft. away from her and misses. The d8 roll results in 1, so the bomb falls 10 ft. behind the Alchemist?

Or if the Alchemist was 20 ft. away, the bomb falls in her own space?

I think it's like this:

[Alc] [___] [Orc]

Since you were throwing at range increment 1, the bomb falls one square short, landing in the empty space between the alchemist and the orc. Both get splashed.

Other example:

[Alc] [_a_] [_b_] [_c_] [_d_] [Orc]

Alc misses, rolls a 1 on the d8. Since he's throwing in the 2nd range increment, the bomb lands two squares short, in empty space "c" and no-one gets splashed.


Abyssian wrote:
If I'm reading correctly, no. I'm pretty sure that that all means this: if the alchemist throws his bomb at a target within his first range increment and misses, the bomb lands one square away; if his target was in his second range increment, than the bomb will land two squares away.

This seems a more reasonable interpretation. I didn't think of taking the number of range increments as the number of squares.

Otherwise, the bounce-back explanation could work, but would need quite an amount of tweaking (glass bouncing back instead of breaking, and bouncing so much?).

Sczarni

Yea if you are in the first range increment and miss and roll a 1 on the scatter then you basically threw like a sissy little elf and it didn't go far enough so it winds up 1 space closer to the alchemist from the intended target.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Missing with Throw Splash Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.