Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Attacking with a shield


Advice


One of the players in my Pathfinder game is currently playing a fighter, specifically a phalanx soldier. He has chosen to wield a shield with a shield spike attached to it in his off-hand, as well as a one-handed sword in the main.

What it boils down to, is that we're terribly confused by penalties to attack when it comes to attacking with *just* the shield. He's got the two-weapon fighting feat, so if he is to attack with both his sword *and* shield, the penalties would of course apply. However, often he chooses to simply use a shield bash.

If someone could enlighten me with a detailed description as to how we should calculate the attack bonus for attacking with a shield, I'd be very much obliged.

Thanks very much.

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Just like any other weapon. No special rules whatsoever (well, except that attacking with it costs him the shield bonus to AC for that round unless he has Improved Shield Bash).


It's simple -- if he attacks with only the shield there are no extra penalties for fighting with two weapons.

Just like if he was to simply attack with the sword there would be no extra penalties for having the shield in the other hand.

Silver Crusade

The better quesiton is why did he bother with Phalanx Fighter... and then use a sword. That archtypes is deisnged to use a shield and a two handed polearm (wielded one handed).


Wow, very active community. Thanks for responding, helped me out quite a bit.


Tempestorm: The players are just level one, so he hasn't gained the "phalanx fighting" ability yet.

Silver Crusade

Ah, makes perfect sense and should have thought of that.


Also. If he has BAB 6, and therefor a second itterative attack, he can do attacks like Sword with +6 and shield with +1, at no penalty.

The TWF penalty only applies if he gets the extra attack from the offhand.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Yep, if you are not gaining an extra attack from two weapon fighting, then you are not two weapon fighting, and suffer no penalties.


Thanks everyone. :)

Silver Crusade

Tempestorm wrote:
The better quesiton is why did he bother with Phalanx Fighter... and then use a sword. That archtypes is deisnged to use a shield and a two handed polearm (wielded one handed).

If the character isn't level 3 he can't use a polearm one handed yet.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Advice / Attacking with a shield All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.