Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Stat boosting magic items question.


Rules Questions


For Items like the various belts and headbands that improve stats permanently I had a few questions.

1)
If I use a belt or head band that was +2 to a stat (or stats) then many adventures later I came across a more powerful version OF THE EXACT SAME ITEM that had a +4 increase. Can I use the more powerful verison to get another stat increase?

1-A)
Does the stat increase stack, giving me a +6 total or just gives me the more powerful +4 and ignore the original +2?

2)
If I use a Belt of physical Perfection and give myself +4 to str,dex and con then later I find I belt of Giants Strength +6 and I use that does the +6 stack with the +4 becuase they are two different belts?

3)
Are the belts and headbands one use items after they've been used or can they be passed from one character to another after they've been used to grant their bonuses permanently?

I use belts in these examples because I am playing a fighter at the moment but I am also interested in the headbands that increase mental stats as well.

Thanks in advance!

The Exchange

1) Yes, you can switch them out and get the new bonus.

1-A) No, they won't stack, since it's only a bonus for as long as the item is worn, and you can't wear more than one belt/headband.

2) No, see above. You only have one belt "slot"

3) No, they must be worn to grant the bonus. Once they come off, are disjoined, etc., the bonus disappears.


1. No. You only have one belt slot and one headband slot. Even if you found some way to wear two belts, both belts provide enhancement bonuses, which don't stack with each other. Only the higher bonus would apply.

1A & 2. See answer 1.

3. When you take the belt/headband off, you lose the bonus. The "permanent" clause is to allow access to other effects such as bonus spells, feat prerequisites, etc.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Comics Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Tales Subscriber

They also don't stack because they're all enhancement bonuses. Similar bonuses do not stack.

Dark Archive

the items don't grant bonuses permanently, you get the bonus as long as you are wearing them. They stop being treated as a temporary bonus after 24 hours granting you extra rage rounds and things like that.

1-A)
only +4

2)
only one belt can affect you at a time

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

None of the bonus stack because its the same type of bonus.

You can however pay to increase say a +4 to a +6 by expending the cost difference.

Also, if you have a belt +6 str and your party mage casts bull str on you...you only use the enchantment that gives you the best boost. That is to say, the spell doesn't stack either because it to is the same type.

Further, these stat items give a temporary bonus for the first 24 hours and then are considered permanent for the time the item is on. So a +2 int headband does give +1/lv skill point but only after 24 hours.

I suggest looking at the dueling gloves from the APG. If I remember correctly it boosts your fighter bonus for a number of things. Its a must have item.


Sarcon wrote:
the items don't grant bonuses permanently, you get the bonus as long as you are wearing them. They stop being treated as a temporary bonus after 24 hours granting you extra rage rounds and things like that.

Ahhhhhh

That there answers most of my questions.

Silly me, I was thinking "permanent" meant things were, you know....PERMANENT.

So you are saying as long as I have the belt on I have the stat boost, BUT to get the extras for figured stats and secondary traits it must be worn for 24 hours.

Then if you get extra HP from the con bonus should you keep track of those in case said belt gets lost/stolen/destroyed/etc or do you not get extra HP from the con bonus?


Pathfinder Card Game, Maps Subscriber

You'd get the extra HP from the Con bonus, but that should be fairly easily figurable if they lose it; They gain whatever the <CON modifier bonus> when they put it on, and they lose that same amount when they take it off.


Harley Quinn X wrote:
You'd get the extra HP from the Con bonus, but that should be fairly easily figurable if they lose it; They gain whatever the <CON modifier bonus> when they put it on, and they lose that same amount when they take it off.

What I'm asking is do I get extra HP from the point where I get the item from then on (if it's being worn) everytime I level?

OR

Do I get the extra HP as though I had always had the new CON score, thereby adding HP retro actively to previosuly gained levels as opposed to only getting higher HP for new levels with the new CON score?

Dark Archive

you don't need to keep track of them, its essentially a 24 our bear's endurance. you get the extra hp and fort save bonus right away, but nothing permanent (rounds of rage are the only thing i can think of) till the next day.

EDIT: Yes, apply retro hp

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Stat boosting magic items question. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.