Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

RPG Superstar 2015

Buckler + potion or buckler + scroll


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hello!

I'm working in a extremely strange cleric build with 2 bucklers, 1 in each hand. He has no weapon, because he is totally healer/buffer. So, my strategy is to have a potion in one hand all the time and a scroll in the other. I have some thoughts that need to be confirmed here. Please, tell me what of the following statements isn't correct:

1- I can only benefit of one shield each round. I can't never stack the two AC shield bonus.

2- I can use a buckler to defend myself holding a potion or scroll in that hand as long as I don't use that potion or scroll in that round.

3- I can get out of my bagpack a potion or a scroll with a "buckled" hand as a move action.

4- I can activate a scroll with one hand while defending myself with the buckler in the second hand while holding a potion in the second hand.

And now a question: Is there any feat to retrieve stored items without provoking attacks of opportunity?

Thanks for your time!


1. Yes.
2. I think even if you use it you retain the shield bonus, at least with the potion. AFAIK, only using a weapon or casting a spell (I suppose a spell completion item such as a scroll would count) causes you to lose the buckler's AC bonus.
3. It takes longer than that to retrieve something from a backpack. You want a Handy Haversack for move action retrieval. I have no idea the time it takes to retrieve from a normal backpack, but since things can get shuffled around, I'd expect at least a full round action.
4. Yes.

No feat that I know of, though a Handy Haversack covers that problem, also. You could probably work with your DM to make "backpack" an option for Equipment Trick and have "not provoking for retrieving items" be one of the tricks it gives you.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Have you considered the klar?

Liberty's Edge

I think a klar doesn't allow me to use spells, scrolls or potions with that hand. A buckler specifies that actions to be doable.

Thanks for your answers!


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

A Scizore would work.


Talk to your DM about quickdraw. I know it specifies weapons, but you might be able to get mileage that way (to reduce AOO). Not RAW, but worth a shot.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Efficient Quiver will work for you too.


Drawing a weapon does not provoke, but digging around in a backpack does. If you draw a weapon from a backpack it would provoke as well. So, logically an item in an easy to grab sheathe or pouch might not provoke (using said item may still). But, invoking logic has little room for 3.5 or Pathfinder and thus it would still provoke because it's not a weapon (wands can be drawn without provking though as do other weapon-like objects, p186, Draw or Sheathe a Weapon).

Handy Haversack is the simplest solution.


StreamOfTheSky wrote:
3. It takes longer than that to retrieve something from a backpack. You want a Handy Haversack for move action retrieval. I have no idea the time it takes to retrieve from a normal backpack, but since things can get shuffled around, I'd expect at least a full round action.

Incorrect, page 183 of CRB lists retrieving any item from a bag is a move action that provokes aoo. The benefit's of a handy haversack are that no matter what it will still only weigh 5 lb, and that you can retrieve an item as a move action without provoking aoo.

As to your question Ravenath, I don't think there is any feat that allows you to retrieve an item without provoking. But that's exactly what the handy haversack does.


Keep the following in mind:

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

Depending on your DM, he may consider some items more "weapon-like" than others.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Buckler + potion or buckler + scroll All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.