Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Interplay between Mirror Image and Invisibility


Rules Questions


An issue came up in my weekly game recently involving mirror image and invis.

Background: I am a rogue/caster, I use magic to get position for sneaks, etc.

Situation: I cast a mirror image on myself to protect from ranged attacks as I maneuver. Realizing that the terrain is hampered, and all my opponents have reach (and my tumble is nonexistent) instead of racking up 4 AOOs as I move to flank, I decide to spend a turn and invis myself.

Issue: The GM decides that while I become invisible, my images do not, as they are copies of myself at the time that I cast the spell, and new spells will not affect the figments.

I believe that the figments will turn invisible with me, but because they are invis (as per the language in the spell), they are ineffective until the invis wears off (so that if one of the monsters had see invis, I'd be screwed).

What say you, O crowd of knowledge? Who is right?


The images look exactly like you. Wounds on your character would show up on the images and anything altering the look or visibility of your character changes the images as well. So they would turn invisible.

One could also argue the other way round. If a mage casts invis first, then Mirror Image and then attacks, the images wouldn't stay invisible.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

GM duties include being arbiter of the rules therefore the GM is correct.

That said here's this yahoo's opinion:

"If you are invisible or the attacker is blind, the spell has no effect (although the normal miss chances still apply)."

So Mirror image does nothing while you are invisible, but do the images become invisible too?

"These images remain in your space and move with you, mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly."

Hmmmm, no clear answer, my initial reaction would be to make them all invisible for simplicities sake but I don't feel strongly either way.


Vective wrote:

An issue came up in my weekly game recently involving mirror image and invis.

Background: I am a rogue/caster, I use magic to get position for sneaks, etc.

Situation: I cast a mirror image on myself to protect from ranged attacks as I maneuver. Realizing that the terrain is hampered, and all my opponents have reach (and my tumble is nonexistent) instead of racking up 4 AOOs as I move to flank, I decide to spend a turn and invis myself.

Issue: The GM decides that while I become invisible, my images do not, as they are copies of myself at the time that I cast the spell, and new spells will not affect the figments.

I believe that the figments will turn invisible with me, but because they are invis (as per the language in the spell), they are ineffective until the invis wears off (so that if one of the monsters had see invis, I'd be screwed).

What say you, O crowd of knowledge? Who is right?

The images turn invisible when you do.

"These images remain in your space and move with you, mimicking your movements, sounds, and actions exactly."

Also, "An attacker must be able to see the figments to be fooled. If you are invisible or the attacker is blind, the spell has no effect..."

An attacker that can see invisible, can see and be fooled by the images.

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Interplay between Mirror Image and Invisibility All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.