Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

Dex Bonus, Armor Check Penalty and Heavy Armor


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

10 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does the maximum DEX bonus caused by most armor apply to the DEX bonus in the CMB/CMD calculations?

Does the armor check penalty apply to attempts to escape a grapple? As I read the PRD, the armor check penalty would apply if the grappled character (wearing armor with which he was proficient) tried to use the Escape Artist skill to escape, but not if he tried to use CMB to escape. If the grappled character were not proficient with his armor, would the CMB roll to escape the grapple count as an attack roll?

PRD wrote:

Benefit: When you wear a type of armor with which you are proficient, the armor check penalty for that armor applies only to Dexterity- and Strength-based skill checks.

Normal: A character who is wearing armor with which he is not proficient applies its armor check penalty to attack rolls and to all skill checks that involve moving.

Shadow Lodge

Armor check penalty

Armor Check Penalty: Any armor heavier than leather, as well as any shield, hurts a character's ability to use Dexterity- and Strength-based skills . An armor check penalty applies to all Dexterity- and Strength-based skill checks . A character's encumbrance may also incur an armor check penalty.

So no. CMD and CMB are not skill checks.

Maximum Dex Bonus: This number is the maximum Dexterity bonus to AC that this type of armor allows. Dexterity bonuses in excess of this number are reduced to this number for the purposes of determining the wearer's AC . Heavier armors limit mobility, reducing the wearer's ability to dodge blows. This restriction doesn't affect any other Dexterity-related abilities.

Oooo.. the last sentence is even better.


BigNorseWolf wrote:


Maximum Dex Bonus: This number is the maximum Dexterity bonus to AC that this type of armor allows. Dexterity bonuses in excess of this number are reduced to this number for the purposes of determining the wearer's AC . Heavier armors limit mobility, reducing the wearer's ability to dodge blows. This restriction doesn't affect any other Dexterity-related abilities.

Oooo.. the last sentence is even better.

If you're implying Max Dex doesn't apply to CMD,

CMD wrote:

Miscellaneous Modifiers

A creature can also add any circumstance, deflection, dodge, insight, luck, morale, profane, and sacred bonuses to AC to its CMD. Any penalties to a creature's AC also apply to its CMD. A flat-footed creature does not add its Dexterity bonus to its CMD.

Osirion

Technically, max dex bonus is not a direct 'penalty' to your AC. If you have a +3 dex with full plate, you do not get 22 AC and then take a penalty of -2. You just can only use +1 of your dex to AC.

Max dex does not, as far as I understand, apply to CMD.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Sizik wrote:


If you're implying Max Dex doesn't apply to CMD,

CMD wrote:

Miscellaneous Modifiers

A creature can also add any circumstance, deflection, dodge, insight, luck, morale, profane, and sacred bonuses to AC to its CMD. Any penalties to a creature's AC also apply to its CMD. A flat-footed creature does not add its Dexterity bonus to its CMD.

I think this states it very well.

While it does say 'penalties' and a decreased bonus from dex isn't specifically, I believe there is more than enough reason to say, that the fact that the armor limits your ability to avoid blows by being dexterious, should also limit your ability to avoid combat maneauvers by being dexterious.


Max. Dex Bonus apply to AC, Touch AC, Touch AC vs Incorporeals, etc.. (see 3.5 FAQ and rules which are the same).

The Dex. cap isn't a penalty, so... just click the FAQ button :D

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Pathfinder® / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Dex Bonus, Armor Check Penalty and Heavy Armor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.