
ketrava |
Until something else takes control of them, yes it is permanent. It worked similarly in D&D v3.5.
question. I know the feat implies this but I have the kind of GM who wants proof. Do you know of any place that states specifically as errata or an official rule that this is the case??

Ravingdork |

Ravingdork wrote:Until something else takes control of them, yes it is permanent. It worked similarly in D&D v3.5.question. I know the feat implies this but I have the kind of GM who wants proof. Do you know of any place that states specifically as errata or an official rule that this is the case??
The best I could probably do is find a v3.5 source that proves this to be true (at least, in v3.5).
I haven't seen anything like that on these boards yet.

Oliver McShade |

No clue by RAW (some many rules in pathfinder, in varying location, an not sure. Might be rule i do not know about)
...............
To the best of my knowledge, how i thought it worked.
They are permanently controlled, until they make their save (intelligent), somone else takes control by feat or spell, they are destroyed, or you let them go (willingly, or by overloading the HD limit of what you can control).
..............
Command Undead feat use the "control undead" spell entry.
Why they did not name the feat "Control undead" i have no clue.
Control Undead spell effects a 30 foot burst, but has a 1 min/level duration.
.............
There is a spell called Command Undead, which last 1 day per level. But it only effects 1 target per casting.
Wish good luck,

![]() |

Command Undead
Using foul powers of necromancy, you can command undead creatures, making them into your servants.
Prerequisites: Channel negative energy class feature.
Benefit: As a standard action, you can use one of your uses of channel negative energy to enslave undead within 30 feet. Undead receive a Will save to negate the effect. The DC for this Will save is equal to 10 + 1/2 your cleric level + your Charisma modifier. Undead that fail their saves fall under your control, obeying your commands to the best of their ability, as if under the effects of control undead. Intelligent undead receive a new saving throw each day to resist your command. You can control any number of undead, so long as their total Hit Dice do not exceed your cleric level. If you use channel energy in this way, it has no other effect (it does not heal or harm nearby creatures). If an undead creature is under the control of another creature, you must make an opposed Charisma check whenever your orders conflict.
There is no time limit for the effect in the feat.
The reference to the control undead spell is very specific and relevant to how the control work, not to how long it last:"Undead that fail their saves fall under your control, obeying your commands to the best of their ability, as if under the effects of control undead.".
So my opinion is that the effect last until the undead save against it (if intelligent) or someone take control of them.