|Paizo Pathfinder® Paizo Games|
|About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ|
Polypurpose Panacea wrote:
Analgesic: You do not feel minor aches and pains, such as from arthritis, a cold, or a hangover, for 1 hour. For the duration, you gain a +2 resistance bonus against pain-related spells.
Not quite nerve block level but close.
There is also Delay Pain.
So not a cure but it can put it off until you have time to scream your head off.
While the rest of us are saying, "Dude, slitting someone's throat is not battle (what is actually listed as having a -10 DC check)."
If I snipe someone and they die not everyone between us should have a -10 dc check to know that someone just got sniped.
If I'm killing a chicken for supper not everyone in the 100 foot vicinity is going to know I just did it.
It's not "WHAT? I CAN'T HERE YOU OVER THE SOUND OF BATTLE FROM SOME GUY SLITTING BOBBY'S THROAT TWO ROOMS OVER!"
"GUYS THERE WAS A GRAPPLING HOOK ON WALL BATTLE BE READY!"
I thought the clarification was premised on the following (from this section):
The effect being "add charisma bonus to reflex save throw"
You have that ability twice, once from divine protection and once from prophetic armor. So that part doesn't happen twice.
I can understand some argument with the "replace dex portion" though.
Basically if I understand that argument correctly it would be:
reflex_save == base_bonus + dex_mod_bonus + (other)
How ravingdork would like them to work:
if divine_protection then
I believe this is consistent with another FAQ they put up too:
On the alternate ability modifier on check specifically, where they stated changing the ability that is applied means the check becomes the new ability modifier type of check.
Alternate Ability Score-Based Checks: If I change the key ability score of a skill (or other check), for example, if I change Knowledge from Intelligence to Charisma, is it no-longer an Intelligence-based check? Is it now a Charisma-based check?
Generally yes—at the time of rolling a check, if you substitute the ability score, the check is now based on the new ability score. In the example, at the time of rolling, Knowledge would now be a Charisma-based skill and not an Intelligence-based skill for you, which would affect things like feats, spells, or items that grant bonuses on checks based on their key ability score (like circlet of persuasion). However, if you are adding a second ability modifier to a check, this is not the case. For instance, when adding both Wisdom and Dexterity on initiative checks, initiative is still a Dexterity check, not a Wisdom check. Also, this changes the check only at the time of rolling, so this does not change static class features or options made during character building such as your class’s class skills. Classes that receive “all Intelligence-based skills” as class skills, for instance, are the victim of sloppy writing, and furthermore sometimes effects might muddy the water by only changing the ability dependency sometimes and not others, which is why you check the new dependency only for a specific given roll.
The prophetic armor ability makes it a charisma check. You can't add your charisma ability modifier to the same check twice without something explicit saying you can. You could add a deflection bonus equal to your charisma ability modifier, or add an enhancement bonus equal to your charisma ability modifier, but you cannot straight up add your charisma ability modifier to the roll twice.
Also wants and wishes compared to reality.
I want my nation to always do the right thing, no one to suffer if possible, there to be plenty for all.
I know that's not what's always going to happen.
Most sane people relying on those sentries or being that sleeping person (or the one beside him) might want that -- I assure you the person doing the eliminating does not, and is just as sane in that desire.
Personally Transmutation is one of the schools I would never oppose. To me giving up enchantment is easy -- most of the spells are iffy to start with due to NPC interaction with them and their almost universal attribute of being mind affecting (meaning there are lots of things either flat out immune or with huge bonuses).
Illusion while nice is easy to survive without, in this case I think that and enchantment would make an easy choice.
I'm pretty confident that any instance in which one person is stabbing another person would be defined as combat.
Ah, so slitting someone's throat in the night is combat?
I think not. It is certainly an attack, but not all attacks are combat.
There are plenty of situations where you might be attacked but not be in combat, especially not noisy, and immediately noticeable from 100 feet away combat.
The rule was always there. if you chose to houserule or ignore before ultimate intrigue, you can continue to do so after.
But that rule did not suggest that one person being stabbed in a surprise round was a full on battle that could be heard by everyone.
That's the part you are ignoring in your haste to say people are housruling or ignoring what was going on.
An unusual case of the handedness rule is an ability that allows you to treat a two-handed weapon as a one-handed weapon. For example, the titan mauler's jotungrip (which allows you to wield a two-handed weapon with one hand) allows you to wield a bastard sword in one hand even without the Exotic Weapon Proficiency, and (as the ability states) treats it as a one-handed weapon, therefore it is treated as a one-handed weapon for other effects.
My thread I referenced earlier has all the FaQs involved listened and is exactly about this issue. Effects have also already been defined to include class abilities, feats, spells, magic items and even favored class bonuses.
So how you would say the weapon interacts with the transformative property?
If I wield it one handed I should be able to turn it into a rapier, but if I wield it two handed I should also be able to turn it into an earthbreaker.
The only weapons I shouldn't be able to emulate would be light weapons. If I put an effortless lace on it I should be able to cover the entire range.
How does this interact with other abilities that allow me to use a weapon one handed and other effects?
Examples include the Jotungrip and phalanx fighter, and again with the effortless lace.
The FAQs I quote state they are how you use them for effects, effects have been defined to include feats and racial abilities as well as magical items.
Another thought on power attack: you could be looking for the better strike instead of the easy strike. The penalty represents the fact you are not taking the first opportunity given but waiting for the much smaller target window you want knowing that if you do hit that target window you are going to hurt them so much more.
But that doesn't hold due to the second FAQ I quoted, or the third which specifically states it is how you use it.
Well house rules are that but as to the weapon itself:
If you can use the estoc proficiently with one hand, you can also use the Weapon Finesse feat to apply your Dexterity modifier instead of your Strength modifier on attack rolls when wielding an estoc sized for you with one or two hands, even though it isn't a light weapon.
You can finesse it regardless of how you use it.
Most estocs tend to taper down to an average thinness of 5/16th of an inch or about the size of a 7.62.
Thrusting it precisely into a vital spot and deep is going to leave quite the wound channel and lots of blood gushing out (I would argue for a bleeding quality to the estoc but that's not here or there).
Regardless it was considered a really nasty and dangerous weapon, because it was precise and powerful.
The combination you simply don't like.
I don't expect you to like it, but it is what it is, and what it is suppose to be and most importantly (in this case) is rules legal.
It is a finesse weapon, it is two handed, and it is designed to be used with powerful two handed attacks. All of which you can do in pathfinder, and is rules legal.
the bastard sword is only a one handed weapon if you get the exotic weapons proficiency for it or play a tengu
OR you have another ability that allows you to use it one handed as specifically pointed out by the titan mauler portion of the third FAQ I listed and quoted.
Which again supports the position that how you use it is what it qualifies for.
How do I qualify what feats I qualify for with which weapon? Is it based on how I use the weapon, or how the weapon is listed?
Example: The bastard sword is listed as a one-handed exotic weapon, but can be used as a martial two handed weapon. Can I use a bastard sword with slashing grace?
Second Example: Can a phalanx fighter use slashing grace with a polearm that he can use as a one-handed weapon even though it is listed as a two-handed weapon normally?
We have two FAQs that suggest different things. One says the bastard sword is a one handed weapon here
and is then contradicted by this FAQ
Which states that the bastard sword is actually a two handed weapon with an exemption clause.
However the position that a weapon is how you use it is also supported by the last FAQ on bastard swords which kind of cleans the prior two FAQs up in relation to the apparent contradiction:
I italicized what I feel are the most important parts. The last paragraph especially since it specifically calls out other abilities that alter the handedness of weapons. This specifically states that how you use it is how you determine effects for the weapon, does this include qualifying for feats?
In other FAQ's we have seen that "other effects" include qualifying for feats, favored class abilities and archetypes as shown in the half-elf and half-orc FAQ:
Even this is obviously not clear cut though because the FAQ on the titan mauler specifically does not allow the use of large two-handed weapons as two-handed weapons even though they are one-handed weapons for the titan mauler
If this is the case then I would submit that the answer to my question is: The weapon is how it is used for all effects including qualifying for feats and abilities.
Sorry I forgot a part:
The only other FAQs that throws this into question are the one regarding the lance
and of course has it's own problems with this FAQ
On your point to Kalindlara == you are wrong (again). The FAQ specifically states that if the base ability is altered nothing else can alter it.
Both Hexcrafter and Bladed scarf dancer alter the arcana ability. They both change the choices you can make as arcana. They do not stack. An increase in options to a base ability is an alteration of that ability and prevents further alteration.
On your first point, everything that the paizo development team has put out has supported the position that how you use the weapon is how you treat it for all interactions with the only exception being the lance while on horse back.
Chengar Qordath wrote:
Heck, even with that you can still pull that one feat you need right now anyways beyond simple extra spells (please note that you can get 2 extra spells so long as they aren't your highest level which can be even more useful at times).
Stabbing a guy is stabbing a guy. Not exactly the same as an actual combat (though it can lead to such).
And if you stab a guy right there won't be a pitched combat...
Quite frankly the idea of the first time someone is attacked puts you in full combat that anyone can hear at a DC of -10 is a bit much.
Are you aware of what the term "exception that proves the rule" means?
because if you are and you are aware of this FAQ then you would realize that the lance is an exception from the norm, and by being an exception actually proves the rule as it normally is.
And please note the "... and so on" -- they didn't not provide an exclusive list, merely some examples.
Kobold Cleaver wrote:
If I really wanted to get across the flavor of Zuko and the Blue Spirit, I'd want someone who went between "flashy firebending" and "stealthy swordfighting". Sort of a "backstabby" identity and a "magic boomboom" identity. Which, sadly, the current main archetype doesn't much care for, but maybe there'll be archetypes to replace the "social" identity with something closer.
Yeah part of what I don't like is I have but one choice with the current vigilante -- someone that is absolutely mundane then not.
I can't have a spellcaster by day melee master by night.
Regardless you get mundane day, something else night.
How you wield it is what the weapon is. So if you don't have exotic weapon proficiency you can't use a bastard sword one handed at all (as per the FAQ), and you can't use a large bastard sword either (also as per the FAQ). However if you have EWP(bastard sword) the bastard sword is a one handed weapon for you, you can do those to previous things and you can take feats for the bastard sword that only work with one handed weapons because it is a one handed weapon for you.
Every FAQ about weapons supports this position and furthers it, including a true exception that proves the rule case the FAQ about the lance.
Got to agree with Turgan here.
You definitely have an effective sorcerer level with the feats, and that would be adjusted by the robes.
The only question in my mind is if eldritch heritage counts has having the bloodline.
If eldritch heritage does count as having a bloodline how does this bloodline interact with the arcanist's Bloodline Development exploit?
If a sorcerer has eldritch heritage do the robes work with the feat then?
A bardic performance cannot be disrupted, but it ends immediately if the bard is killed, paralyzed, stunned, knocked unconscious, or otherwise prevented from taking a free action to maintain it each round.
Nothing about rage does any of that. You can still take a free action to maintain it, you are not killed, paralyzed, stunned, knocked unconscious or otherwise prevented from taking that free action.
I will agree that there are some specific performances you cannot do.
For example distraction requires a perform skill check -- you can't do that while raging. Countersong requires a perform skill check, again you can't do that while raging.
Since you can rage while not in combat you could use fascinate though.
Suggestion is a spell like ability and since you can foil the concentration for those I could definitely see an argument that you couldn't use it. Same with mass suggestion and frightening tune
However inspire courage (and the rest of the performances) is supernatural and we know from dragon totem wings (a supernatural ability) that you can use a standard action to use a supernatural ability while raging. So it is still on the table, especially since it doesn't require any sort of skill check to start.
That covers simply starting though, maintaining shouldn't be any problem since it's a free action that does not require concentration and cannot be disrupted.
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Which I didn't do.
saying something that does not require concentration requires concentration is silly.
pointing out that a free action requires no effort or concentration is valid.
pointing out that it is the same action type, level of effort and level of patience and concentration as is needed to maintain rage should not be neccesary, but apparently is.
Also your last statement suggests people are making an argument that they are not. No one said only spells require patience and concentration only that maintain a bardic does not.
What strikes me as odd is that concealed casting can leave you where your foe can aoo you for a spell they don't know comes from you.
I would make it situational based on the attitude of the creatures facing you. If you succeed on the check you do not provoke and the spell is not realized as coming from you.
Then have another talent that allows the limit free use of still and silent spell a couple of times a day.