
caelum |
16 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

I'm unsure about how to interpret the phrasing on the Hedge Witch features (from Ultimate Magic)...in particular, when does the character gain the two new powers?
Spontaneous Healing (Su): A hedge witch can channel stored spell energy into healing spells that she did not prepare ahead of time. The witch can “lose” any prepared spell that is not an orison in order to cast any cure spell of the same spell level or lower, even if she doesn't know that cure spell. This replaces the witch's hex gained at 4th level.
Upon first reading, I assumed that the hedge witch gained the power at 4th level in place of a hex. However, unlike nearly all other class features (including those of some witch archetypes), this one doesn't begin with the phrase, "At Nth level, ...". Is that meant to imply that the hedge witch actually gains this ability at 1st level, and he/she just won't gain a new hex at 4th level?

caelum |

a few archtypes are worded like that. Beast master ranger for example.
Which is an interesting example...the Animal Companion feature doesn't initially specify a level, but since the effective druid level is (ranger level - 3), it's effectively 4th level so they don't need to.
The next ability, "Improved Empathic Link" doesn't specify a level - and I'd assume that comes as soon as you get a companion, myself.
The last ability, "Strong Bond" clearly specifies a level.

caelum |

since improved empathic link says it replaces a feature, i assume you cant replace it til you would have gotten it
Right, that part is exactly the same question as the hedge witch - my point was that the other features in the Beast Master are phrased differently, so why the inconsistency? I read it the opposite way than you, and I don't know who is right.

Quatar |

Probably been written by two different people.
Well it replaces the hex at 4th (and the other at 8th) level, so I would say it means "you get this power instead of the hex at 4th level".
Yes, it should probably have said that, but I think its fairly obvious. I don't think the other archetypes give you abilities and then the cost for that new ability is only 3 or 7 levels later. It's usually always at that very level, or it explicitly calls out a different level.

redward |

I'd say it doesnt kick in til 4th
they dont tend to "front load" class features like that
By that logic, one would assume the Warrior of the Holy Light Archetype doesn't lose their spellcasting abilities until level 4:
At 4th level, a warrior of the holy light learns to use the power of her faith to bolster her defenses and aid her allies. This class feature replaces the paladin’s spells class feature. A warrior of the holy light does not gain any spells or spellcasting abilities, does not have a caster level, and cannot use spell trigger or spell completion magic items.

Jodokai |

IS there a way to get an "offical" ruling on this? If you look at the Pack Lord Archetype for Druid it's the same thing. You get your "pack" starting at first level and they've added this:
The pack lord gains an empathic link with all of her animal companions. This functions like an empathic link with a familiar. In addition, as a swift action the pack lord can shift her perception to one of her companions, allowing her to experience what it sees, hears, and so on. She can maintain this connection as long as she likes (as long as the companion is within 1 mile) and end it as a free action. The druid can only use this ability on one companion at a time, and cannot see, hear, or smell with her own body while maintaining this connection.
This ability replaces the 6th-level additional use of wild shape.
Seeing as how it's worded differently and doesn't specify a level, I take it to mean you get it at 1st level. Others disagree, so how do we find out who is right?

![]() |

IS there a way to get an "offical" ruling on this? If you look at the Pack Lord Archetype for Druid it's the same thing. You get your "pack" starting at first level and they've added this:
** spoiler omitted **
Seeing as how it's worded differently and doesn't specify a level, I take it to mean you get it at 1st level. Others disagree, so how do we find out who is right?
Also, based on the wording of the Hedge Witch's spontaneous casting ability, (though I'm sure it wasn't meant this as RAI), you could dip one level of this class as a wizard (or neutral cleric that channels negative energy, as I'm playing right now) to get spontaneous cures.