
![]() |

I find PF2E very confusing on some things and Dispel Magic is one of them. I find PF1E was so much easier.
So, here is the question. I have a 5th Level Sorcerous, she has Dispel Magic (Level 2 spell) But, it is a bloodline spell so it if I understand, can be heightened.
The other night, we encountered a Druid, who was basically Possessed by a Will-o-wisp. I wanted to try and force it from the druid and thought Dispel Magic (In PF1E that was totally legit) Looking at Dispel Magic is basically says use the Counter Spell rules. But this is where it got confusing.
Based on the chart, and all we read in the RB and on the internet, There was no way my Level 5 Sorcerous with an 18 CHR could even force it out of the Druid, and thus, the only way to defeat it was to, 1, Kill the Druid, or beat him to a pulp to unconsciousness and force him out.
This seems totally wrong. Because I said, in PF1E, and ever version of rules that PF was based on, you could defeat it with basically, Level+Ability Mod+Dice Roll vs the enemies DC+Modifier+Spell Level spell was cast at.
Help us figure this out as I know Dispel Magic will be coming up more.
This video explains it like I thought it worked, but I guess not?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U9sijYMB0Ws&t=401s
Help Dispel the Confusion as this is just way to confusing

NorrKnekten |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |
I presume you are refering to Counteracting Rules when you mentioned Counter Spell rules.
Lets begin with stating that Dispel Magic is a Sorcerous Gift for that bloodline and is only added to the repertoire at that rank, You would need to select it additional times at higher ranks in your repertoire or make it a signature spell to cast it at higher ranks.
But yes, it is a bit complicated but theres only really 3 moving parts you need to consider. In order of apperance.
A. Casters Spellcasting modifier
B. The DC of the Opposing effect
C. Ranks of both effects.
The steps are.
1. Perform a Check of the Sorcerers Spellcasting Modifier against the DC of the effect. (typically spellcasting DC or same DC as the save)
2. Compare the outcome (Success/Failure/Critical).
3. Compare the Rank of the two effects.
For each outcome a counteracting effect is successful against varying ranks of effets.
A dispel magic would be able to counteract effects up to;
critical success, 3 ranks above itself.
Success, 1 rank above itself.
failure, 1 rank below itself.
critical failure, It fails completely.
So if you want your Dispel Magic to actually be able to reliably counteract something, it needs to be at least one rank below the targeted effect. You can beat rank 5 effects with a rank 2 dispel magic, But only on a critical success.
There is also a difference between Level and Rank, If something only has a level and not a rank then its rank is half its level rounded down.

![]() |

So, if I understand this, the Will-o-wisp was level 7. As it had levels and not ranks, it would be a 3. In the attempts I made, I rolled an 18 the 1st time, and a a 16 the 2nd time.
Yeah, this chart and method is WAY more confusing that it really should be and it had everyone at the table confused, and I play with some very sharp minded people who are computer system admins, people with 4 degree's (Associates, 2 BA's and an MA) and another person who works in finance in a hospital.

NorrKnekten |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |
So it is a signature spell for my character.
You would have to select it as a Signature spell is what I am saying. Spells gained from your Bloodline do not become Signature spells per default. So you need to choose if you want to have Dispel Magic as one of your limited Signature Selections.
Or use the free gradually move another instance of Dispel magic up in rank within your repertoire as you can freely swap a single spell within your repertoire every level up.
So, if I understand this, the Will-o-wisp was level 7. As it had levels and not ranks, it would be a 3. In the attempts I made, I rolled an 18 the 1st time, and a a 16 the 2nd time.
Do you have the DC of the Wisp and the Spellcasting Modifier of the Sorcerer? Because it feels weird that an 18 on the roll fails so to me the math feels off.
Edit: Just a quick lookup but the worst case scenario with an 18Cha Sorc would be that you have a modifier of +11 trying to beat a dc that shouldnt go higher than of 29. Which should see success with 18 on the dice and a rank 2 Dispel Magic should work.

Finoan |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

I'm in agreement with NorrKnekten, so I am basically saying the same thing but with different wording and focusing on different aspects.
When deciding whether you can Counteract something, the most important stat is Rank. And yes, there is a difference between Rank and Level. Rank is half Level rounded up.
Spells always have a Rank listed. Nothing else does. Everything else lists Level instead and has to be converted.
In your specifics, you didn't list what Level the Will-o-wisp is. But if you are level 5 I'm going to assume for the sake of the example that the enemy is level 6.
So that would equate to Rank 3. The Will-o-wisp is using an effect of Rank 3 to possess the Druid.
A success on a Counteract check will let you remove an effect up to +1 Rank from the effect you use. So if you only have Dispel Magic at Rank 2 (because it isn't a signature spell) you could try it anyway. It may even be a better choice to do so since casting it at Rank 3 you would still need a success in order to end the possession effect.
Now, if you did have Dispel Magic as a signature spell and could cast Rank 4 spells, then you could cast Dispel Magic at Rank 4. At that point your effect outranks the effect you are trying to end - which means that you only need to roll a failure on the check in order to end the effect.
As a last example, if the Will-o-wisp was actually level 7 and was using a Rank 4 effect to possess the Druid, and you either had to, or decided to cast Dispel Magic at Rank 2, then you would need a critical success on the check in order to end the effect. Best of luck on that.

Finoan |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

So, if I understand this, the Will-o-wisp was level 7. As it had levels and not ranks, it would be a 3.
It would actually be Rank 4. Half of 7 rounded up.
In the attempts I made, I rolled an 18 the 1st time, and a a 16 the 2nd time.
I don't see a Will-o-wisp creature at level 7 and the ones that I do see don't have a possession ability. So I am expecting that this is a custom built enemy for the campaign. Which is fine.
For a level 7 creature, the standard high DC typical for a spellcasting enemy would be 25.
Level 5 Sorcerer with +4 CHA and Trained in spell attack would be a counteract bonus of +11. If I am mathing correctly. So you should need a 14 on the d20 roll in order to succeed at the 25 and counteract the Rank 4 possession effect with your Rank 3 Dispel Magic.
Now, if you are using your Rank 2 Dispel Magic instead, then you would need to crit the roll. Which would only happen on a nat-20.
Yeah, this chart and method is WAY more confusing that it really should be and it had everyone at the table confused, and I play with some very sharp minded people who are computer system admins, people with 4 degree's (Associates, 2 BA's and an MA) and another person who works in finance in a hospital.
Yeah, it gets a bit confusing. It is a bit better now that the scale of Rank is consistent.
If the Dispel Magic isn't working given the numbers you posted in the thread here, I have some thoughts about where it is going wrong.
* You don't have Dispel Magic as a signature spell (only as a Bloodline spell) and are only casting it at Rank 2 against a Rank 4 effect. So you would need a critical success on the check, which you haven't gotten yet.
* The GM is not aware of the need to convert the creature's Level to Rank in order to do the counteract. A Rank 3 Dispel Magic won't dispel a Rank 7 effect. Like, at all. But if something is throwing around a Rank 7 effect, then it should be a level 13 creature at least - which you shouldn't be encountering at level 5.
* The GM isn't going to let Dispel Magic work and instead will only allow Rank 4 Clear Mind to work and isn't telling you that but is instead letting you waste spell slots.

NorrKnekten |
Finoan worded it better than I did, and it sure is confusing, at first. And breaking it down is alot of text to make it make sense.
But it is just a regular check and from that you just look up if the target effect is within the range on the table for Counteracting Rules
(Lower rank/+1/+3) respective.

![]() |

Ok, so I am level 5, with an 18 Chr. Dispel is a signature spell
From what the DM said, the Will-o-Wisp is DC7. He is running a PF2e module (Not sure which one it is, and he said he pulled it from there).
Not sure how even if Dispel Magic was not a signature spell, how or why you would even take it again, that seems like a waste, and really Nerfs things IMHO.

DMurnett |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Not sure how even if Dispel Magic was not a signature spell, how or why you would even take it again, that seems like a waste, and really Nerfs things IMHO.
Okay so. This entire, let's be real here, mess of a system is admittedly complicated and hard to grasp at first, but it does exist for important balance reasons.
Prepared casters are very versatile since they can decide what spells to take every day, but open themselves up to a lot of risk by needing to call that shot at the start of the day. Spontaneous casters need to commit a lot harder to what they'll be doing in general since they learn a fixed spell repertoire, but have a lot more freedom within the day on which of their spells to use. If they were able to freely up/downcast (i.e. Heighten) their spells, they would be too adaptable compared to prepared casters, so they're restricted to using any spell they learn at the precise spell rank they learned it.
To somewhat circumvent how unfun that is, there's multiple ways to deal with it, most notable is Signature Spells. Per each spell rank of spells you have learned, you can designate any one as your signature, which lets you freely heighten that spell to any rank that you have spell slots (or cast at a lower rank if you initially learned it at a higher rank than its base). Alternatively, you can simply learn a spell again at a higher rank, which isn't the worst choice (since every level you also get to freely change out one of your existing spells, in this case the lower rank one), especially if the spell in question only changes at specific breakpoints.

Angwa |
Ok, so I am level 5, with an 18 Chr. Dispel is a signature spell
From what the DM said, the Will-o-Wisp is DC7. He is running a PF2e module (Not sure which one it is, and he said he pulled it from there).
Not sure how even if Dispel Magic was not a signature spell, how or why you would even take it again, that seems like a waste, and really Nerfs things IMHO.
I assume your GM meant that Wisp was level 7. And probably not a Wisp, or at least not one published by Paizo, since as far as I know there is no Wisp that can dominate or possess, but that's ok.
Was already explained, but lets summarize again:
For counteracting you need the effect's rank. If it's a spell that is simply the rank it is cast at, otherwise use level divided by 2 rounded up.
For dispel magic your counteract roll is your spellcasting modifier:
Critical Success Counteract the target if its counteract rank is no more than 3 higher than your effect's counteract rank.
Success Counteract the target if its counteract rank is no more than 1 higher than your effect's counteract rank.
Failure Counteract the target if its counteract rank is lower than your effect's counteract rank.
Critical Failure You fail to counteract the target.
Seeing as dispel magic's rank determines what you can actually get rid off you probably want to pick it as a signature spell for a spontaneous caster or not at all. Just having it at rank 2 quickly becomes useless after all.

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

The level-to-rank conversion is easier to understand if you compare it to the spell-ranks a full caster get:
At lvl 3, they get rank 2 spells
At lvl 5, they get rank 3 spells
At lvl 7, they get rank 4 spells
etc (lvl/2 rounded up)
Creatures with innate magic effects are treated as a spellcaster of that level (unless their stat block says something different)

Errenor |
* The GM isn't going to let Dispel Magic work and instead will only allow Rank 4 Clear Mind to work and isn't telling you that but is instead letting you waste spell slots.
I think I need to highlight this as almost nobody else mentioned it.
Dispel Magic is mostly guaranteed to work only on (non-curse!) spells and (non-artifact!) magic items. On any other magical effects it doesn't work by default. Effects which are vulnerable to it generally say this in their description.So, if this possession is not a Possession spell (which is uncommon and rank 7 btw, so generally only for creatures of 13th+ level; but the rules don't forbid giving this spell to some creature of lower level as an Innate Spell for example) Dispel Magic very well could be useless against it.

Castilliano |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Note that as awkward as Counteracting can be at first (for me too, and I'm a math/DnD nerd), it's somewhat of a universal mechanic in PF2 for one effect vs. another effect. So it's worth learning, and underneath all the charts it's kinda simple (and I wish Paizo had given a formula or flow chart rather than a messy table, so people could see what to plug in where).

thenobledrake |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |
...I wish Paizo had given a formula or flow chart rather than a messy table, so people could see what to plug in where).
I'm confused by people mentioning a whole separate presentation as if it would alleviate confusion when the core of the counteract system is the same resolution system the game uses across its breadth of rules; a check vs. a DC.
If anything, I think presenting it as a flow chart would make even more people think it is some hyper-complex situation that it isn't because the only thing making it more complicated than any other action option in the game is to take a concept that should be familiar (spell rank) and using it a new way (counteract rank, which is figured the exact same way but named differently because things that aren't spells have a spell rank would make people think maybe they actually do count as spells).
I suppose some of the confusion could be hold over from before the wording was changed to "rank" from "level" and it could be confusing because overuse of the same word in different contexts is an actual tripping hazard.

SuperParkourio |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Note that monsters printed before the remaster still refer to "counteract level", which has been renamed to "counteract rank", just as "spell level" was renamed to "spell rank". Some monsters list counteract ranks that are different from what their levels suggest, such as the infamous clay golem, which said "counteract level equal to its level". It's level is 10, so this mid-game monster's curse had the same counteract rank as a 10th rank spell slot. Arguments abound over whether this is an error or a holdover from when 1e casters could only remove it at 17th level.

Castilliano |

The flow chart would be very short, wouldn't it? Smaller than the chart, somewhat analogous to the Success/Failure list, and demonstrating what's getting compared to what (as w/ DCs/ACs) rather than skipping to the answers without sharing the underlying principles. Imagine Strikes using a chart like...Ugh.
I included flow chart as an alternative to a formula which I'd have preferred because those have baggage.
(Fun fact (so I've heard), Stephen Hawking was told he'd lose X% of readers for every formula he included in A Brief History of Time, which led him to only include E=MC(squared) as a must-have.)

Finoan |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

The table is safe to ignore.
What I look at is the degree of success results.
Critical Success Counteract the target if its counteract rank is no more than 3 higher than your effect's counteract rank.
Success Counteract the target if its counteract rank is no more than 1 higher than your effect's counteract rank.
Failure Counteract the target if its counteract rank is lower than your effect's counteract rank.
Critical Failure You fail to counteract the target.
Or as NorrKnekten summarized: (Lower rank/+1/+3)
Other than that it is just a matter of knowing to convert everything to Rank scale and making the check.

Finoan |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

the infamous clay golem, which said "counteract level equal to its level". It's level is 10, so this mid-game monster's curse had the same counteract rank as a 10th rank spell slot. Arguments abound over whether this is an error or a holdover from when 1e casters could only remove it at 17th level.
It was kinda soft-confirmed as intentional. James confirmed that Vargouille's similar counteract level override is intentional.

Errenor |
Yeah, I will be honest, A Computer System Admin, a PC Tech, a Former Collage Professor, and an Accountant, cannot figure out that table/chart
Then figure out the text which existed from the beginning, before the remaster. You repeat this but this doesn't become more believable. It's just one simple totally normal check with one additional comparison on top. It's not the simplest mechanics, but it shouldn't be a problem for such people at all.
(*remembering a game where each single check demands 3 D20 throws against 3 stats with 3 comparisons, 3 possible conditional deductions, then another comparison and the final one against a table*)
Castilliano |

I think the fact it is two simple steps presented as if complex enough to require a chart that's the problem. The chart interferes with rather than aids the comparison part because it's trying to include Levels too which makes a visual storm. Converting levels to Rank should be distinct step.
Roll this proficiency vs. X, PF2 standard mechanic CS/S/F/CF gives result.
Compare result + the number based on Rank (of the effect you're applying)
with the Rank of target effect to see if you Counteract or not.
Done.
Footnote: You may have to convert Level to Rank if no Rank is given, here's how...

thenobledrake |
The table is safe to ignore.
It's so safe to ignore that I didn't even realize that there was a table and when people said "table" I thought they were referring to the degree of success descriptions.
So I had to look it up again only to find that the table is a thing added in Player Core. Apparently Paizo saw enough people having confusion about how counteracting works that they felt a need to try to present the information in a different way to help, and managed the exact opposite - which isn't surprising since the confusion isn't coming from the way the information is presented, it's coming from a definitional place of not understanding what was a different "level" from the typical and is now a different "rank" from the typical.

SuperParkourio |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

The tricky thing with PF2e casters is that any spell slots below their highest rank are meant to be much less useful than those of the highest rank. So the onus is on casters to prepare/Learn spells in those lower slots that don't become much less effective for being in those slots.
For instance, an unheightened rank 2 spell that counteracts, incapacitates, or mostly just does damage will likely be useless by the time you have rank 5 slots. But a rank 1 spell that gives a bonus to your Speed, a penalty to the enemy's checks and DCs, or the ability to survive any fall could stay decent for the whole game.

Finoan |

The Will Wisp was a Creature 7 was a Shadow Fey creation by the author, The spell was a CH save based innate ability similar to Dominate Monster with a DC 24
In the attempts I made, I rolled an 18 the 1st time, and a a 16 the 2nd time.
Assuming that those are the d20 values, not your final roll result. Which is a bit of an assumption here - those are also valid final roll results for a level 5 character.
But if those are the dice rolls then I would expect the final roll results to be 25 for the first check and 23 for the second. You would have succeeded on the first check and failed on the second. So if casting Dispel Magic with a Rank 3 slot against the Rank 4 creature ability, that first attempt should have succeeded. The second one would have failed, but shouldn't have been needed.
Now, if my assumption is wrong and you got a d20 roll of 11 the first time and 9 the second for a final check result of 18 and 16, then you would have failed the check both times and the domination effect would continue.