Sqeezing and grapple


Rules Questions


When you grab a foe, can you put them in a restricted space if it's an adiacent space?

So that in this way the target will take the Squeezing condition


Squeezing doesn't prevent them from being there, but you could make the argument it would be a hazardous position since it makes their defenses weaker. In that case, if you were a generous GM, you would give the player the automatic grapple check to break out for when the grappled character is moved into a hazard (generally more relevant for like a fire monster trying to drag something into lava). Otherwise, it's totally legal to grapple something into a square where it's squeezing.


Meghen wrote:

When you grab a foe, can you put them in a restricted space if it's an adiacent space?

So that in this way the target will take the Squeezing condition

it sounds like you are attempting a 'Reposition' and need to follow those rules.


Azothath wrote:
Meghen wrote:

When you grab a foe, can you put them in a restricted space if it's an adiacent space?

So that in this way the target will take the Squeezing condition

it sounds like you are attempting a 'Reposition' and need to follow those rules.

Not necessarily, reposition is essentially pivoting a character around you. Meanwhile, grab/grapple does move a creature either by using the move option on a maintain or even just from having reach to force the creature adjacent to you after grappling from further away.

Reposition does have a clause you that can't reposition an enemy into hazardous terrain because technically you aren't forcibly moving the enemy but essentially fighting in a way that zones them into the square you want them in.


AwesomenessDog wrote:
Azothath wrote:
Meghen wrote:

When you grab a foe, can you put them in a restricted space if it's an adiacent space?

So that in this way the target will take the Squeezing condition

it sounds like you are attempting a 'Reposition' and need to follow those rules.

Not necessarily, reposition is essentially pivoting a character around you. Meanwhile, grab/grapple does move a creature either by using the move option on a maintain or even just from having reach to force the creature adjacent to you after grappling from further away.

Reposition does have a clause you that can't reposition an enemy into hazardous terrain because technically you aren't forcibly moving the enemy but essentially fighting in a way that zones them into the square you want them in.

"intrinsically dangerous" which is easily interpreted to mean a penalty or (impending) damage of some sort. Likely difficult terrain also. It is up to the GM but if you applied penalties to players they'd complain so turn about is fair play. I believe GMs strive for a sense of fair play and balance.

Both have highly similar restrictions to allow the target a roll if placed in hazardous condition.
> Grapple, "If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)." & Move after up to Spd/2 "At the end of your movement, you can place your target in any square adjacent to you. If you attempt to place your foe in a hazardous location, such as in a wall of fire or over a pit, the target receives a free attempt to break your grapple with a +4 bonus." so not a hard forbidden.
> Reposition, tgt sz up to +1 sz cat, 1+move success*[1+success/5] with last option to push target past last reach increment, "You cannot use this maneuver to move a foe into a space that is intrinsically dangerous, such as a pit or wall of fire." & "You cannot move a creature into a square that is occupied by a solid object or obstacle."
In the text there is an assumption that the squares are "open" which would mean 5*5ft for medium creatures with no penalties.


Azothath wrote:
AwesomenessDog wrote:
Azothath wrote:
Meghen wrote:

When you grab a foe, can you put them in a restricted space if it's an adiacent space?

So that in this way the target will take the Squeezing condition

it sounds like you are attempting a 'Reposition' and need to follow those rules.

Not necessarily, reposition is essentially pivoting a character around you. Meanwhile, grab/grapple does move a creature either by using the move option on a maintain or even just from having reach to force the creature adjacent to you after grappling from further away.

Reposition does have a clause you that can't reposition an enemy into hazardous terrain because technically you aren't forcibly moving the enemy but essentially fighting in a way that zones them into the square you want them in.

"intrinsically dangerous" which is easily interpreted to mean a penalty or (impending) damage of some sort. Likely difficult terrain also. It is up to the GM but if you applied penalties to players they'd complain so turn about is fair play. I believe GMs strive for a sense of fair play and balance.

My point wasn't on the "intrinsically dangerous" part, as I addressed that with my post about treating it as a grapple, my point was more this seems to be clearly not a reposition but a grapple as the OP said. Obviously, the GM interpretation of if the movement constitutes "movement into intrinsically dangerous terrain" is the same, it's what you do after that that is important.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Sqeezing and grapple All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.