Cleric & Occultist (Reliquarian)


Rules Questions


I'm roughly new to pathfinder, but I really enjoy character creation and I'm trying to figure how the Occultist (Reliquarian) works with cleric levels and it's domain you choose.

Example: If I have a level 19 cleric (Theologian) with void domain and a level 1 Occultist (Reliquarian) with the liberation domain, she treats her occultist level as her cleric level for the purposes of access to domain powers and their strength. Does that also mean I get to use all of the liberation domains spells or do I only still get to use the 1st one.

Also does Occultist (Reliquarian) get domain spell slots? Sorry if it feels like I'm rambling, just thinking about different things to play.


If you have levels in both cleric and occultist (reliquarian) then you must have the same domain in both in order for your levels to stack for the domain.
Your spellcasting ability for both classes is tracked separately and never stacks, so in your example you would only have 1st level spells as an occultist.
As for bonus spells, you get the ones associated to the domain you chose for that class, and only the ones you qualify to be able to cast via that classes levels. In your example, the cleric side would get access to all void domain spells, and the occultist would have access to 1st level liberation domain spells.
Lastly, no, the reliquarian does not get domain spell slots.

Liberty's Edge

Quote:
Domain: A reliquarian gains access to one of her deity’s domains. She treats her occultist level as her cleric level for the purposes of access to domain powers and their strength. Additionally, the reliquarian adds the domain’s spells to her occultist spell list and her spells known.

The Occultist (Reliquarian) Domain is a class power, so it is separated from the Cleric class Domain power. You get the first level domain power and add the first level spell of the domain to your occultist spell list and spell known. The Occultist doesn't get domain spell slots as the ability says you get the powers, not the slots.

Liberty's Edge

Chell Raighn wrote:
If you have levels in both cleric and occultist (reliquarian) then you must have the same domain in both in order for your levels to stack for the domain.

I don't see anything in the ability that allows the stacking of the different class levels.


Thanks for the replies, I appreciate it.


FuZionForm wrote:
Does that also mean I get to use all of the liberation domains spells or do I only still get to use the 1st one.

Here it's important to pay attention to the wording. "She treats her occultist level as her cleric level for the purposes of access to domain powers and their strength." is what it says. First, as Diego Rossi, it's "domain powers", not everything a domain grants, and second, "treats her occultist level as her cleric level" is not "treats her occultist levels as levels in cleric". The Occultist level is used as the Cleric level, singular - so if your occultist levle is 1, your effective Cleric level for the domain granted by the archetype is also 1, no matter whether you have actual Cleric levels or whatnot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric & Occultist (Reliquarian) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions