| Plane |
There's currently no errata.
Targets 1 lock, or a door or container with a latch
Assuming the target is not barred or locked in some additional way, you can unlock and open it with an Interact action during which you touch the target.
You can cast it on a locked door and automatically open it with a touch. Merry Xmas!
| Plane |
The context of that is explaining how it interacts with multiple locks. On a door with a single lock, you cast it on the lock. You interact with that lock and open the door, "Assuming the target is not barred or locked in some additional way." For example, a door with two locks. Or a door with a lock that is also barred from the other side.
| Plane |
You can simplify the scenario. Instead of a door + a lock, you can have a padlock on something. Let's say there's a padlock on a chest with no closing mechanism like a latch. It just has hinges and a ring on the lid and base through which your padlock fits.
The spell targets locks regardless of lock status. It could have been easily written with "unlocked" as a prerequisite. Or they could have added that your ability to unlock the lock is dependent on your prior ability to do so, but they left that option open.
Is it silly? Maybe. It's written explicitly though.
Jared Walter 356
|
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
This interpretation would trigger page CR443 for me:
If a rule seems to have wording with problematic repercussions or doesn’t work as intended, work with your group to find a good solution, rather than just playing with the rule as printed.
a first level lock being better than a second level knock, won't fly at my table.
| Plane |
This interpretation would trigger page CR443 for me:
If a rule seems to have wording with problematic repercussions or doesn’t work as intended, work with your group to find a good solution, rather than just playing with the rule as printed.
a first level lock being better than a second level knock, won't fly at my table.
Mine either. I was just surprised when I read the spell closely today.
| Squiggit |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The context of that is explaining how it interacts with multiple locks.
The context is that this is a spell that magically locks something, and then allows you to unlock it with an action.
Unless the target is locked in some additional way.
A lock that is mundanely activated and then sealed by the Lock spell is locked in two ways, and therefore not an eligible target for the free unlock.
| breithauptclan |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
You could automatically unlock your own lock that your lock spell placed on the object.
It won't unlock a lock that already existed on the object. Casting Lock on an object that already has a lock will add a second one. You could automatically open your second lock, but not the one that was already there.
You can instead target the lock itself and increase its DC by 4. But ending your spell won't unlock the lock. It would only put the lock DC back to where it was.
Having a 1st level spell be more powerful (since it doesn't require a skill check) than a 2nd level spell isn't reasonable.
| Sibelius Eos Owm |
I think the most obvious intended reading is that assuming the target is not locked in some additional way besides the effect of the Lock spell. Not exactly what is written but given the flavor text of the spell includes the spell causing the latch to close, it seems the target should be an unlocked specimen.