Shadow Collector

Rules Questions

So expecting to have my Dhampir go up against a Shadow Collector relatively soon (I made the check to identify them at the end of the session, ended as a cliff hanger before we fight/talk to them) and wondering how people will rule these abilities will interact:

Dhampir wrote:
Resist Level Drain (Ex): A dhampir takes no penalties from energy drain effects, though he can still be killed if he accrues more negative levels then he has Hit Dice. After 24 hours, any negative levels a dhampir takes are removed without the need for an additional saving throw.
Shadow Collector wrote:
Steal Shadow (Su) A shadow collector automatically steals the shadow of any incorporeal or living creature destroyed, incapacitated, or killed by its claw attack. A shadow collector can also steal a living corporeal creature’s shadow with the steal combat maneuver; the shadow doesn’t count as fastened to its owner. Until the shadow is returned, the victim has no shadow or reflection and gains 2 permanent negative levels. These negative levels can’t be removed otherwise, even with magic that usually removes negative levels. When a shadow collector steals a shadow, it gains 2 shadow points. A shadow collector must expend 1 shadow point to use any of its spell-like abilities. A shadow collector generally begins an encounter with 1d3+1 shadow points. A shadow collector can release a stolen shadow as a standard action. A creature can touch the shadow collector to regain its stolen shadow, as long as the shadow collector is helpless or dead. A successful break enchantment (DC 23) can also restore a target’s shadow.

I am assuming that I'll be able to ignore the penalties from the negative levels indefinitely (That seems like a given), but I'm doubting they'll go away due to the fact negative levels can't be removed clause on the Collector's ability. However the fact that the Resist Level Drain ability isn't a magical effect(it's an EX) gives me pause since it explicitly mentions magical effects. What do people think?

You would not suffer the penalties, like you said. They would not go away after 24 hours.

The fact that your ability is Ex is not an issue, because Steal Shadow says they can't be removed even with magic, not that they resist magical removal only. It pretty much says they can't be removed any other way. When it says 'even with magic' that's meant to show an even more definitive explanation of how resistant they are, not to narrow it down or make it easier. That addition doesn't mitigate or weaken the 'can't be removed otherwise' part of the statement.

Okay, that's what I thought. Thanks for confirming!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shadow Collector All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.