
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I need help. my memory is not like it used to be and searching isnt helping.
party got hit by confusion and 2 people were effected. another cast dispel magic on one of them and thought it should have gotten rid of it from both. I have always ruled one target one person but am not as sure anymore. opinions please

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.
It's only one object, creature, or spell.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Dispel Magic in CRB wrote:Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.It's only one object, creature, or spell.
spell cast on 2 targets next to each other?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

roll4initiative wrote:spell cast on 2 targets next to each other?Dispel Magic in CRB wrote:Targeted Dispel: One object, creature, or spell is the target of the dispel magic spell. You make one dispel check (1d20 + your caster level) and compare that to the spell with highest caster level (DC = 11 + the spell's caster level). If successful, that spell ends. If not, compare the same result to the spell with the next highest caster level. Repeat this process until you have dispelled one spell affecting the target, or you have failed to dispel every spell.It's only one object, creature, or spell.
Why wouldn't the caster of dispel magic target the spell and end the spell rather than the one creature?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I assumed this was a 1e question, btw.
Anyway, it says:
"Target or Area: one spellcaster, creature, or object..."
"You can use dispel magic to end one ongoing spell that has been cast on a creature or object."
(It doesn't say "a spell on one or more creatures or objects.")
The target is only one entity.
Confusion would end on one target (person), not both. You would need to cast dispel on the second target to end their effect.
They would need Greater Dispel Magic to get an area effect to remove the confusion from more than one person.
"Area Dispel: When greater dispel magic is used in this way, the spell affects everything within a 20-foot-radius burst. Roll one dispel check and apply that check to each creature in the area, as if targeted by dispel magic. For each object within the area that is the target of one or more spells, apply the dispel check as with creatures. Magic items are not affected by an area dispel."