Failing saves against posession


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

This one is a two parter:

1) can you choose to fail saves?

2) can you extend or reset spells with multiple castings?

If I posess a creature, per the spell, and they critically fail the save, can I extend or reset the duration by casting the spell again, targeting the host, and then choosing to critically fail the save in order to extend or reset the duration?

There's a character in our campaign that needs to be drowned, and I want to dismiss the spell in the last possible round from too deep a position for them to be able to save themselves.


1. AFAIK there are no rules that allow you to willingly fail a saving throw, there are also spells such as Eject Soul that explicitly say you can choose the degree of success instead of rolling, this implies that by default this is not the case.

2. I'm not sure what you mean by extend but under General Rules -> Duplicate Effects it says:

Duplicate Effects wrote:
When you’re affected by the same thing multiple times, only one instance applies, using the higher level of the effects, or the newer effect if the two are the same level. For example, if you were using mage armor and then cast it again, you’d still benefit from only one casting of that spell. Casting a spell again on the same target might get you a better duration or effect if it were cast at a higher level the second time, but otherwise doing so gives you no advantage.

If you would recast a spell the newer one would apply, which would reset the duration effectivelly.

Horizon Hunters

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can not willingly fail a save, and just because you are Controlling an enemy doesn't mean you roll their saves for them. All Controlled does is allow the controller to decide which actions the affected character uses. They still are rolling everything.

And yes, if you re-cast the spell targeting the same creature and they continue to crit-fail it would reset the duration to the new casting's duration.


GmG 120 wrote:
A character can voluntarily fail their initial save against a drug, but for each dose they consume, they must attempt a saving throw against addiction, a disease that represents cravings and withdrawal.

This and a few spells are the only specific rules I'm aware of that allow you to voluntarily fail your save.

This leaves me wondering: Would it be possible to 'drink your enemy to death' by continuously drinking alcohol and voluntarily failing 7 saves?


Cordell Kintner wrote:

You can not willingly fail a save, and just because you are Controlling an enemy doesn't mean you roll their saves for them. All Controlled does is allow the controller to decide which actions the affected character uses. They still are rolling everything.

And yes, if you re-cast the spell targeting the same creature and they continue to crit-fail it would reset the duration to the new casting's duration.

Thats correct for controlled. But possessed is far more than just deciding what actions the character uses. In particular:

CoreRuleBook 635 wrote:
A possessor uses the target's attack modifier, AC, Fortitude save, Reflex save, Perception, and physical skills, and its own Will save, mental skills, spell attack roll, and spell DC;

I think this should mean that you(the possessor) roll the save against Fortitude and Reflex.

As for Will I don't think you would roll it since you would use your own will save which would be a bit strange. Also Will generally targets the mind not the body.
I have no idea what happens if you possess someone and than another creature casts possess at you and you also crit fail ;D


_benno wrote:


This leaves me wondering: Would it be possible to 'drink your enemy to death' by continuously drinking alcohol and voluntarily failing 7 saves?

It says their initial save, so you can only force them to be slightly buzzed.

Horizon Hunters

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I didn't realize possession had their own rules.

The rules say you use the target's Fort and Reflex saves, but keep your Will. This means if you possessed someone, and then were in the area of a Fireball, you would use the target's Reflex rather than your own, since your body is unconscious and likely elsewhere. If you got hit with a Confusion spell on the other hand, that uses your own will save since it would target YOUR mind, not the mind of the creature, since you are currently suppressing their mind.

However, if your victim were the target of another Possession spell that you are casting, you would not be trying to overtake your own mind, but rather continue overpowering the target's mind. This means the target makes a will save, the same way it did the first time.

You need to think of it like this:
You are a creature with a mind and body, your victim is a creature with a mind and body. You are your mind, and your body is the vehicle with witch you interact with the world.
When you possess the victim, your mind is occupying their body, your body is left behind, and their mind is suppressed. Anything targeting the body targets YOU, not the victim, since you just jumped to a new vehicle.
If you want to continue the possession, you need to continue to target the original victim's mind, meaning they get to use their own will save, and make their own rolls.


Onkonk wrote:
_benno wrote:


This leaves me wondering: Would it be possible to 'drink your enemy to death' by continuously drinking alcohol and voluntarily failing 7 saves?
It says their initial save, so you can only force them to be slightly buzzed.

Each time you drink more you get another initial save. Otherwise it would be impossible to get drunk at all.

GmG 120 wrote:


If you fail a saving throw against alcohol other than initial saves, the affliction’s stage doesn’t increase; the only way to increase the stage of alcohol’s affliction is to consume more alcohol.

Horizon Hunters

Even if that were true (which it isn't), as soon as you become sickened you wouldn't be able to consume more alcohol. Even if you find a way to bypass that, you then have to deal with being unconscious for 8 hours before even having the chance to drink once more to get to Stage 7. It's mechanically impossible to die from alcohol poisoning in this game.


Cordell Kintner wrote:
Even if that were true (which it isn't), as soon as you become sickened you wouldn't be able to consume more alcohol. Even if you find a way to bypass that, you then have to deal with being unconscious for 8 hours before even having the chance to drink once more to get to Stage 7. It's mechanically impossible to die from alcohol poisoning in this game.

You are correct sickend is a problem. So it's not possible to willingly drink yourself to death in 2e. Hell it's not even possible to pass out from alcohol if you are not forced to drink xD


Cordell Kintner wrote:
Even if that were true (which it isn't), as soon as you become sickened you wouldn't be able to consume more alcohol. Even if you find a way to bypass that, you then have to deal with being unconscious for 8 hours before even having the chance to drink once more to get to Stage 7. It's mechanically impossible to die from alcohol poisoning in this game.

If what were true. The thing about the initial saves? Thats true:

CoreRuleBook 120 wrote:
Multiple exposures to the same curse or disease currently affecting you have no effect. For a poison, however, failing the initial saving throw against a new exposure increases the stage by 1 (or by 2 if you critically fail) without affecting the maximum duration. This is true even if you’re within the poison’s onset period, though it doesn’t change the onset length.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The problem of failing saves comes up again and again - every other months at least.

The issue with 2e is not can you opt to fail - the question would be - can you opt to fail and avoid crit fail or if you opt to fail - what fail condition would apply.

Somewhere else I did the Maths for damage spells. It showed there are circumstances where failing is superior to rolling a dice as it avoids crit failure.

This makes voluntary fail messy in 2e and that is the main reason in my opinion why you don't find it allowed unless it is specifically mentioned in the spell description (yes - some do allow failure).


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Thod wrote:
This makes voluntary fail messy in 2e and that is the main reason in my opinion why you don't find it allowed unless it is specifically mentioned in the spell description (yes - some do allow failure).

Ooh. Which ones?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Cordell Kintner wrote:
Even if that were true (which it isn't), as soon as you become sickened you wouldn't be able to consume more alcohol. Even if you find a way to bypass that, you then have to deal with being unconscious for 8 hours before even having the chance to drink once more to get to Stage 7. It's mechanically impossible to die from alcohol poisoning in this game.

Alcohol has an onset of 10 minutes so if drink 7 bottles and fail them all before the onset time is done you should be able to get past those stages.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Outside of cases that specifically allow for voluntary failure, the best practice is probably to follow the precedent that the sidebar on the Gliminal creature entry set and allow you to voluntarily worsen your result by one step instead of allowing you to select a degree of failure.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
HammerJack wrote:
Outside of cases that specifically allow for voluntary failure, the best practice is probably to follow the precedent that the sidebar on the Gliminal creature entry set and allow you to voluntarily worsen your result by one step instead of allowing you to select a degree of failure.

Ooh. Nice find! Thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

In general, allowing characters to voluntarily decide to fail a save can cause problems. I wouldn't allow it as a general rule.

There are some circumstances where it makes sense and can be adjudicated to work. In addition to the spells or effects that explicitly list that you can voluntarily fail (meaning that the game dev already adjudicated that it should work in this case).

Things like putting yourself into an Aqueous Orb that you cast.

I wouldn't have possession qualify for an exception to having to roll the save.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Failing saves against posession All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.