|2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.|
For the purposes of Pathfinder Society play, modify the Divine or Primal Spellcasting entries of these classes (or the Spellbook entry, for the Wizard) to remove the phrase “in this book” or "from this book." These characters have access to all common spells on their respective spell lists as outlined on the Character Options page. The Resource Ownership rules still apply for these characters as normal.
Characters who previously spent gold to Learn a Spell that they now have access to natively are refunded the gold spent.
Spells from outside the Core Rulebook must be learned using the learn a spell activity before they can be used by prepared casters, even by clerics and druids.
Currently, if we accept the FAQ entry as overriding the written rules, we still have the Witch and Magus being left with the guide restriction on prepared casters.
Is the FAQ entry intended to lift the Guide restriction on prepared casters entirely?
|Cordell Kintner Venture-Agent, California—Silicon Valley|
Take a look at the wording of the three prepared Core classes:
This change removes the requirement "In this book" from the Core classes. The other two prepared casters have no such limitation:
Outside leveling up, a Magus Witch or Wizard still needs to use the Learn a Spell activity to add spells to their book/familiar, as normal. The difference is that Druids and Clerics no longer need to use Learn a Spell to keep track of additional spells outside the CRB they want to prepare as if they were Wizards, which is what the initial blog post imposed on them. They now only need to Learn a Spell for uncommon spells that aren't granted by their Deity/Order.
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
or from other (arcane/divine/primal) spells you gain access to.
In Society play you have access to all non-Limited/Restricted Common spells... so there was no issue, unless you ignore the second half of the oft quoted 'problems sentence...
The 'fix' created a restriction on ALL prepared casters.
The 'fix(2.0)' for the 'fix' only lifts the restriction for 3 of the 5 impacted classes...
And that is before we get into a discussion about the validity of 'clarification' changing the rules...