
![]() |
I was under the understanding that if you don't have the Improved Grapple feat, you only provoke when you first initiate the grapple, not every subsequent round you maintain it.
GM believes that you provoke every round you make your combat maneuver check to maintain, in addition to the initial grapple maneuver. I found several flow charts that agree with my side of the discussion, but he says the flowcharts are "fan-made rules," and not official.
Can someone point me to some clarification on this?
Thanks,
-Rob

Scavion |

Grapple wrote:
As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe, hindering his combat options. If you do not have Improved Grapple, grab, or a similar ability, attempting to grapple a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll. If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition. If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails). Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target. If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold. If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds. Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).
It...doesn't say it provokes to maintain the grapple. "Attempting to Grapple" provokes. Maintaining does not. But yeah, under the "Grappled" condition it says that Grappled targets cannot make Attacks of Opportunity.