
YourBestFriendJ0 |
A Bloodrager with the Shapechanger bloodline gets a power at level 4 which reads:
"Spontaneous Change (Sp) At 4th level, when entering a bloodrage, you can cast a transmutation spell that affects only you as a swift action, provided that the spell’s normal casting time is 1 round or shorter. The spell lasts for as long as you continue bloodraging, regardless of the spell’s normal duration. You can use this ability only to cast bloodrager spells you know."
One transmutation spell on the Bloodrager spell list is Windy Escape:
" You respond to an attack by briefly becoming vaporous and insubstantial, allowing the attack to pass harmlessly through you.
You gain DR 10/magic against this attack and are immune to any poison, sneak attacks, or critical hit effect from that attack.
You cannot use windy escape against an attack of opportunity you provoked by casting a spell, using a spell-like ability, or using any other magical ability that provokes an attack of opportunity when used."
So my question is, does the interaction fail because of the wording of Windy Escape, or do you get the benefits of Windy Escape for the duration of your Bloodrage?
In arguments against it would clearly trivialize a lot of on level encounters as well as the wording of Windy Escape being quite restrictive in that you trigger it for an attack and it applies to that attack.
In arguments for it, the response to windy escape's wording is that if it were not worded to end then it would last forever like Masterwork Transformation since it is an instantaneous spell. The power itself does express that the original duration is unimportant which includes instantaneous duration spells, so it would devalue the class feature if that extra stipulation were added on.
The question then becomes, does the spell description alter to fit the class feature modifying the spell? Or is the class feature simply incompatible with the Spell because of the way the spell is worded?
I would appreciate any and all responses.

![]() |

As it is far too common, a spell whose description doesn't consider a late addition to the game.
1) Windy escape says "(sylph)" and "Source Advanced Race Guide pg. 160".
And Advance Race Guide says:
Spells: The spells in this section are common to spellcasting members of the race. Sometimes they only target members of the race, but often they are just the race’s well guarded secrets; members of other races can learn to cast them with GM permission.
So, Windy escape is part of the Bloodrager spell list if you are a sylph or your GM gives permission. It is not available to all bloodrager as a default. It is in the bloodrager spell lists because they can get it if the other conditions are meet.
2) Windy escape says "You respond to an attack by briefly becoming vaporous and insubstantial, allowing the attack to pass harmlessly through you."
If you are vaporous and insubstantial from the star you don't respond to an attack, and the spell needs to define what are the effects of being "vaporous and insubstantial". Something that Windy escape doesn't do.
By similitude, you can say that it works like Gaseous form, but that would remove your ability to attack.
Seeing the above, as a GM I wouldn't allow the use of Windy escape (or any other transmutation spell with an instantaneous duration) with Spontaneous Change.

YourBestFriendJ0 |
Another spell option of questionable duration might be Miror Strike:
"You briefly alter the flow of time to split a melee attack into two attacks. Before the end of your next turn, when you make your next melee attack roll, compare the result to the AC of two opponents within your reach. If the selected opponents are flanking you, you gain a +2 bonus on your attack roll (and confirmation attack roll, see below). If you hit both enemies, you can deal half damage to each. Hitting only one opponent allows you to deal that opponent normal damage for your attack. On a critical threat, you can make only one attack roll to confirm the critical hit against both opponents. If you confirm against both, you deal half your critical hit damage to each. Your hit is a normal hit rather than a critical if you confirm against only one opponent. If you fail to use the effect before the end of your next turn, the spell ends."
While not instantaneous, the description does not lend itself to extending the effect except perhaps the time limit with which the attack can arrive?
I know that the Greater Bloodrage ability does not allow spells with less than a round of duration, would it be most likely then that Spontaneous Change should also have that limitation?
Also apologies for not being able to nicely format my messages or quote text for replies, I'm on mobile and not used to this.

![]() |

I know that the Greater Bloodrage ability does not allow spells with less than a round of duration, would it be most likely then that Spontaneous Change should also have that limitation?
It see a reasonable house rule. Probably the person who wrote Spontaneous Change thought there wasn't any transmutation with a duration of instantaneous, so he felt it wasn't necessary to repeat it.