Calikang self healing


Rules Discussion


If you encounter multiple Calikang, can they heal each other with his chain lighting spell... In the description it says that they cannot heal with his own spells, but it's OK to heal from other Calikang casting it and healing the other?

And can they then, recharge his Breath weapon each time... Seems a bit strange and overpowered

First round, all 4 uses breath weapon, second round, one cast chain lighting to his colleagues and if they pass their saving throw, they heal 24 hit points and gain another use of the breath weapon, so they use it in this round, rinse and repeat for
4 more rounds for 13d8x4 hit points in the first round (basic reflex save) and 13d8x3 and 8d12 in rounds 2-5


For a party of adventurers to be facing off against four Calikang they'd have to be level 13 or 14; this leaves the monsters vulnerable to Incapacitation effects, and Calikang notably have a bad will save so the chances that they'd actually get to pull off this routine uninterrupted are pretty low.


It's reasonable to read it either way, though I think it leans towards that being possible. Regardless, it's certainly possible for another enemy to have chain lightning and help his Calikang buddies out. This is simply synergy, through and through, and a pretty strong one at that. So yeah, as a GM, if you plan on using this ability heavily in an encounter, then you may want to adjust the difficulty and experience of the fight a little (not even a lot, I don't think, but I'm not sure).

IMO OP doesn't really exist when it comes to monsters / the GM, since they have the ultimate authority to adjust things that swing too far one way or the other anyway.


Thanks Arachnofiend and Aw3som3, I was not the GM, but a player and theses 4 plus a leader are in an adventure path and it was a tough encounter

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Calikang self healing All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.