
ElvenMercenary |

So, unless I've missed something:
Minions can't use reactions.
Feast on the Fallen is a reaction.
RaW I guess you can't use it?
Honestly if this comes up I'd probably just let it have the reaction, at least until I find an official ruling on it. It might come up in organized play if people have Age of Ashes credit.

Aw3som3-117 |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

I would argue that the following from Animal Companions:
"The Advanced Maneuver entry indicates a powerful new action your companion learns how to use if it becomes a nimble or savage animal companion."
Overrides the lack of a reaction from the minion trait for the vulture specifically, since in order to learn how to use something I feel like you kind of have to be able to, well, use it XD.
Even then, though, the reaction could only be used on that one ability.
It's not an official ruling or anything, but I mean... the odds of actually getting one of those on a random forum post aren't great right now.
Anyway, it's basically an issue of specific beats general. That being said, one could argue that "learns how to use" isn't enough to override the minion not getting a reaction, which is certainly reasonable, but I would be surprised if they intended the advanced maneuver of the Vulture to not be usable.

Gortle |

I aways allow these sorts of things on the basis that specifc overrides general and this is actually clearly supposed to work.
RAW by the way is that you are supposed to fix things so they work for your group. So please don't let people use the RAW argument to prevent common sense.
There are a number of these and the GM should just let them work. Other examples I use:
The Snake animal companion has abilities that require it to have grabbed something. It has no way to grab, because it does not have a “free hand” it can’t technically grapple.
The Avatar battle form. The form of Alseta allows the cleric to cast Dimension Door while in battle form. But you can’t speak or cast spells while in battle form.