Bespell Weapon & Handwraps


Rules Discussion


Can I use bespell weapon for unarmed attacks with handwraps of mighty blows?

Probably pretty straightforward, but my search hasn't turned up anything conclusive.

I'm also asking based on the assumption that handwraps would increase the number of d4 used in the sorcerer's dragon claw attack.

TIA

Horizon Hunters

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Unfortunately Handwraps and Natural attacks explicitly do not count as weapons.

Shadow Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yep, Bespell Weapon specifies 'one weapon you're wielding' and unarmed attacks do not count as actual weapons:

Chapter 6: Equipment / Weapons / Unarmed Attacks wrote:

Source Core Rulebook pg. 278 2.0

Almost all characters start out trained in unarmed attacks. You can Strike with your fist or another body part, calculating your attack and damage rolls in the same way you would with a weapon. Unarmed attacks can belong to a weapon group (page 280), and they might have weapon traits (page 282). However, unarmed attacks aren’t weapons, and effects and abilities that work with weapons never work with unarmed attacks unless they specifically say so.

Table 6–6: Unarmed Attacks lists the statistics for an unarmed attack with a fist, though you’ll usually use the same statistics for attacks made with any other parts of your body. Certain ancestry feats, class features, and spells give access to special, more powerful unarmed attacks. Details for those unarmed attacks are provided in the abilities that grant them.

Sczarni

2 people marked this as a favorite.

It is pretty limited what you can add to Handwraps:

You can upgrade, add, and transfer runes to and from the handwraps just as you would for a weapon, and you can attach talismans to the handwraps. Treat the handwraps as melee weapons of the brawling group with light Bulk for these purposes.

Anytime you see "for these purposes", that's generally all you get.


That's too bad, but as expected then. Thanks everyone for the clarifications!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Playtest Magus has a special exception for it to work on an unarmed attack with its version of the feat, so I think that is pretty clear cut that Bespell Weapon does not work. That being said, I hope it is something that is addressed in a CRB/APG errata.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It's also something Mark Seifter has said would be a perfectly reasonable house rule. I don't think they intentionally excluded them.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Bespell Weapon & Handwraps All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.