Alchemist Underwater


Rules Discussion


Hello,
I have a few questions about aquatic combat for the alchemist:

1) Can bomb (other than fire) work underwater ?
The rules is:
You’re flat-footed unless you have a swim Speed.
You gain resistance 5 to acid and fire.
You take a –2 circumstance penalty to melee slashing or bludgeoning attacks that pass through water.
Ranged attacks that deal bludgeoning or slashing damage automatically miss if the attacker or target is underwater, and piercing ranged attacks made by an underwater creature or against an underwater target have their range increments halved.
You can’t cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater.
At the GM’s discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating.
(478 Core Rulebook)

So, since bombs do not deal bludgeonin or slashing damage, it should work, right ? But bombs explode on contact with something, so it's sort of bludgeoning no ?
I don't know if their is rules about that already

2) Do poisons stay on blades / arrows underwater ?
In PF1, i think there was a feat for oily poisons so stay on weapons underwater. But this not exist in PF2 and there is no precision about poisons underwater no ?

3) Alchemical crossbow underwater:
In case of bombs don't work underwater, can alchemical crossbow work and apply some bonus damage (except fire obviously)

Thanks for your time and sorry if i made some lingual mistakes, i'm French ;)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Given the bomb trait

Quote:
An alchemical bomb combines volatile alchemical components that explode when the bomb hits a creature or object. Most alchemical bombs deal damage, though some produce other effects.

I think it will be treated like a ranged bludgeoning attack ( and because so, it would automatically miss ). After all, throwing a bomb would be like throwing a rock or a ball underwater.

About point 2, I think you are correct ( about contact / injury poisons already applied on an item or a weapon ), since there's nothing written about them.

Alchemical crossbow would deal piercing damage, and because so it will be subject to the "range increments halved".

Aquatic combat also says

Quote:
You can’t cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater.

but since no extra trait is mentioned in the alchemical crossbow ( depends the vial you decide to use ), seems that even shooting a fire charged bold would work. Not sure if this is an oversight or not.

Horizon Hunters

2 people marked this as a favorite.

There used to be a rule stating that when an attack dealt a specific damage type it gained that trait, but it was quietly removed in the second printing. It's unknown if it was intentional or not since it was never mentioned anywhere as being removed. So that rule (which would affect alchemical crossbows) is currently in limbo until they clarify if it was intentional.

Liberty's Edge

An alchemist bomb does not have the bludgeoning trait so it can be used underwater. I know that is not logical, but much in the rules is not logical.

You can throw an alchemist fire underwater, it would just not deal any damage.

The range for the bomb is not halved because the rules don't say they are. Again, not logical.

The underwater rules for alchemists was recently highlighted in a PFS adventure.


Gary Bush wrote:
You can throw an alchemist fire underwater, it would just not deal any damage.

Wouldn't it deal normal damage, subject to the target gaining resist fire 5?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
You can’t cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater.

Alchemist's Fire has the Fire trait, so it can be argued that it simply doesn't work underwater.

Liberty's Edge

Watery Soup wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:
You can throw an alchemist fire underwater, it would just not deal any damage.
Wouldn't it deal normal damage, subject to the target gaining resist fire 5?

Good Question. I was going to say No but your comment about fire resistence made me pause.

I think that an alchemist's fire would no damage but could be thrown is because of the description for alchemist's fire.

CRB page 545 wrote:
Alchemist’s fire is a combination of volatile liquids that ignite when exposed to air.

When underwater, there is no air for the volatile liquids to interact with.

Liberty's Edge

ottdmk wrote:
Quote:
You can’t cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater.
Alchemist's Fire has the Fire trait, so it can be argued that it simply doesn't work underwater.

True but the Strike action, which is what is being used to throw the bomb, does not have the fire trait. The rules say it is the action, not the item. that has to have the fire trait.


Gary Bush wrote:

An alchemist bomb does not have the bludgeoning trait so it can be used underwater. I know that is not logical, but much in the rules is not logical.

You can throw an alchemist fire underwater, it would just not deal any damage.

The range for the bomb is not halved because the rules don't say they are. Again, not logical.

The underwater rules for alchemists was recently highlighted in a PFS adventure.

Wich one please ? I'm interested

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Gary Bush wrote:

An alchemist bomb does not have the bludgeoning trait so it can be used underwater. I know that is not logical, but much in the rules is not logical.

You can throw an alchemist fire underwater, it would just not deal any damage.

The range for the bomb is not halved because the rules don't say they are. Again, not logical.

The underwater rules for alchemists was recently highlighted in a PFS adventure.

I would say that's covered by:

CRB wrote:
At the GM’s discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating.

Rather than write a whole chapter about underwater combat, they just listed rules for what they thought were the most common cases and explicitly left the rest to GM discretion.

In practice I've seen it ruled that bombs would be hampered in the same way as piercing ranged weapons, mostly to avoid making alchemists entirely unplayable in that adventure.


If your gm lets it work they could easily also let the fact that the target is fully submerged work as the assist to lessen the flat check for shaking the persistent damage. So maybe you can apply acid but the fact you are fully submerged makes it easier to wash it off.

Horizon Hunters

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Please try throwing a rock underwater vs on land and come back to this thread. You will find that not being able to throw bombs underwater to be quite reasonable.

And please don't just replay with "But RAW!" It's clearly intended to apply to any non-piercing thrown weapon and they just forgot to mention "bombs". Really it should have just said non-piercing thrown weapons...

When we find a rule that was intended to be one way but the writing makes it unclear we should try to raise the issue to the developers, instead of trying to find loopholes and break the rules.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Cordell Kintner wrote:

Please try throwing a rock underwater vs on land and come back to this thread. You will find that not being able to throw bombs underwater to be quite reasonable.

And please don't just replay with "But RAW!" It's clearly intended to apply to any non-piercing thrown weapon and they just forgot to mention "bombs". Really it should have just said non-piercing thrown weapons...

When we find a rule that was intended to be one way but the writing makes it unclear we should try to raise the issue to the developers, instead of trying to find loopholes and break the rules.

Maybe the loophole was created exactly to not make a class completely redundant underwater.

You know, how you can still swing a greatsword while underwater, which is equally absurd in reality.

Horizon Hunters

Anyone with Martial weapon proficiency can use a bomb, alchemists just get them free. Some classes can even throw bombs further than a standard alchemist can.

You can't equate swinging a weapon underwater to throwing it. When swinging you maintain control on the weapon, and while the force of the water is acting against your swing, you can still power through and complete the swing, which is why they get a penalty instead of failing. Meanwhile once you release a thrown weapon it is completely at the mercy of the force of the water on it. This means any thrown item that's not designed for aquadynamics will quickly stop moving regardless of how much force you impart on it.

Air and Water are both liquids, with water being significantly more dense (About 1000x more so.) The reason piercing weapons are typically used underwater is because the cross-sectional area of the force is significantly lower than that of a slashing or bludgeoning weapon. Since the drag coefficient is about 1000 times larger, even small increases in cross-sectional area drastically reduce momentum through water, while it's negligible when it comes to something like a spear.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Cordell Kintner wrote:

Anyone with Martial weapon proficiency can use a bomb, alchemists just get them free. Some classes can even throw bombs further than a standard alchemist can.

You can't equate swinging a weapon underwater to throwing it. When swinging you maintain control on the weapon, and while the force of the water is acting against your swing, you can still power through and complete the swing, which is why they get a penalty instead of failing. Meanwhile once you release a thrown weapon it is completely at the mercy of the force of the water on it. This means any thrown item that's not designed for aquadynamics will quickly stop moving regardless of how much force you impart on it.

Air and Water are both liquids, with water being significantly more dense (About 1000x more so.) The reason piercing weapons are typically used underwater is because the cross-sectional area of the force is significantly lower than that of a slashing or bludgeoning weapon. Since the drag coefficient is about 1000 times larger, even small increases in cross-sectional area drastically reduce momentum through water, while it's negligible when it comes to something like a spear.

and what when you swing a heavy weapon without anything to actually support your weight, like when you are actually in water?

that's the main thing.

unless you think that melee weapons should outright be unusable unless you have ground beneath your feet.

you see, the problem with swinging underwater isnt just the resistance of the water itself, but that the moment the weapon collides with something, instead of you cutting said somehting, you will be simply pushed back, since the resistance of the water is less than the resistance of the solid thing you are hitting and you have no traction beneath your feet.

that's why piercing weapons that you focus all the power in a tiny spot, bypass most of the ater resistance, and rely on your momentum to pierce through the resistance of the flesh work, and slashing and bludgeoning simply, don't.

don't let me even get started on Verbal components. Using your logic all verbal spells should be unusable underwater as well. Do you houserule that as well?

games require suspension of disbelief to work.

and yes, while everyone can use bombs, a bomber alchemist can ONLY use bombs. So, unless the intent was to have a class clearly 100% unusable in underwater combat, i say that it's also RAI (since it's already RAW) that they dont suffer penalties. EXACTLY like they conveniently allow you to speak underwater (in order to cast spells).

Since developers (with good reason) don't usually comment on the RAI, and since the RAW in this case is clear, you can houserule it however you want, but i do expect in official settings for GMs to follow the RAW in such an issue like "my houserule makes your class unplayable in the adventure".


1 person marked this as a favorite.

A bomber alchemist is a DEX based character, which mostly rely on bombs ( you'll probably find out that many bombers also rely on weapon attacks or cantrips instead of making use of perpetual infusions ).

Consider also that you might be playing a FIRE MAGE ( only fire spells because he's the fire mage! ).

He won't do a thing underwater ( unless Undine. God bless Undine ).

Anyway, I'd find rather odd for an alchemist not having at least one magic weapon.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
HumbleGamer wrote:

A bomber alchemist is a DEX based character, which mostly rely on bombs ( you'll probably find out that many bombers also rely on weapon attacks or cantrips instead of making use of perpetual infusions ).

Consider also that you might be playing a FIRE MAGE ( only fire spells because he's the fire mage! ).

He won't do a thing underwater ( unless Undine. God bless Undine ).

The equivalent is the wizard being unable to cast spells since "speaking is something you cannot do underwater".

a fire mage can prepare different spells. he wont get bonuses but he can still use his main thing, which are his spellslots.

Again, unless you also houserule that the fire mage can cast absolutely no Verbal spell (since he cant speak). Then sure, have a bunch of wizards and alchemists wielding daggers while underwater for the whole adventure. That seems fun.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
shroudb wrote:


a fire mage can prepare different spells. he wont get bonuses but he can still use his main thing, which are his spellslots.

I'd phrase it using the conditional

If the wizard had known he had had an underwater combat, then he would have prepared different spells.

shroudb wrote:


The equivalent is the wizard being unable to cast spells since "speaking is something you cannot do underwater".

Again, unless you also houserule that the fire mage can cast absolutely no Verbal spell (since he cant speak). Then sure, have a bunch of wizards and alchemists wielding daggers while underwater for the whole adventure. That seems fun.

Actually, there's a rule.

Quote:
You can hold your breath for a number of rounds equal to 5 + your Constitution modifier. Reduce your remaining air by 1 round at the end of each of your turns, or by 2 if you attacked or cast any spells that turn. You also lose 1 round worth of air each time you are critically hit or critically fail a save against a damaging effect. If you speak (including casting spells with verbal components or activating items with command components) you lose all remaining air.

So, alchemists are way above any other spellcaster ( since the majority of their spells require a verbal component. And probably anybody wouldn't consider the eventuality of being engaged in an aquatic combat ).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
HumbleGamer wrote:
I'd find rather odd for an alchemist not having at least one magic weapon.

I wouldn't. 100 gp buys a lot of formulas and raw materials.

But I do find it rather odd that people consider alchemists not being able to throw bombs underwater worth a structural change (to equipment or to the rules).

Sometimes the alchemist just needs to pull out the 1d4-1 dagger and Aid an attack or something creative. No character gets to do their preferred actions 100% of the time, this seems no worse than the greatsword fighter pulling out a mundane crossbow to attack a circling dragon, or readying actions every turn hoping their wizard allies can earthbind it.

Cordell Kintner wrote:
Please try throwing a rock underwater vs on land and come back to this thread. You will find that not being able to throw bombs underwater to be quite reasonable.

Reality has little to do with the rules.

If it did, there would be weakness to electricity depending on the ionic strength of the water (salt water conducts electricity more than fresh water), sonic damage might have resistances or weaknesses depending on the frequency of the sounds (higher frequencies dissipate readily), resistance to cold would equal resistance to fire due to the heat capacity of the water, and nobody can realistically swim with 5 Bulk no matter how strong they are.

Ruling that alchemists can throw bombs (or certain types of bombs) is fine, ruling that they can't is also fine. It's solely a function of what the rules say/mean.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Watery Soup wrote:
HumbleGamer wrote:
I'd find rather odd for an alchemist not having at least one magic weapon.

I wouldn't. 100 gp buys a lot of formulas and raw materials.

You mean 50gp, since it's an item you and your party will find ( during AP you'll be able to find plenty weapons and armors, after all ).

And considering that you'd be selling it for 50gp... well, probably many alchemists would decide to take it.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm just here to say that fighting underwater usually sucks for most players unless they're built for it. Their movement will generally be slower, they might use back-up weapons, and vision can be a thing. This isn't something unique to alchemists or fire mages, though they might be more adversely affected than others.

I think the important thing here is a clear dialogue with your GM. If they say you can't throw at all; make sure you come with a backup -- maybe prep quicksilver elixirs and use a crossbow. If bombs work, but not fire or acid -- don't make those and make some bottled lightning instead. Not ideal, but neither is a sorcerer using their back-up spells or tactics they aren't used to using. Hopefully the scenario you're in is meant to give you the tools and problem-solving opportunities to work through the problems that underwater adventuring entails and the encounters are built around some understanding that you probably aren't at 100% in your non-native environment.

If you're an alchemist and your GM sends you underwater and rules that you can't do anything then your GM is basically setting you up for failure. PFS is a little more tricky in that regard, but it's not clear that's what this is about and the rule of thumb there has always been to have a back-up plan for when your main thing doesn't work.


cavernshark wrote:


If you're an alchemist and your GM sends you underwater and rules that you can't do anything then your GM is basically setting you up for failure. PFS is a little more tricky in that regard, but it's not clear that's what this is about and the rule of thumb there has always been to have a back-up plan for when your main thing doesn't work.

Depends the campaign and the group you are playing with.

There are some who want challenge, and take into account that characters might die for sure if the push too much or if the play randomly and without tactics.

On the other hand, there are players who doesn't really care about the combat part, and just want to play the game to follow the story, and expect to be given possibilities regardless the situation.

If you know there's a house on fire with somebody still inside of it and you expect to be given a possibility to enter, rescue all the people and come out alive, if the character dies it's not the DM fault. It would be like cheating with the DM screen while rolling attacks or damage ( I roll without a screen for this reason ).

Same goes for chasing enemies underwater, where you know you wouldn't be able to use your weapon.

Eventually, falling into a pit trap which leads to an underwater cellar. You might definitely be put at a disadvantage ( maybe you are not proficient with swimming, or you have low constitution and because so your lungs are not that good ) even without a single enemy.

This just to know that the more versatile stuff you take, the better ( regardless the approach your group plays with ). A shifting rune instead of a damaging rune could suck for the whole adventure, and the shine when you change your sword to a spear. Same goes for taking the "underwater marauder" skill feat. Or the combat climber one ( talking about ropes, ladders and so on ).

Grand Lodge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Trying to analyze the situation

Starting with the obvious

RAW: Piercing ranged weapons work (with reduced range)
Slashing and bludgeoning ranged weapons always fail

Bombs are not mentioned

Now how do I interpret that?

My view:
2e has tried hard to get rid of all stacking shenanigan that plague 1e and therefore tries to write what is possible. If it isn't expressly allowed - ask the GM or assume it doesn't work.

So no - bombs shouldn't work.

So how would I handle it at my table?

I know the story in advance. So if there is lots of underwater fighting I would discourage a player to even consider an alchemist.

If there is a little underwater I would try to warn the alchemist player in advance to allow some backup.

If it is a single encounter I would likely feel - suck it up. Not worse then rolling a nat 1 in the first round of combaet on an incapacitate effect.

...

I'm fully aware there is a PFS scenario with underwater fights. But that is the reason when I played it to use my cleric (prepping water breathing) instead of going in with my alchemist. The blurb is enough to tell me at least some underwater fights are to be expected.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

An Alchemist underwater isn't necessarily, totally sidelined. . .

He can make Sea Touched Elixirs and Water Breathing from a Spell or Potion is relatively easily obtainable. Breath Control and Underwater Marauder feats also help and are both 1st level.

Just. . . don't try to rely on bombs underwater. They aren't the end-all-be-all of Alchemists, not even for Bombers.

Sovereign Court

I think as an alchemist picking up a crossbow or even getting shortbow proficiency is a good idea anyway. It gives you backup for a lot of situations:
- Combat at longer range / monster you don't want to get close enough to to bomb
- Arrows are fairly cheap, so you can have some spares for when you don't have infinite bombs yet
- Monsters with many elemental resistances
- Underwater combat


1 person marked this as a favorite.

so, i ask once more, do you guys dissalow casting spells underwater?

even waterbreathing doesnt have text allowing you to "talk" underwater.

the "out of breath" issue doesnt usually arise due to underwater combat being facilitated 99% of the time with water breathing, but water breathing does nothing for "speaking" underwater.

---

let alone the simple fact that one can have his containers shaped in Dart shape and then throw them, i mean, the game has exactly 0 rules about the shape the bombs are.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
shroudb wrote:
so, i ask once more, do you guys dissalow casting spells underwater?

The only proabition listed is on fire spells.

shroudb wrote:
even waterbreathing doesnt have text allowing you to "talk" underwater.

I think you are looking at it the wrong way. Nothing in aquatic combat, aquatic, or anything else says you can't speak underwater or would you say aquatic elves can't speak to each other underwater because nothing says so?

shroudb wrote:
the "out of breath" issue doesnt usually arise due to underwater combat being facilitated 99% of the time with water breathing, but water breathing does nothing for "speaking" underwater.

Nothing says water breathing creatures can't speak underwater: Merfolk have 2 listed languages and can't breath air so we assume they can never use those languages unless they go on land and can't breathe? The aquatic combat rules tell you how land folks are limited underwater and speaking isn't listed as a limitation on anything other than holding your breathe so I see no reason to assume it's an unwritten limitation.

shroudb wrote:
let alone the simple fact that one can have his containers shaped in Dart shape and then throw them, i mean, the game has exactly 0 rules about the shape the bombs are.

No reason they couldn't but that sounds like something with a rarity higher than common...


Ascalaphus wrote:
I think as an alchemist picking up a crossbow or even getting shortbow proficiency is a good idea anyway.

I think a crossbow is a no-brainer. My alchemist also has a dagger.

This is all within the context of them being super cheap and their bulk not mechanically affecting the character (much easier post-errata, but when I created my alchemist I had to give her 12 STR because the alchemist kit plus 8 Advanced Alchemy items encumbered her).

Shortbow is a different story, because it costs a feat unless you can get it through ancestry. I argue that the backup weapon is pretty far down the list of things to spend feats on. By 7th level an alchemist has unlimited 1st level bombs so if I were really worried about backup weapon damage type, I'd choose the 1d4+4 thunderstones.

I think enchanting a backup weapon is super low priority.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
graystone wrote:
I think you are looking at it the wrong way. Nothing in aquatic combat, aquatic, or anything else says you can't speak underwater or would you say aquatic elves can't speak to each other underwater because nothing says so?

I think that's the point. Nothing says bombs don't work underwater either.

So you have people trying to apply "common sense" to one class and then arguing "we don't need to be realistic just follow the rules" for another class.


Squiggit wrote:
graystone wrote:
I think you are looking at it the wrong way. Nothing in aquatic combat, aquatic, or anything else says you can't speak underwater or would you say aquatic elves can't speak to each other underwater because nothing says so?

I think that's the point. Nothing says bombs don't work underwater either.

So you have people trying to apply "common sense" to one class and then arguing "we don't need to be realistic just follow the rules" for another class.

But it's common sense to follow the rules here so there isn't a contradiction: IMO, it's common sense that merfolk can speak to each other and for that to happen, water breathing creatures have to be able to speak. this works 100% with there being no specific prohibition on speaking unless you are holding your breath.

I wasn't mentioning bombs as the post I replied to didn't mention them [just their containers]. As to bombs, it's most likely an oversight as bombs sit in a category unique to themselves, both weapon and alchemy item. As such, if you want to rule on common sense, they most likely aren't going to work. It you rule on it with the rules, it's in a grey area: underwater combat lists what ranged weapons work and what ones don't with bombs not listed.

Myself, I'd go with this listing under Aquatic Combat: "At the GM’s discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating." It's a 'get put of jail free card' for things like tossing bombs, so the ground-based action of 'strike with bomb' wouldn't work.


graystone wrote:
shroudb wrote:
so, i ask once more, do you guys dissalow casting spells underwater?

The only proabition listed is on fire spells.

shroudb wrote:
even waterbreathing doesnt have text allowing you to "talk" underwater.

I think you are looking at it the wrong way. Nothing in aquatic combat, aquatic, or anything else says you can't speak underwater or would you say aquatic elves can't speak to each other underwater because nothing says so?

shroudb wrote:
the "out of breath" issue doesnt usually arise due to underwater combat being facilitated 99% of the time with water breathing, but water breathing does nothing for "speaking" underwater.

Nothing says water breathing creatures can't speak underwater: Merfolk have 2 listed languages and can't breath air so we assume they can never use those languages unless they go on land and can't breathe? The aquatic combat rules tell you how land folks are limited underwater and speaking isn't listed as a limitation on anything other than holding your breathe so I see no reason to assume it's an unwritten limitation.

shroudb wrote:
let alone the simple fact that one can have his containers shaped in Dart shape and then throw them, i mean, the game has exactly 0 rules about the shape the bombs are.
No reason they couldn't but that sounds like something with a rarity higher than common...

actually the rules say the exact same thing for bombs and underwater talking:

"some physical things may not work"

So, if we go by the rules only, you can throw bombs normally, and you can speak normally.

it's only gm calls that disallow either one of those.

and it's directly rooted to the same exact rule "do a physical thing"


shroudb wrote:

actually the rules say the exact same thing for bombs and underwater talking:

"some physical things may not work"

So, if we go by the rules only, you can throw bombs normally, and you can speak normally.

it's only gm calls that disallow either one of those.

and it's directly rooted to the same exact rule "do a physical thing"

The only difference is we have examples of creatures that live underwater that speak languages and cast spells and are physically incapable of breathing air so it's not exactly true that the game stays silent on it: it just doesn't slap you in the face with an explicit 'hey, water breathing creatures can talk underwater' but I don't think it has to: if you don't, parts of the game stop working like merfolk having to suffocate above water to talk to each other... As such, I'm quite comfortable saying the ability to breathe underwater includes speaking. Saying otherwise is kind of like arguing dead people can move in PF1 even though it's obvious they can't.

As to bombs, again IMO it's a grey area more than anything: with the listing of ranged weapons and how they are affected, it seems doubtful to me that bombs would be the ONLY ranged weapon that is unaffected underwater [even piercing weapons see range halved] so I think it's not as simple as "it's directly rooted to the same exact rule "do a physical thing"": the difference is that one brings about an illogical result if allowed [bombs work better underwater than javelins] and the other brings an illogical result is disallowed [merfolk, krakens, ect can't speak or cast spells without suffocating].

That's why I can see "At the GM’s discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating" getting applied to bombs while I don't see it being done for speech. Bombs affects a subset of alchemists that can just make non-bomb items while speaking/spells affect Bard, Champion, Cleric, Druid, Investigator, Monk, Oracle, Ranger, Rogue, Sorcerer, Swashbuckler, Witch, Wizard and any npc/enemy spell casters and/or communication... One clearly severely limits almost every kind of adventure while the other doesn't.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Also, while Auditory & Linguistic spells/effects might have difficulty underwater (though I agree with Graystone they usually shouldn't), that doesn't mean Verbal effects have difficulty.
The casters are speaking to the cosmos, not someone's ear.

Also, I've yelled underwater and been understood, so it's not like it's impossible (though yes, only small, basic ideas). Underwater I've also spoken words in a strong voice (as per Verbal trait) even if nearly all of them were unintelligible to others.

The expulsion of one's air supply is already a severe cost, and spells/effects that allow water breathing should enable underwater adventuring. Without spellcasting it'd be like entering the Mana Wastes, and that'd kill the common fantasy trope of exploring under the sea.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
graystone wrote:

The only difference is we have examples of creatures that live underwater that speak languages and cast spells and are physically incapable of breathing air so it's not exactly true that the game stays silent on it: it just doesn't slap you in the face with an explicit 'hey, water breathing creatures can talk underwater' but I don't think it has to: if you don't, parts of the game stop working like merfolk having to suffocate above water to talk to each other... As such, I'm quite comfortable saying the ability to breathe underwater includes speaking. Saying otherwise is kind of like arguing dead people can move in PF1 even though it's obvious they can't.

To me it seems simply a choice ( entirely in terms of mechanics ):

Quote:
You can hold your breath for a number of rounds equal to 5 + your Constitution modifier. Reduce your remaining air by 1 round at the end of each of your turns, or by 2 if you attacked or cast any spells that turn. You also lose 1 round worth of air each time you are critically hit or critically fail a save against a damaging effect. If you speak (including casting spells with verbal components or activating items with command components) you lose all remaining air.

It points out in a clear way that not only you are allowed to speak, as well using spells which also have a verbal component, but what happens if you decide to do so ( you lose all remaining air ).

So,

- Any creature can speak underwater ( as well as casting spells with or without verbal components ).
- Creatures who choose to speak ( or cast a spell with verbal component ) lose all their remaining air.
- Creatures which can breathe underwater won't suffer from the "lose your remaining air" part, so they can speak and cast any kind of spells with no issues.

Being able to speak underwater( as well as cast a spell with verbal component ) is not about logic/realism, but it's simply here to offer a tradeoff for casters and characters. It's just combat mechanics.

Bombs, on the other hand, can deal a specific kind of damage ( we also have bombs which deal Slashing damage ), but in order to deal damage the character has to hit with a ranged attack.

In contrast to the previous part about "speaking or casting spells underwater", which states anything we need, I assume they probably forgot about bombs and underwater combat since they deal specific damage.

In addition, there are spells like wall of wind

Quote:
Ammunition from physical ranged attacks—such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, and other objects of similar size—can't pass through the wall. Attacks with bigger ranged weapons, such as javelins, take a –2 circumstance penalty to their attack rolls if their paths pass through the wall. Massive ranged weapons and spell effects that don't create physical objects pass through the wall with no penalty.

Would anybody consider a bomb like a javelin or more similar to a ranged projectile?

Not to say that with the change to the thrown trait we have

Quote:
You can throw this weapon as a ranged attack, and it is a ranged weapon when thrown. A thrown weapon adds your Strength modifier to damage just like a melee weapon does. When this trait appears on a melee weapon, it also includes the range increment. Ranged weapons with this trait use the range increment specified in the weapon’s Range entry.

So, since no weapon with the thrown trait is a massive ranged weapon ( these would be like catapults and trebuchets ), we could expand the previous example.

Would anybody consider a bomb like an hatchet, a trident, a light hammer, a club and so on ( they all have 1 Bulk instead of L, even if there might be exceptions like daggers, for example )?

Anyway, this oversight, regardless the outcome, will be probably cleared sooner or later.


HumbleGamer wrote:
graystone wrote:

The only difference is we have examples of creatures that live underwater that speak languages and cast spells and are physically incapable of breathing air so it's not exactly true that the game stays silent on it: it just doesn't slap you in the face with an explicit 'hey, water breathing creatures can talk underwater' but I don't think it has to: if you don't, parts of the game stop working like merfolk having to suffocate above water to talk to each other... As such, I'm quite comfortable saying the ability to breathe underwater includes speaking. Saying otherwise is kind of like arguing dead people can move in PF1 even though it's obvious they can't.

To me it seems simply a choice ( entirely in terms of mechanics ):

Quote:
You can hold your breath for a number of rounds equal to 5 + your Constitution modifier. Reduce your remaining air by 1 round at the end of each of your turns, or by 2 if you attacked or cast any spells that turn. You also lose 1 round worth of air each time you are critically hit or critically fail a save against a damaging effect. If you speak (including casting spells with verbal components or activating items with command components) you lose all remaining air.

It points out in a clear way that not only you are allowed to speak, as well using spells which also have a verbal component, but what happens if you decide to do so ( you lose all remaining air ).

So,

- Any creature can speak underwater ( as well as casting spells with or without verbal components ).
- Creatures who choose to speak ( or cast a spell with verbal component ) lose all their remaining air.
- Creatures which can breathe underwater won't suffer from the "lose your remaining air" part, so they can speak and cast any kind of spells with no issues.

Being able to speak underwater( as well as cast a spell with verbal component ) is not about logic/realism, but it's simply here to offer a tradeoff for casters and characters. It's just combat mechanics.

Bombs,...

so, going by your logic, if you dont have air, you cant speak. And if you cant speak, you cant use Verbal.

gotcha.

so when you are using waterbreathing, and you breathe water instead of air, then you cant cast.

i mean, that's what i get from your post.

---

as for the rest, i will know to clarify tthat ALL my bomb's containers are dart shaped, since that's a cosmetic change and the rules say absolutely nothing about the shape of the bombs.

So, even with the strictest gm houserules, if someone allows you to throw darts underwater, i can throw bombs.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
shroudb wrote:

so, going by your logic, if you dont have air, you cant use spells.

so when you are using waterbreathing, and you breathe water instead of air, then you cant cast.

i mean, that's what i get from your post.

What you should have gotten from my post is these are rules meant for the aquatic combat.

Neither roleplay stuff nor logic behind.

Quote:


Player: Can I cast a spell now that I am underwater?

DM: Yes, but at the end of your turn you will lose 2 rounds of air instead of one. Remember also that if you cast a spell with verbal component, or if you simply speak, you lose all remaining air.

Player: Ok

I don't even get what needs to be discussed, since the rules shouldn't be clearer.

But maybe it's just me, the only one who put mechanics behind roleplay ( even if they might be silly ).


shroudb wrote:

as for the rest, i will know to clarify tthat ALL my bomb's containers are dart shaped, since that's a cosmetic change and the rules say absolutely nothing about the shape of the bombs.

So, even with the strictest gm houserules, if someone allows you to throw darts underwater, i can throw bombs.

I'm not sure what dart shaped bombs would do to convince a strict DM: shape is meaningless to the rules, it's DAMAGE done. A morning star's ability to hit underwater is dependent on your choice of the damage you deal with it [hitting with a spike is 2 easier that hitting with a blunt area] but nothing about that alters the shape of the weapon. Making a hydrodynamically efficient bomb shape is no guarantee to change a DM's rulings, as it's clear shape doesn't matter. I mean, realistically a Combat Grapnel or a Starknife wouldn't go anywhere but the rules say they have a range increment of 10' because of it's damage type no matter how bad their hydrodynamics are.

Liberty's Edge

Zakapouik wrote:
Gary Bush wrote:

An alchemist bomb does not have the bludgeoning trait so it can be used underwater. I know that is not logical, but much in the rules is not logical.

You can throw an alchemist fire underwater, it would just not deal any damage.

The range for the bomb is not halved because the rules don't say they are. Again, not logical.

The underwater rules for alchemists was recently highlighted in a PFS adventure.

Which one please ? I'm interested

Adventure:
2-06 The Crushing Wave
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Alchemist Underwater All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.