Mutasafen

Zakapouik's page

29 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Well, I see that it is complicated. I think that for now, I will make it work for everything that allows to do void or vitality damage. And as advised, I will be careful if my players seek to exploit this or not.
Thanks to all for your answers.


In the impossible Playtest, the Necromancer have this feature:

"Mastery of Life and Death
You have studied the delicate balance of life and death to such a point that you can dance between them with ease. Whenever you cast a spell or use an ability that would deal void or vitality damage, use the weaker of the target’s resistance or immunity to void or to vitality. For instance, if the creature were immune to void and had no resistance or immunity to vitality damage, it would take vitality damage from the spell or ability. Resistance or immunity to both (or to all damage) applies as normal."

In the Player Core 1, p.452, it states:
""ability: This is a general term referring to rules that provide an exception to the basic rules. An ability could come from a number of sources, so “an ability that gives you a bonus to damage rolls” could be a feat, a spell, and so on."

So, I was wondering: what exactly qualifies as an "ability" to trigger Mastery of Life and Death?
For example, would a weapon rune that adds void or vitality damage to my strikes work?

It's unclear to me what counts as an ability in this context, and I'd like to have an answer for my players if they want to playtest the Necromancer and use this feature.


In page 6 of the playtest, i see two errors:

- Intermediary Boon: At 9th level, your proficiency rank for Fortitude saves increases to master. When you roll a success on a Will save, you get a critical success instead.

I don't know if it's will saves who have to be increases to master instead of fortitude or if it's fortitude success who have to becomme critical success, but this is a mistake for me.

- Until the start of your next turn, you are immune to control effects and spells that attempt to influence your actions, such as charm or command, unless its spell rank is more than twice your level.

Normally, it's half your level and not twice your level, like incapacitation, a small writing error.


Page 13:

SOOTHING BREEZE [three-actions] FEAT 4
AIR CONJURATION HEALING IMPULSE KINETICIST OVERFLOW POSITIVE PRIMAL
A gentle, refreshing breeze ripples through the air in a 20-foot
burst with three effects.
• The breeze extinguishes small non-magical fires,
disperses fog and smoke, and blows objects of negligible
Bulk around.
• Each living creature in the area regains 3d4 Hit Points
and is then temporarily immune to regaining HP from
Soothing Breeze for 10 minutes.
Level (+2) The healing increases by 1d4.

It says burst and not emanation. So i guess it should have a range where u can use it, no ?


Ok, so it's just me, thanks for your answers ;)


I know but it's a level.8 feat who give that.
I'm just saying that, for me, shoot two lasers from your chest is not really a monk thing and i think it's perharps, a little too powerful than you can flurry fire ranged damage at lvl.1


It's all in the title. For helping you to get an idea, there is the rules:

Flurry of Blows [One-Action]

Make two unarmed Strikes. If both hit the same creature, combine their damage for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses. Apply your multiple attack penalty to the Strikes normally. As it has the flourish trait, you can use Flurry of Blows only once per turn.

(Nothing say that we can't use Ranged unarmed attack but i don't know if it's a mistake or not)

There is some Ranged Unarmed Attack in the game:

- Sprite's Spark who can deal mental or elemental damage
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=2635

- Foxfire who deal fire damage
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=2617

- Seedpod who is Bludgeoning
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=1041

- Energy Beam who is Fire Damage
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=3094

- And the "funniest", Core Cannon who is ... energy blast from a cannon (yourself) and it's fire + force damage
https://2e.aonprd.com/Feats.aspx?ID=3110

Don't you think that it's strange that you can flurry with lasers from your body ?
I don't know ...


It have a range to trigger, the same as others (15feet) and you not strike back, like the paladin, you just buff a little your damage for the next round.

But evils are evil, so don't need to be too strong.

For refocus on the Thaumaturge, it's true it need one hand, i think with your arguments that he can be balance now
Strong for sure, but probably not overpower


I don't think Paladin should block more, for me they are alreay one of the most powerfull class in the game.
I know Amulet work only on one target and need to be set up the first turn but you'll use almost every turn, like the champion's one. Just in a slightly less versatile way, i agree.

I still believe that it's a bit too powerfull, but we will see in the future


Hello,

Since i discover the Neutral Evil champion, i found that his reaction was very poor compare to Good Champion.
Indeed, Good Champion Reaction give 2+level resistance to ALL damage to an ally once per round to speak simply
The Neutral Evil one give 2 + half level NOT rounded up to the triggering damage (not all damage) to himself once per round

And Thaumaturge come in with his amulet giving what ?
2 + level resistance to all damage for himself OR allies once per round ??!?

Excuse me but this seems really odd to me. If i want to play a neutral evil champion for his tankyness, it's better to just take Thaumaturge with Sentinel dedication no ?

Neutral Evil Champion who is already weak for me compare to others Champions feel weaker with this playtest

I think the Thaumaturge reaction does not need to be this powerfull (and the NE champion's one need to be better but i think it's not essential)


I noticed something wrong for the personal staves price. They have always the same price for wands of same level except for level.11 staff who is 100gold cheaper than a wand:

Staff:
level 5 Price 160 gp
level 7 Price 250 gp
level 9 Price 700 gp
level 11 Price [1,400 gp]
level 13 Price 3,000 gp
level 15 Price 6,500 gp
level 17 Price 15,000 gp
level 19 Price 40,000 gp

Wands:
Type 1st-level spell; Level 3; Price 60 gp
Type 2nd-level spell; Level 5; Price 160 gp
Type 3rd-level spell; Level 7; Price 360 gp
Type 4th-level spell; Level 9; Price 700 gp
Type 5th-level spell; Level 11; Price [1,500 gp]
Type 6th-level spell; Level 13; Price 3,000 gp
Type 7th-level spell; Level 15; Price 6,500 gp
Type 8th-level spell; Level 17; Price 15,000 gp
Type 9th-level spell; Level 19; Price 40,000 gp

Plus, i think it would be nice to precise if Personal Staves are unique or not for the DC to craft them since the examples can lead in a way of comprehension or another


Thanks for the responses ;)

So Amphibious creature who have a bludgeoning range attack should not use them underwater unless it's specified


Hello,

I recently play a one shot with Aquatic Combat and something feel weird with the Seaweed Leshy in Bestiary 3

This creature is Amphibious and can live underwater and it have a ranged bludgeoning attack called Water Jet
In Aquatic Combat Rules, it says "Ranged attacks that deal bludgeoning or slashing damage automatically miss if the attacker or target is underwater [...]"
So ... Seaweed Leshy can't use Water Jet underwater ? It seems a bit weird no ?
Same things for Grodair from Bestiary 2

For the Creature Vaspercham from Bestiary 2, it have "Water Blast" ability who is a ranged bludgeoning attack but this time it's magical and have water trait.

So, does Seaweed Leshy and Grodair can do their Water Jet attack even underwater and does magical or water trait attack work underwater even if it's deal bludgeoning damage (like Hydraulic push) ?


Gary Bush wrote:

An alchemist bomb does not have the bludgeoning trait so it can be used underwater. I know that is not logical, but much in the rules is not logical.

You can throw an alchemist fire underwater, it would just not deal any damage.

The range for the bomb is not halved because the rules don't say they are. Again, not logical.

The underwater rules for alchemists was recently highlighted in a PFS adventure.

Wich one please ? I'm interested


Hello,
I have a few questions about aquatic combat for the alchemist:

1) Can bomb (other than fire) work underwater ?
The rules is:
You’re flat-footed unless you have a swim Speed.
You gain resistance 5 to acid and fire.
You take a –2 circumstance penalty to melee slashing or bludgeoning attacks that pass through water.
Ranged attacks that deal bludgeoning or slashing damage automatically miss if the attacker or target is underwater, and piercing ranged attacks made by an underwater creature or against an underwater target have their range increments halved.
You can’t cast fire spells or use actions with the fire trait underwater.
At the GM’s discretion, some ground-based actions might not work underwater or while floating.
(478 Core Rulebook)

So, since bombs do not deal bludgeonin or slashing damage, it should work, right ? But bombs explode on contact with something, so it's sort of bludgeoning no ?
I don't know if their is rules about that already

2) Do poisons stay on blades / arrows underwater ?
In PF1, i think there was a feat for oily poisons so stay on weapons underwater. But this not exist in PF2 and there is no precision about poisons underwater no ?

3) Alchemical crossbow underwater:
In case of bombs don't work underwater, can alchemical crossbow work and apply some bonus damage (except fire obviously)

Thanks for your time and sorry if i made some lingual mistakes, i'm French ;)


For the potion, i know it's not positive ;)

But i see that we think in the same way for the negative healing trait and how Dhampir will work

I hope that Paizo's staff will be more explicite in the release


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I've a few questions about how Negative Healing works since the Bestiary 2 come out and the Dhampir Heritage preview is here

Negative Healing:
Source Bestiary 2 pg. 305
A creature with negative healing draws health from negative energy rather than positive energy. It is damaged by positive damage and is not healed by positive healing effects. It does not take negative damage, and it is healed by negative effects that heal undead.

Dhampir (Uncommon Heritage):
You are the scion of a vampire, half living and half undead, gifted with uncanny charm and grace, a bloodless pallor, and elongated incisors. You gain the Dhampir trait, in addition to the traits from your ancestry. You have the negative healing ability, which means you are harmed by positive damage and healed by negative effects as if you were undead. You also gain low-light vision, or you gain darkvision if your ancestry already has low-light vision. You can choose from dhampir feats and feats from your ancestry whenever you gain an ancestry feat

1) If i have a Dhampir in my PC group and a cleric cast the 3 actions heal spell, does it damage the Dhampir since Heal spell is an healing effect and not a pure positive damage. Negative Healing say that you are heal by negative effects that heal undead but not that you are damage by positive effects that damage undead, right ?

2) The Dhampir is not really an undead, so does spell who need to target Undead creature (like Disrupt Undead) can target Dhampirs ?

3) Does spells with Healing trait works on creature with negative healing traits like Vital Beacon, or more important Stabilize + Breath of life for a Dhampir ?

Bonus Questions:
I've read this in the Rulebook
"Some effects require a target to be willing. Only you can decide whether your PC is willing, and the GM decides whether an NPC is willing.
Even if you or your character don’t know what the effect is, such as if your character is unconscious, you still decide if you’re willing"
So it's mean that you can't use for example Shrink spell on an unconscious Npc, right ?
But can you use the Shrinking Potion ? Since it's only say
"This fungus-flavored potion conveys the effects of the shrink spell to make you and all your gear smaller. After the onset, you remain small for 10 minutes."
So does items who say "effects of the X spell" include the target condition or not ?

P.S: Thank you for all the reading and once more, sorry if i've made some mistakes in my way of writing, i'm not English.


Ok i see, thanks for the answers ;)


Hello, i recently look to the Hydra in 1st Bestiary and i have two questions:

1) When adventurers hit one of the Hydra heads, does it deal damage to the body too ?

2) If Hydra come to 0Hp but still have heads, she come back to life but does she have wounded ? If yes, can we kill and Hydra to bring her directly to dying 4 with her wounded conditions ?

P.S: I'm not native English, sorry for the mistakes


Well i'm very confuse now ^^

So an Acid Flask Sticky Bomb 2d6 persistant + 2 direct damage + 1 splash + 2 persistant (from the sticky rules) on a crit ?

And an Alchemist Fire Sticky Bomb is 2d8 direct damage + 2 persistant + 1 splash + 2 persistant (frome the sticky rules) on a crit ?


Oh .. didn't see your response Thenobledrake sorry

So my question is on a Crit Sticky bomb with Acid Flask, it's 2d6+1, the persistant who come from Sticky doesn't double.

And for a Fire crit normal bomb, does the 1 persistant double ?

And for Fire Crit Sticky bomb, the splash from Stricky doesn't double either ?

Sorry for this questions, i just want to be sure to not misunderstand


Ok, thanks for the response. So other persistant bombs (like the fire one) doesnt double on crit ? It's just the acid one ?


For example, if you threw a lesser acid flask and hit your target, that creature would take 1d6 persistent acid damage and 1 acid splash damage. All other creatures within 5 feet of it would take 1 acid splash damage. On a critical hit, the target would take 2d6 persistent acid damage, but the splash damage would still be 1. If you missed, the target would take 1 splash damage. If you critically failed, no one would take any damage.

P.544 Core Rulebook


Hello,

I was wondering. Since persistent is double on a crit but not splash and when you hit with a Sticky Bomb, the target take persistant damage equal to the splash damage. On a crit, does this persistant double or not ?


Thanks for your time and responses. That confirme what i believe. Hope the devs will clarify this in the future


So I have a question. In the spell "Sunburst", it say that all the items in the area is damaged and I was wondering if I just didn't saw a thing about magic items or the hardness and HP can't be upgrade ?

Sunburst:

" A powerful globe of searing sunlight explodes in the area, dealing 8d10 fire damage to creatures and objects in the area, plus 8d10 additional positive damage to undead creatures. Each creature and object in the area must attempt a Reflex save.

If the globe overlaps with an area of magical darkness, sunburst attempts to counteract the darkness effect.

Critical Success The creature or object is unaffected.
Success The creature or object takes half damage.
Failure The creature or object takes full damage.
Critical Failure The creature or object takes full damage. If it's a creature, it becomes blinded permanently."

Hp and hardness of things:

So with an average damage of 44, the only things that are not broken are the structures, so everyone in the burst of the spell, even if they crit success the saves, are now nudes without any items because the save is too hard for the items ?

And I can't find the rules for the reflex of the items, so I assume its juste 1d20+0 ?

Sorry for the long post and thanks for the answer !


Hello,

I have a few questions

- Can a player use "Heroic Recovery" when he die by a disintegrate spell ?

- Can a general item bonuses stack with a specific item bonuses ?

Exemple: If an item give you +2 for all craft check and another one give you +1 but only for repair. Do you have +3 for repair action and +2 for other craft actions ?


Thanks for the quick response.
I will discuss it with with my GMs while i'm waiting for more answers


I know that the fundamental runes prices for an upgrade is the difference between the two version.
But, is this the case for property rune like Slick Rune for example ?
Who actually is 45Gp for the basic version, 450gp for the greater and 9000gp for the major.
Can i upgrade it like i upgrade fundamentals, with the difference between two levels of runes ?

And if is the case, does it work for magical items ?
Like Cloak of the bat (950gp the basic price and 13000gp the greater version)

P.S: Sorry for my english, i don't know if it's clear