
Blave |

To Learn a Spell, you need to
Spend 1 hour per level of the spell, during which you must remain in conversation with a person who knows the spell or have the magical writing in your possession.
Can I talk to myself to do that? Say I'm a Wizard with Druid dedication and its spellcaster feats. Since a Druid basically knows all common Primal spells, can I "teach" myself their arcane version? Assuming the spell is on both spell lists, I succeed at the check and pay the gold, of course.
Also, what exactly does it mean to "know a spell"? It's easy for Wizards and witches (spell has to be in your book/familiar) and spontaneous casters (spell has to be in your repoertoire). But what about clerics and druids? Does a 1st level druid "know" fireball? Does a character who has druid dedication but none of the druid archetpye spellcaster feats "know" all common Primal spells?
Being able to actually cast the spell (i.e. have an appropriate level spell slot) doesn't seem to be necessary to learn or teach it. Nothing in the rules keeps a 1st level wizard from knowing higher level spells if he succeeds at the check to learn them.

![]() |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

I'd personally rule it needs to be someone who knows it as a spell of the same Tradition you're trying to learn it as (ie: you need someone with Burning Hands as an Arcane spell to learn it as an Arcane spell), since the components and sources are entirely different between Traditions, but that's a personal ruling.
I don't think the rules actually have anything to say on this subject one way or the other.
As for when Druids and Clerics and the like know a spell, I'd assume that they know it when they can cast it (ie: you need to be a 5th level Druid to know Fireball). That seems the most straightforward answer.