Rule clarification / change request for Interact and drawing two weapons


Rules Discussion

101 to 103 of 103 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

graystone wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
1. Believe the rules, as written, allow a person to draw "an item" with each of "2 hands." While this could be the same item, there is no requirement that has to be the same item. Obviously others disagree and some others agree. If my interpretation is correct, then it's clear Paizo needs to state this.
Did anyone else agree? I don't recall any but I might have missed them.
mrspaghetti wrote:
As I read it, the rules allow for drawing 2 items/weapons with one Interact already.
rainzax wrote:


I stand with OP.

Many GMs already "rule of cool" this anyway - might as well standardize it. "Future-proofing":

Yes, you missed them. The first response to my post agreed the rules can be read to allow two weapons. But hey, if you're focus is to tell someone they are wrong, it helps to ignore any evidence to the contrary.

Quote:

IMO, the rules seems pretty clear: Table 6-2: Changing Equipment

Change Hands, Action = Draw, stow, or pick up an item.

That's fine. I'm not here trying to convince others what is and what is not RAW. As I've posted many times, your interpretation is a valid one given how the rule is written.

Quote:
I don't see any reference to draw including any terms to imply multiple items at once.

The rule say you can use one hand or two hands. It does not mandate that each has to grab the same item. But, it can be read that way. However, I read it as an Interact can involve one or two hands. Each hand can "grab an item."

Quote:
. I'd LOVE to see switching grip not be an action too but I don't think that'll ever change.

Switching grip addresses a completely different problem. I suspect it was added on account of PF1 allowing you to use a two-handed reach weapon and then use a free action to pull your hand off and still threaten within 5'. Now, you can no longer do that.

In contrast, PFS 1 specifically allowed you to grab two weapons if you had TWF feat. So there's no need to require one Interact for each weapon because of an exploit.


This is like saying because quickdraw says draw your weapon and my weapon is an exquisite sword cane I can make an attack with both pieces for 1 action.


Schreckstoff wrote:
This is like saying because quickdraw says draw your weapon and my weapon is an exquisite sword cane I can make an attack with both pieces for 1 action.

Well if we follow his logic, it would allow any 2 weapons to be drawn and attacked with:

"You Interact to draw a weapon, then Strike with that weapon." If interact allows 2 weapons drawn then that interact to draw could draw both weapons and since he ignores the sentence context pointing to a single weapon only, "Strike with that weapon" would be with each hand. So for him, he can quickdraw 3 bastard swords and swing twice with a single action...

101 to 103 of 103 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Rule clarification / change request for Interact and drawing two weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.