
Sandslice |

Quotable / cyan elk version: Does fabricate require one set of "raw materials" or two?
So I was looking over the fabricate spell, and saw this. CRB:
Fabricate
School transmutation; Level arcanist 5, occultist 5, psychic 5, sorcerer 5, wizard 5
Casting
Casting Time see text
Components V, S, M (the original material, which costs the same amount as the raw materials required to craft the item to be created)
Effect
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Target up to 10 cu. ft./level; see text
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
Description
You convert material of one sort into a product that is of the same material. Creatures or magic items cannot be created or transmuted by the fabricate spell. The quality of items made by this spell is commensurate with the quality of material used as the basis for the new fabrication. If you work with a mineral, the target is reduced to 1 cubic foot per level instead of 10 cubic feet.You must make an appropriate Craft check to fabricate articles requiring a high degree of craftsmanship.
Casting requires 1 round per 10 cubic feet of material to be affected by the spell.
So ALMOST everything about this is clear to me. I get the following.
1. It targets anything other than minerals (eg, stone or metals) at 10 ft^3 (and minerals at 1 ft^3) per level, and has a variable casting time of 1 round per 10 ft^3 regardless of material involved.
2. It turns raw material into mundane Crafted material - and if that material is (per CRB FAQ) subject to a Craft check of 15+, such a check must be made and adjudicated by normal Craft check rules.
3. Fabrication of composite material items is possible (despite a strict reading of "one sort", the FAQ describes a mithral chain shirt and how you supply "mithral and other materials" for the casting).
So there is one thing I'm not sure about: the spell is described (as it was in 3.5) as having a material component. However, it then goes on to describe the material component as though it were really the target material.
SO A QUESTION.
Suppose I want to make a masterwork falchion (375 gold). Do I need only the 125 gold in raw material for conversion, or do I also need another equal amount to burn as a material component? My gut says just 125, but I want to be sure.

Zepheri |

Quotable / cyan elk version: Does fabricate require one set of "raw materials" or two?
So I was looking over the fabricate spell, and saw this. CRB:
** spoiler omitted **
So ALMOST everything about this is clear to me. I get the following.
1. It targets anything other than minerals (eg, stone or metals) at 10 ft^3 (and minerals at 1 ft^3) per level, and has a variable casting time of 1 round per 10 ft^3 regardless of material involved.
2. It turns raw material into mundane Crafted material - and if that material is (per CRB FAQ) subject to a Craft check of 15+, such a check must be made and adjudicated by normal Craft check rules.
3. Fabrication of composite material items is possible (despite a strict reading of "one sort", the FAQ describes a mithral chain shirt and how you supply "mithral and other materials" for the casting).
So there is one thing I'm not sure about: the spell is described (as it was in 3.5) as having a material component. However, it...
No you just need to increase the DC of the crafting from DC 15 to DC 20-25 that spell in fact act like a forge in this case and you don't need to expend a week or more to Finnish the job

Sandslice |

No you just need to increase the DC of the crafting from DC 15 to DC 20-25 that spell in fact act like a forge in this case and you don't need to expend a week or more to Finnish the job
Sorry, I should have been clearer on that point... common problem with me.
For crafting, I'm aware that the spell replaces tool and facility needs, and reduces the required time to the spell's cast time. I was also under the impression that you should make two checks for masterwork weapons / armour - one at normal DC for the item, and one at DC 20 for the "masterwork component".
Mainly, though, I'm curious as to whether the material component IS the target material, or whether it must be supplied in addition to the target material.

Zepheri |

Zepheri wrote:No you just need to increase the DC of the crafting from DC 15 to DC 20-25 that spell in fact act like a forge in this case and you don't need to expend a week or more to Finnish the jobSorry, I should have been clearer on that point... common problem with me.
For crafting, I'm aware that the spell replaces tool and facility needs, and reduces the required time to the spell's cast time. I was also under the impression that you should make two checks for masterwork weapons / armour - one at normal DC for the item, and one at DC 20 for the "masterwork component".
Mainly, though, I'm curious as to whether the material component IS the target material, or whether it must be supplied in addition to the target material.
To create a masterwork item you don't roll 2 times you only roll 1 since you need more precision in the crafting to create a new items the DC and the cost of raw material increase.
If you have a normal weapon and want to pass to masterwork you need to redo the item by destroy the weapon, salvage what you can (this gives you almost 1/4 to 1/2 of the raw material that you need) and get the rest of the material to create a new weapon (except that this time is going to be masterwork)

Sandslice |

Create Masterwork Items: You can make a masterwork item: a weapon, suit of armor, shield, or tool that conveys a bonus on its use through its exceptional craftsmanship. To create a masterwork item, you create the masterwork component as if it were a separate item in addition to the standard item. The masterwork component has its own price (300 gp for a weapon or 150 gp for a suit of armor or a shield, see Equipment for the price of other masterwork tools) and a Craft DC of 20. Once both the standard component and the masterwork component are completed, the masterwork item is finished. The cost you pay for the masterwork component is one-third of the given amount, just as it is for the cost in raw materials.
When casting fabricate, do I need to supply the materials:
- Once (ie, the "material component" is intended to be the target material); or
- Twice (ie, the material component is destroyed, and then the target material is affected)?

Zepheri |

CRB wrote:Create Masterwork Items: You can make a masterwork item: a weapon, suit of armor, shield, or tool that conveys a bonus on its use through its exceptional craftsmanship. To create a masterwork item, you create the masterwork component as if it were a separate item in addition to the standard item. The masterwork component has its own price (300 gp for a weapon or 150 gp for a suit of armor or a shield, see Equipment for the price of other masterwork tools) and a Craft DC of 20. Once both the standard component and the masterwork component are completed, the masterwork item is finished. The cost you pay for the masterwork component is one-third of the given amount, just as it is for the cost in raw materials.When casting fabricate, do I need to supply the materials:
- Once (ie, the "material component" is intended to be the target material); or
- Twice (ie, the material component is destroyed, and then the target material is affected)?
I'm this case it implies that the first roll will be at DC 15 when you Finnish the normal product for standard don't declared finish just rise the DC to 20 for the last 150-300g to get the masterwork

![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Please, Finnish is people from Finland, finish is when you finish a work.
- * -
The FAQ has a few problems as it contradicts the actual text of the spell. But it does so in the example of how it works, not when answering the question.
A chain shirt hasn't multiple components (i. e. it hasn't leather or cloth pieces), at most the mithrail used to make a mithrail shirt is an alloy and not pure mithrail, so maybe you can make it from pure mithral and iron.
Then:
Create Masterwork Items: You can make a masterwork item: a weapon, suit of armor, shield, or tool that conveys a bonus on its use through its exceptional craftsmanship. To create a masterwork item, you create the masterwork component as if it were a separate item in addition to the standard item.
So you can have 1 check if the DC for making a normal chain shirt is lower than 15, or two if the check to make a chain shirt DC is 15+ and another with a DC of 20 to make the masterwork component.
As written, the material component is destroyed when you cast the spell, but it is recreated in the new form, as the spell says:
M (the original material, which costs the same amount as the raw materials required to craft the item to be created)
...
You convert material of one sort into a product that is of the
same material.