Unchained Intimidate+Swashbuckler Bravo Archetype


Rules Questions


Hey,

I have a small rules question about Demoralize from the Unchained Intimidate in Combination with Terror of the Great Wyrm from the Swashbuckler Archetype Bravo. I am also kinda confused how Disheartening Display works in conjunction with those two.

Unchained Intimidate:
With sufficient ranks in Intimidate, you earn the following. An asterisk (*) indicates the total duration cannot exceed 1 round plus 1 round for every 5 by which you exceed the DC.

5 Ranks: If you exceed the DC to demoralize a target by at least 10, it is frightened for 1 round and shaken thereafter.* A Will save (DC = 10 + your number of ranks in Intimidate) negates the frightened condition, but the target is still shaken, even if it has the stalwart ability.

10 Ranks: If you exceed the DC to demoralize a target by at least 10, it is panicked for 1 round or frightened for 1d4 rounds (your choice) and shaken thereafter.* A Will save (DC = 10 + your number of ranks in Intimidate) negates the frightened or panicked condition, but the target is still shaken, even if it has the stalwart ability.

15 Ranks: If you exceed the DC to demoralize a target by at least 20, it is cowering for 1 round or panicked for 1d4 rounds (your choice) and frightened thereafter.* A Will save (DC = 10 + your number of ranks in Intimidate) negates the cowering, panicked, and frightened conditions, but the target is still shaken, even if it has the stalwart ability.

20 Ranks: If you exceed the DC to demoralize a target by at least 20, it is cowering for 1d4 rounds and panicked thereafter.* A Will save (DC = 10 + your number of ranks in Intimidate) negates the cowering and panicked conditions, but the target is still shaken, even if it has the stalwart ability.

Terror of the Great Wyrm:
At 15th level, the bravo can use her inevitable victory deed as part of a full attack or dragon’s rage. If a creature demoralized in this way would be shaken for 3 or more rounds, the bravo can make the target frightened for 1 round before becoming shaken for the appropriate duration.

Inevitable Victory (Ex):
The bravo’s technique is all about flair; a display of her skill is enough to make any brawler reconsider picking a fight. At 3rd level, the bravo gains Dazzling Display as a bonus feat. She can activate its effect only while wielding a dueling sword, and she must spend 1 panache point to do so.

Disheartening Display:
When you successfully use Dazzling Display against any shaken, frightened, or panicked opponents, their fear increases by one step. An already panicked creature demoralized by this feat cowers. Once affected by this feat, a creature cannot be affected by it again (by you or anyone else) for 24 hours.

What exactly is happening in Round 1 when i make a fullattack using Terror of the Great Wyrm and beating the Demoralize DC by 10? (while having 10 ranks in Intimidate and choosing 1d4 frightened option and roll a 2 and the enemy fails his Will-Save)

Unchained Intimidate would make it so that the enemy is 2 rounds frightened and 1 round shaken after.
Terror of the Great Wyrm would also Trigger and make the enemy frightened for 1 round and shaken for 2 rounds.
Demoralize effects usually don't stack with another they only Stack in Duration.

Demoralize:
You can use this skill to cause an opponent to become shaken for a number of rounds. This shaken condition doesn’t stack with other shaken conditions to make an affected creature frightened. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + the target’s Hit Dice + the target’s Wisdom modifier.

And

Success: If you are successful, the target is shaken for one round. This duration increases by 1 round for every 5 by which you beat the DC. You can only threaten an opponent this way if it is within 30 feet and can clearly see and hear you. Using demoralize on the same creature only extends the duration; it does not create a stronger fear condition.

That part of the rules clearly speak about the shaken condition, but i am creating 2 effects that both frighten the enemy.

And what is happening in round 2 when i chose to use it again and activate Disheartening Display with it?
Let's say the enemy is frightened for 1 round and shaken for 1 round thereafter. Is he now Panicked for 1 round and frightened for the round after? What is happening when i beat the DC by 10 again and it would trigger both of the above effects again?

Thanks for the Answers!


Unchained intimidate probably costs you a feat on signature skill BTW.

If you make a full attack and spend a panache point to use dazzling display as Terror otGW allows, then you get one check to demoralize the enemy. With those rolls you'd get frightened for 2 rounds, shaken for 1. Disheartening display doesn't trigger because the enemy wasn't already shaken.

In round 2 if you do this again then if your demoralize was successful the enemy would be panicked now, and frightened next round if you beat the DC by 5+. Disheartening display overrules the general rule on demoralize. If your rolls were good enough it might be frightened or shaken after that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Unchained Intimidate+Swashbuckler Bravo Archetype All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.