Improved Plane Shift / Arcane Discovery Exploit


Rules Questions


Improved Plane Shift can be picked up using a wizard's bonus feats, which are normally used for arcane discoveries. Can an Arcanist use the Arcane Discovery Exploit to get the feat, or is this worded the way it is specifically to make it Wizard only?


Improved Plane Shift wrote:


Prerequisite(s): Wizard level 9th.

I would say no.

Wizard Bonus Feat Feature wrote:


At 5th, 10th, 15th, and 20th level, a wizard gains a bonus feat. At each such opportunity, he can choose a metamagic feat, an item creation, or Spell Mastery. The wizard must still meet all prerequisites for a bonus feat, including caster level minimums. These bonus feats are in addition to the feats that a character of any class gets from advancing levels. The wizard is not limited to the categories of Item Creation Feats, Metamagic Feats, or Spell Mastery when choosing those feats.

A wizard may also choose an Arcane Discovery that he qualifies for in place of a bonus feat at these levels.

Improved Plane Shift wrote:


Special: A wizard can select this as a wizard bonus feat.

To elaborate, the relation between these two texts is that normally you can't take a general feat with the wizard's bonus feat feature. The special text for Improved Plane Shift means that a Wizard can use their Bonus Feat feature to get it, not that it is an Arcane Discovery.


Oh well, I guess this character will just have to be an exploiter wizard instead.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Improved Plane Shift / Arcane Discovery Exploit All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions