Demons and Divine Magic


Pathfinder Second Edition General Discussion


So I was looking through the monsters in the "Adventure Toolkit" of Pathfinder #149 and came across a demon with the Divine Wrath spell. I thought that odd, so I checked the Bestiary and it turned out 2 demons in there had the Divine Decree spell. According to both the Divine Decree and Divine Wrath spells, the spells cannot be cast unless you are a worshiper of a (non-neutral) deity. I can see these demons casting these spells if they serve a Demon Lord, but what about free agents? Are demons who don't serve a Demon Lord or god unable to cast the spell, or is this a case where NPCs simply follow different rules than PCs and can ignore spell restrictions?


I'd have to say that since they are the very demonic entities they call upon that they could impose the effects of their inherent powers onto their enemies.

But really, I'd just chalk it up to it being a Paizo oversight.

Shadow Lodge

I think this falls firmly into the "NPCs don't necessarily follow the same rules as PCs" category.


Outsiders are weird not the same as mortals from the material plane. Outsiders are more like embodiments of a concept. They don't have the same rules. A demon of X can have X spells or spell-like effects from its nature.


A longer version of "NPCs don't necessarily follow the same rules as PCs":

It also might be that what counts as a deity for a demon might be different than what counts as a deity for a PC. A demon might be able to worship the Abyss as a deity (with Anathemas of not being a demon, not being CE) that a PC couldn't (since being a dwarf, elf, etc. would violate the Anathema), and since a PC couldn't worship the Abyss as a deity, there was no reason to include it as a possibility in the Core Rulebook.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / General Discussion / Demons and Divine Magic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.