Character Operations Manual: Magic Officer's Mystic Haze depends on... which system, exactly?


Rules Questions

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Mystic Haze is a Push action, but it doesn't seem to depend on any system in particular.

Quote:
If you have at least 6 ranks in Mysticism, you can spend 1 Resolve Point and attempt a Mysticism check (DC = 20 + 1-1/2 × your starship’s tier); if you succeed, you call forth a magical burst of static to block your enemy’s view. This obscuring field garbles your opponent’s sensors and hinders their ability to gain information about your ship’s defenses and positioning, providing your starship a +1 enhancement bonus to AC until the end of the next round. In addition, the increased interference means all science officers on the opposing starship taking the scan or lock on actions before the end of the next round must roll twice for their checks and use the worse result.

Anyone have any idea what to do with this one, other than ignore the Push tag?


The implication seems to be that it's Engineering, meaning that you would not ignore the Push label for Mystic Haze (or Eldritch Shot which is also a Push action).

Magic Officer Actions wrote:
These actions can be taken only during the engineering phase.

It would have been nice to have it spelled out more clearly, though.


That's how I would interpret it. Magic Officers are *not* independent of ship systems, they just use slightly different systems than others. You still need the proper technomagical doohickeys as part of the sensors and engineering and whatnot.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Character Operations Manual: Magic Officer's Mystic Haze depends on... which system, exactly? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions