Weapon clumsy when two-handed


Rules Discussion


Hi all, so I'm confused by the clumsy trait on one of my characters' weapons. It states that it is "clumsy 1 while using two hand d12" opposed to the 1d8 the player gets when swinging it one-handed. I get that a player may wield the weapon in one or two hands for added damage, but the clumsy part confuses me for a few reasons:

1. Does the player decide whether they're attacking one or two handed when they strike? Or must they perform some manipulation to ready the stance beforehand? If so, surely then an opponent can get an attack of opportunity?

2. Does attacking with the weapon two-handed impose the effect, (and if so how long does the clumsy condition last) or is clumsy imposed the whole time they hold it with two hands?

3. If the character attacks with two hands and then attacks a second time one-handed does clumsy disappear since they're no longer two-handing it?

I guess I'm confused about how long clumsy is supposed to last, and what the trigger is. I wouldn't have thought it'd take an action to put your second hand on your sword, but it seems to be that the game needs to know when the sword is wielded in one or two hands, and it should be tracked somehow.

Also tangentially related, do you play the heroes as needing to draw their weapons for an action at the beginning of combat (provided they hadn't already stated they were holding them before it began?)

Thanks guys for your help


Ah, it appears I missed a semicolon!

The weapon reads (Clumsy 1 while using; two hand 1d12) This makes things simpler, indicating that the weapon gives clumsy 1 whilst the bearer is using it regardless of whether it is being weilded with one or two hands.

My question therefore becomes, does the character using it decide whether they are using one or two hands at any point on their turn, or does it require an action to change from one to two -handed? Or is this simply just a restriction on using a shield or holding another item whilst two-handing?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

You can release a hand (going from 2H to 1H) as a free action. However, it costs an action to regrip a weapon (going from 1H to 2H).

I'm curious what weapon is imposing the clumsy condition on you. Is it an oversized weapon?


Wheldrake wrote:

You can release a hand (going from 2H to 1H) as a free action. However, it costs an action to regrip a weapon (going from 1H to 2H).

I'm curious what weapon is imposing the clumsy condition on you. Is it an oversized weapon?

Hi, yes it's an oversized weapon, the relevant ability being Giant Instinct which allows a weapon from a creature 1 size larger I believe. This is the pregen Amiri character for use with the Torment and Legacy free introductory scenario.

So as I understand it, from combat starting (and assuming the party did not have weapons drawn already) it takes one interact action to draw the weapon, and another to wield it in two hands, plus a free release action to drop back to one-handed and thus not have the penalty?

This seems like a lot of actions to do things other games hand-wave away, not that I mind particularly, I'm just getting used to the pace and granular approach to combat that PF2 has.


Dilarus wrote:
So as I understand it, from combat starting (and assuming the party did not have weapons drawn already) it takes one interact action to draw the weapon, and another to wield it in two hands, plus a free release action to drop back to one-handed and thus not have the penalty?

You can draw a two-handed weapon with both hands, you don't have to spend an action after drawing to put your second hand on (table on page 273 for reference).

I also don't think that it's a net-gain for the character to drop their grip so they are only holding the weapon rather than wielding it and then spend an action to re-grip the weapon to wield it even though it avoids the clumsy 1 condition apply to their defenses...

and it may not be intended to be so easily avoided either, since the Titan Mauler ability makes a point of saying "You can't remove this clumsy condition or ignore its penalties by any means while wielding the weapon." It may have been an oversight to say "wielding" in that passage rather than "holding" since just holding the weapon isn't wielding and thus skips the penalties.


thenobledrake wrote:
Dilarus wrote:
So as I understand it, from combat starting (and assuming the party did not have weapons drawn already) it takes one interact action to draw the weapon, and another to wield it in two hands, plus a free release action to drop back to one-handed and thus not have the penalty?

You can draw a two-handed weapon with both hands, you don't have to spend an action after drawing to put your second hand on (table on page 273 for reference).

I also don't think that it's a net-gain for the character to drop their grip so they are only holding the weapon rather than wielding it and then spend an action to re-grip the weapon to wield it even though it avoids the clumsy 1 condition apply to their defenses...

and it may not be intended to be so easily avoided either, since the Titan Mauler ability makes a point of saying "You can't remove this clumsy condition or ignore its penalties by any means while wielding the weapon." It may have been an oversight to say "wielding" in that passage rather than "holding" since just holding the weapon isn't wielding and thus skips the penalties.

Thank you, I often get confused by this book since it's humongous, and I'd have expected all the tables and things with actions and weapons to be related to the combat section, where they're most likely to be needed. I'm going to have to read all 640 pages of this behemoth eventually, and it seems wrongfully assumed that in order to get playing with pregen characters I'd have to simply read the "playing the game" section.

Thank you very much for your help!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Weapon clumsy when two-handed All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.