When exactly does an Remorhaz count as enraged? (PF 1e)


Rules Questions


Looking for some insight here:
"Heat (Su) An ENRAGED remorhaz generates heat so intense that..."
So... when is an Remorhaz actually enraged? After it has lost around 50% of it's HP? After it has been hit once because it's easliy enraged? Is it automatically enraged when engaging in combat? Since I'm fairly certain there are no specific rules for that, I'm just looking for suggestions/ideas when to let the Remorhaz be enraged.

Dark Archive

Since there are no rules for this, "enraged" isn't a defined condition and isn't specified in the creatures statblock, so it just means angry is all.
To me a creature trying to kill you is angry. Therefore, if you are in combat with it, it's spines generate heat.
But you are the GM, you can rule it however you'd like.


That.

I suppose a calm emotions spell would cool it off, as would a successful Diplomacy check in the rare cases where an angry murderpede would still be willing to to listen to words.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

The Remorhaz's secret is that it's always angry.


That Crazy Alchemist wrote:

Since there are no rules for this, "enraged" isn't a defined condition and isn't specified in the creatures statblock, so it just means angry is all.

To me a creature trying to kill you is angry. Therefore, if you are in combat with it, it's spines generate heat.
But you are the GM, you can rule it however you'd like.

Hmm, I tried to give a semi-serious reply on how a hired assassin for example wouldn't be really angry when he enters combat but a wild beast might be. Gonna think about how I'll handle it some more. I kinda like the idea of the group thinking 'hey, that thing is a joke' first to 'Crap, my magic weapon is destroyed!' and 'I lost half my HP for punching it!"

Anyway, thanks for confirming my suspicion that there is no real rule for that enraged thingy.


blahpers wrote:

That.

I suppose a calm emotions spell would cool it off, as would a successful Diplomacy check in the rare cases where an angry murderpede would still be willing to to listen to words.

That's actually a brilliant idea. Have to remember that in case I'm a PC in the future :D

Edit: Just read the spell description again... Should not have dismissed that spell as 'too niche' for so long, it's actually pretty nice to have.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When exactly does an Remorhaz count as enraged? (PF 1e) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.