Throwing rocks, improvised weapons?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Is a thrown rock an improvised weapon?


If you have the rock throwing ability then no, there are specific rules. Otherwise probably yes.


Could be. So can a beer mug in a bar brawl.


If you take the time to choose or carve a nice solid rock suited to your hand, with some good jagged damaging edges and decent aerodynamics, it's not improvised. If you just grab the nearest thing on the ground, it is improvised.

Note that in many places, to get a non-improvised rock, you'll need a pick, a shovel, a hammer and a chisel. Get digging.

The same applies to clubs. A stool is an improvised club. A baseball bat is not.

Scarab Sages

Looking at that stone oracle and trying to figure out if the bonus to hit is added against the improvised penalty or not. Vague at best.


Nah, that's the same rock throwing ability you'll see under the generic monster rules, and the monsters with it have no improvised weapon penalty in their stats.

Edit: granted, giants and the like tend to carry around a few rocks for throwing which lends weight to Mudfoot's argument.

Scarab Sages

While it might the be the same as the monster ability, it sure doesn't mention that anywhere within the Oracle's Stone Mystery.

Quote:


Rock Throwing (Ex): You are an accomplished rock thrower and have a +1 racial bonus on attack rolls with thrown rocks. You can hurl rocks up to two categories smaller than your own size. The range increment for a rock is 20 feet, and you can hurl it up to 5 range increments. Damage for a hurled rock is 2d4 for a Medium creature or 2d3 for a Small creature, plus 1-1/2 your Strength bonus.

First, it's really odd to get a racial bonus from a class ability.

Second, nothing mentioned on whether this is an improvised weapon or not.

Third, not even a not on how many hands are required or the exact size of the rocks, as it merely requires rocks "up to two categories smaller than your own size." As written, rocks three sizes small than my size deal exactly the same damage as rocks a size larger or smaller.

So, if it's an improvised weapon, can I apply "Throw anything" to attack rolls with this ability? If it's a weapon I'm proficient in, can I take Weapon Focus (Rock) and enchant the rock as I would other weapons/ammunition?


Uhm. I have no clue where its ended up. but at some point I thought that someone finally got an FAQ about the rock throwing oracle ability... that it wasn't an improvsed thing.. there was some sorta reference to sling stones and materials as well.. I just can't quite remember and not sure if it was legitimate.

but I do remember an unoffical thing saying that Weapon focus is valid as would be making an enchanted metal ignot with calling or returning on it..
same with greater magic weapon..

but again.. no clue if that was legitimate or was just someone stating their opinion in an unoffical fashion.


Murdock Mudeater wrote:

While it might the be the same as the monster ability, it sure doesn't mention that anywhere within the Oracle's Stone Mystery.

Quote:


Rock Throwing (Ex): You are an accomplished rock thrower and have a +1 racial bonus on attack rolls with thrown rocks. You can hurl rocks up to two categories smaller than your own size. The range increment for a rock is 20 feet, and you can hurl it up to 5 range increments. Damage for a hurled rock is 2d4 for a Medium creature or 2d3 for a Small creature, plus 1-1/2 your Strength bonus.

First, it's really odd to get a racial bonus from a class ability.

Second, nothing mentioned on whether this is an improvised weapon or not.

Third, not even a not on how many hands are required or the exact size of the rocks, as it merely requires rocks "up to two categories smaller than your own size." As written, rocks three sizes small than my size deal exactly the same damage as rocks a size larger or smaller.

So, if it's an improvised weapon, can I apply "Throw anything" to attack rolls with this ability? If it's a weapon I'm proficient in, can I take Weapon Focus (Rock) and enchant the rock as I would other weapons/ammunition?

It's an ability with the same name and about the same mechanics (twice slam damage = 2d4). As I mentioned above, the monster ability shows by example that the rocks do not use improvised weapon penalties. Which in turn implies that you could make (normally or via Masterwork Transformation) masterwork rocks and enchant them. The 1.5*Str bonus strongly implies that you need both hands. The lack of a minimum rock size is confusing, true.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I thought thrown rocks were ammunition and a rock you held in your hand to hit someone with was improvised, unless you've spent time shaping it to fit your hand better.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Throwing rocks, improvised weapons? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.