Two newb questions


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1) There is a blessing in the Hourglass that lets you bury a card to reroll a die. Can you do this multiple times during the same check (in fact, can any Hourglass blessing effect be used multiple times)? I'm assuming it doesn't count as a boon for "one boon of each type per step"?

1a) The "you" in the Hourglass blessing effect refers to any player, not just the active player, right? (e.g. "You may reroll any die showing 1", and my friend is avenging my failed boon ---> he would get to reroll 1's)

2) Wall of Light:

Display. While displayed:
For your combat check, you may use your Arcane or Divine + 2d4, or 2d8 if it is against an Undead bane.
On another local character's combat check, add 1d4 and the Magic trait.
At the end of the turn, banish.

Is this banished the same turn you (dis)play it even if you don't use it, or does it remain displayed until you use it (then gets banished that turn)?


Not newb questions at all; they indicate a pretty clear understanding of the game's terminology and restrictions.

Asif Kazmi wrote:

1) There is a blessing in the Hourglass that lets you bury a card to reroll a die. Can you do this multiple times during the same check (in fact, can any Hourglass blessing effect be used multiple times)? I'm assuming it doesn't count as a boon for "one boon of each type per step"?

1a) The "you" in the Hourglass blessing effect refers to any player, not just the active player, right? (e.g. "You may reroll any die showing 1", and my friend is avenging my failed boon ---> he would get to reroll 1's)

2) Wall of Light:

Display. While displayed:
For your combat check, you may use your Arcane or Divine + 2d4, or 2d8 if it is against an Undead bane.
On another local character's combat check, add 1d4 and the Magic trait.
At the end of the turn, banish.

Is this banished the same turn you (dis)play it even if you don't use it, or does it remain displayed until you use it (then gets banished that turn)?

1. Somewhat debatable, but you probably shouldn't re-use the same Hour power multiple times in a check or step, no. There was a whole thread that tiptoed around this issue, but my understanding is that it is not counted as playing a boon, but it is still a power and cannot be used multiple times per check or step (much like a character power).

1a. Correct. This is the same terminology for scenario powers and adventure powers - in these cases the "You" refers to any individual character that's relevant. So if a scenario power says "At the end of your turn, take 1d4 Fire damage", that applies at the end of every turn to the current player. If a scenario power says "When you would discard a blessing for its power, you may bury it to heal 1d4 cards" then that applies to any character discarding a blessing for its power, no matter who's turn it is.

2. It's banished at the end of the same turn you display it, no matter what. One of its powers when displayed is the non-optional "At the end of the turn, banish". Note, however, that you can choose to display it during a check, whether for the 'supporting' power or the combat check power, because the Core Rulebook says that "displaying a boon and [immediately] using a power on it counts as playing it only once".


Yewstance wrote:

2. It's banished at the end of the same turn you display it, no matter what. One of its powers when displayed is the non-optional "At the end of the turn, banish". Note, however, that you can choose to display it during a check, whether for the 'supporting' power or the combat check power, because the Core Rulebook says that "displaying a boon and [immediately] using a power on it counts as playing it only once".

Then what is the point of it being a Display card, it could just be a regular spell that gets Played? Armor cards get Displayed and stay until used, allowing you to draw another card in hand.

Bonus question: If I forgot I had Display armor in my hand, can I play it just before the Suffer Damage step of the encounter, or would it have to be before I began attempting that check?


The point of displaying it is that you can use for every combat of the turn not just one.

Bonus question, yes you can.


Frencois wrote:

The point of displaying it is that you can use for every combat of the turn not just one.

Bonus question, yes you can.

Ah, I forgot about multiple encounters per turn! Great, thanks!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Yewstance wrote:
1. Somewhat debatable, but you probably shouldn't re-use the same Hour power multiple times in a check or step, no. There was a whole thread that tiptoed around this issue, but my understanding is that it is not counted as playing a boon, but it is still a power and cannot be used multiple times per check or step (much like a character power).

I think the rules are clear here.

Core Rule Book pg 12, Roll the Dice wrote:
Powers that allow or require you to reroll dice happen now; each such power can reroll dice no more than once per check.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Two newb questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion