Can a SLA be used to activate a item


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can a Spell-Like Ability be used to activate a spell completion or spell trigger item?
I expect the answer is no, given the description of Spell-Like Abilities saying that "Spell-like abilities are magical and work just like spells (though they are not spells and so have no verbal, somatic, focus, or material components)"
If it does grant the ability to activate those types of items then does it allow the activation of items within the same group "Functions like spell X but with these changes" eg Cure Light Wounds / Cure Moderate Wounds & Summon Monster I / II?

I ask this question so that a FAQ can be raised to answer the question in general and not for each class of petitioner (Eidolon, Nature's Ally, Special Mount, Familiar, Fighter, etc)

RPG Superstar 2010 Top 32

Both spell completion and spell trigger items mention specifically that you need to have levels in a spellcasting class that can cast the spell, and SLAs are specifically not spells.

The answer is no, it's pretty cut and dried.

Grand Lodge

No, the creature is not of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell / anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell, so it doesn't qualify.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a SLA be used to activate a item All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions