Hide Armor (Core)


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


This question could be for a lot of things, but what does it mean when it says you may add a modifier?

This Armor states "...you may recharge to add your Survival modifier."

I am playing as Lini and her Survival modifier is Wisdom +3. I also have also upgraded my Wisdom skill three times.

Do I get +3 on the check? Or do I get +6 because I'm adding the other +3 from my Wisdom?


I'd say you are looking at a +6 there. Hrm, might have to pick that up for my Siathorn...


Rhynn Davrie wrote:
I'd say you are looking at a +6 there. Hrm, might have to pick that up for my Siathorn...

Agreed. If your wisdom is has been increased 3, Linis survival is 1d10+3+3=1d10+6, so survival modifier is +6


This is actually defined very clearly in the rule book. In the sidebar "Rules: Skills, Dice and Modifiers" on page 11.

"If your character says "Strength d10" and the "+1" box next to that has been checked, your strength skill is d10+1 and your strength die is d10. (The "+1" is called a modifier). If your character aslo says "Melee: Strength +3", your meel skill is d10+4, your melee die is d10, and the Melee modifier is +4."


Yep. Every skill your character has is made up of two components; the die and the modifier. There is no other components, no sub-components or anything. The only thing any effect will ever refer to is your "X Skill", your "X Die" or your "X Modifier".

In other words, your "X Modifier" is everything but the die, which includes skill feats.


Also, Curse of the Crimson Throne has few magical armors based on Hide Armor, and some of them "add Survival" instead of just the modifier :) So keep an eye for such nice armors the druids (and some other characters) will definitely love...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Hide Armor (Core) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion