Question about card levels when joining other Base sets with the Core Set


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber

I am thinking of taking all the Level 0 cards from the other base sets and adding them into the Core set. The rules state that all B, C, and P cards are Level 0. However, the rules also say that a card with the Basic trait is a Level 0 card.

If the # on the card is 1 but it has the Basic trait, is the card a Level 0 or Level 1 card?

Do you guys see any reason I should not add the level 0 cards from other base sets to the Core Set?

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

Phaye wrote:

I am thinking of taking all the Level 0 cards from the other base sets and adding them into the Core set. The rules state that all B, C, and P cards are Level 0. However, the rules also say that a card with the Basic trait is a Level 0 card.

If the # on the card is 1 but it has the Basic trait, is the card a Level 0 or Level 1 card?

Do you guys see any reason I should not add the level 0 cards from other base sets to the Core Set?

The main reason I wouldn't add all the level 0 cards from other base sets is because, on the whole, they're just not as strong cards. And also you're going to be diluting your decks like CRAZY with all those low level cards. There might be a few that you love from certain decks that you could pull over, but on the whole I think it seems like a bad idea.

That said, the few Basic cards that are 1's I would still treat as 0's.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
cartmanbeck wrote:
The main reason I wouldn't add all the level 0 cards from other base sets is because, on the whole, they're just not as strong cards. And also you're going to be diluting your decks like CRAZY with all those low level cards...

Fun fact: this is exactly why we do mix and start with random boons: diluting.

This means you start with "bad" decks and you don't get a "good" deck too fast and thus lose interest in acquiring stuff.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens Subscriber

As I was sorting cards last night I do see what you mean by dilution so maybe not all the 0 level cards but maybe the ones from the class decks? I do want some extra variation.

Additionally, I am thinking of putting a sticker over the level 1 basic cards that has a 0 on it.

Silver Crusade RPG Superstar 2014 Top 16

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Phaye wrote:

As I was sorting cards last night I do see what you mean by dilution so maybe not all the 0 level cards but maybe the ones from the class decks? I do want some extra variation.

Additionally, I am thinking of putting a sticker over the level 1 basic cards that has a 0 on it.

Adding a class deck or two (all of the boons) is much more reasonable than adding level 0 cards from any other base set, in my opinion. :)

Lone Shark Games

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, if you want some guns in your Curse run, adding the Gunslinger Class Deck is still your best option. Have fun with it!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Question about card levels when joining other Base sets with the Core Set All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion
Role Cards