
GringoireDM |

Hello everyone. some problem with casting defensively rules.
here:http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/combat.html#casting-on-the-defensiv e
i have: Casting on the Defensive: Casting a spell while on the defensive does not provoke an attack of opportunity. It does, however, require a concentration check (DC 15 + double the spell's level) to successfully cast the spell. Failure means that you lose the spell.
But Here: http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magic.html
I have: Casting Defensively: If you want to cast a spell without provoking any attacks of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 15 + double the level of the spell you're casting) to succeed. You lose the spell if you fail.
SO, will i take AoO if i fail concentration check, or not??

FarmerBob |

SO, will i take AoO if i fail concentration check, or not??
No. If you cast on the defensive you never take an AoO for the act of casting a spell. (You still might take an AoO for casting a ranged spell though). If you fail to make the check, you lose the spell, and do not take an AoO for that.

![]() |

GringoireDM wrote:SO, will i take AoO if i fail concentration check, or not??No. If you cast on the defensive you never take an AoO for the act of casting a spell.
This is correct.
(You still might take an AoO for casting a ranged spell though). If you fail to make the check, you lose the spell, and do not take an AoO for that.
This is the start of a 30 post thread. ;)

wraithstrike |

If you want to cast a spell without provoking any attacks of opportunity, you must make a concentration check (DC 15 + double the level of the spell you're casting) to succeed.
to me it is just like you have to succeed check to avoid AoO while casting spell... isn't so?
No. You avoid the AoO just by casting defensively, even if the spell might fail.
If you don't cast defensively you might get stabbed in the face and still lose the spell.

Ringtail |

If you are like me you can just have up a mirror image (a favorite spell to metamagic - empower, maximize, quicken, extend... ah the possiblities), don't cast defensively, eat the AO and bank on them smacking an image. 'O course I have terrible D20 luck and would rather my opponent just have a 1 in 6ish shot of disrupting my spell and forcing me to make the damage concentration roll than relying on a single 15 + double spell level check.
But yes, even if you fail to cast defensively you avoid the AO, you just lose the spell as well, and you are in melee range of something likely angry.

FarmerBob |

FarmerBob wrote:(You still might take an AoO for casting a ranged spell though). If you fail to make the check, you lose the spell, and do not take an AoO for that.This is the start of a 30 post thread. ;)
I'll just get this out now to save a few posts. :-).
Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively. Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn.

![]() |

Ranged Touch Spells in Combat: Some spells allow you to make a ranged touch attack as part of the casting of the spell. These attacks are made as part of the spell and do not require a separate action. Ranged touch attacks provoke an attack of opportunity, even if the spell that causes the attacks was cast defensively. Unless otherwise noted, ranged touch attacks cannot be held until a later turn.
Well that's certainly a definitive approach to the problem. In retrospect, I think I've learned that this is in PF two or three times now, and have forgotten each time. I think it will be that way until it actually comes up in a game. :(
Thanks for the info.

wraithstrike |

Greetings, fellow travellers.
Sorry, I don't get it. To me, there is no difference between the two statements in the first thread. This, and I have always handled it that way: _CASTING_ defensively does not provoke. Making a ranged touch attack _DOES_ provoke. *shrug*
Ruyan.
The actual attack, and the completion of the spell are two different things. The attack just determines how the spell is delivered, but it has nothing to do with the casting of the spell, which is all casting defensively helps you with.

KaeYoss |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

What the others said: Casting defensively completely eliminates the AoO for casting the spell, and if you mess up the concentration check, you lose the spell.
Beware Spellbreaker fighters, though: Not only do you get -4 on your concentration check, they get to whack you if you fail. In addition to your lost spell.