I have question about using Heavy (or some other type) Crossbow as Aldori Dueling Mastery practicioner.
Aldori Dueling Mastery text says:
You gain a +2 bonus on initiative checks as long as you start combat with an Aldori dueling sword in your hand. As long as you wield only a single Aldori dueling sword in one hand (not using a shield, an off-hand weapon, armor spikes, unarmed strikes, or natural weapons), you gain a +2 shield bonus to your AC.
My interpretation is:
Ad 1: You gain a +2 bonus on initiative checks as long as you start combat with an Aldori dueling sword in your hand.
So you gain initiative bonus if you hold Aldori Dueling Sword in one hand. It is not specified in which one. Could be main or off-hand.
Ad 2: As long as you wield only a single Aldori dueling sword in one hand (not using a shield, an off-hand weapon, armor spikes, unarmed strikes, or natural weapons), you gain a +2 shield bonus to your AC.
If you also don't have any of the listed "things" you also gain shield bonus.
Heavy Crossbow text says the following:
Normally, operating a heavy crossbow requires two hands. However, you can shoot, but not load, a heavy crossbow with one hand at a –4 penalty on attack rolls. You can shoot a heavy crossbow with each hand, but you take a penalty on attack rolls as if attacking with two one-handed weapons. This penalty is cumulative with the penalty for one-handed firing.
Is it possible to start combat with Heavy Crossbow in main hand and Aldori Sword in off-hand. Shoot Crossbow at -4 penalty, gain initiative bonus, then drop Crossbow, switch sword hand and have shield bonus for the rest of the combat?
Doubtful, in the text is stated you cant have an offhand weapon. And you are saying you are holding the weapon in your off hand. Regardless of how you twist it you have a main hand and an off hand. Maybe you're right handed, maybe you're left handed. In either case you have main hand, your dominant hand, and an offhand. If you hold the crossbow in your main hand that means you are holding a weapon, the dueling sword, in your offhand.
I would assume it follows the rules of why magus cant spell combat with 2h weapons, holding the weapon in one hand, casting the spell, then 2hing the qeapon after to gain the bonus damage from 2hing. I could he completely wrong however, but that's my understanding.
Okay this feat has two independant benefits: an init bonus while you have the sword in hand, and a ahield bonus when your other hand is empty. Main and off hand are not permanent choices in PF, they are circumstancial terms.
So at the start of combat you are holding your sword in one hand (init bonus requirement satisfied) and a crossbow (or pistol, or wand or battleaxe...) in the other (shield bonus requirement not met). If at some later point you drop the crossbow (or whatever) the shield bonus requirememt will be met.