So... can the Claw Blades be used by anyone?


Rules Questions


Advanced Race Guide, Catfolks, Catfolk Equipment wrote:
Claw Blades: These subtle blades can only be used by catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait. Bought in a set of five, they fit over the wearer's claws on one hand. The blades grant the wearer a +1 enhancement bonus on claw attack rolls with that hand and change the weapon type from a natural weapon to a light slashing weapon. Catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait are proficient with this weapon. The claw blades can be enhanced like a masterwork weapon for the normal costs. The listed cost of the item is for one set of five claws for one hand.

With these things, clawed catfolks can essentially use their claws as light weapons (with iterative attacks) instead of natural weapons (usually one attack with weapon); rules are a bit hazy on that one, but Two-Weapon Fighting might be required to use them efficiently. However, the blades are race-exclusive. For instance, the changeling, also expanded in the same book, has claws, but can't benefit from the blades. Also, well, additional races might not be available to players, basically barring claw blades if clawed races aren't allowed.

This brings me to the shifter, who gains claws at first level... You see where I'm getting at? Technically speaking a shifter could use claw blades; you would just need the proper feats to wield them... and you can take them off if you're not comfortable with.

What do you think?


Catfolk only so unless you can some how get your shifter to also count as a catfolk it won't work.


catfolk shifter~?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
These subtle blades can only be used by catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait.

Seems unambiguous. Catfolk only, and then only with the cat's claws racial trait. If you like, assume that they're designed for catfolk physiology that doesn't map to other claws. Either way, a shifter cannot use claw blades--unless the shifter is a catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait.


blahpers wrote:
Quote:
These subtle blades can only be used by catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait.
Seems unambiguous. Catfolk only, and then only with the cat's claws racial trait. If you like, assume that they're designed for catfolk physiology that doesn't map to other claws. Either way, a shifter cannot use claw blades--unless the shifter is a catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait.

I just feel like it's a similar situation as "racial" archetypes. For instance, the winged marauder alchemist archetype is only for goblins, but... what prevents me from using 1) a roc or giant owl and 2) any other race?

I mean, yeah, house rules and such, but... as a whole, it's not game-breaking or anything.


Nah, it wouldn't break anything.


blahpers wrote:
Nah, it wouldn't break anything.

Ok, with a strict reading, yes, the claw blades are catfolk-exclusive. HOWEVER, I don't think that it's impossible for other creatures to use.

Like I said, catfolks can have claws, like a cat :P so it makes sense to have something about them. Changelings have claws, but... it wasn't never a focal point; you'd probably pick a changeling for the "witchy" aspect of the race. Dude, even hags themselves aren't melee combatants at their core.

I'm also asking this because the claw blades weren't re-used or reprinted elsewhere. They could have been in the Monster Codex, as a few monsters have claws. They could have been in Ultimate Equipment as well.

The claw blades are... essentially an exotic weapon similar to gauntlets. The problem is that claw blades were never expanded to other races.

It's like saying that the grenadier alchemist archetype is a hobgoblin-exclusive archetype, because it was presented with hobgoblins, or that the gutch gunner gunslinger archetype is ratfolk-exclusive. Yeah, it makes sense that they are exclusive, but at the same time, it doesn't make sense that they are.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I dont think "can only be used by catfolk with a specific racial trait" is a strict reading.

It's the only way to read it.

Anything else is homebrew GM permission.


Honestly I dislike the item. Why should this weapon give an additional +1 to hit over any other weapon? So yeah, keep it a nitch item that only one race with a special trait can use. The last thing I want to see is a Gargoyle wearing 4 master worked claw blades so they can get the non-magical +2 to hit to offset their off-'hand' attack penalties.


Meirril wrote:
Honestly I dislike the item. Why should this weapon give an additional +1 to hit over any other weapon? So yeah, keep it a nitch item that only one race with a special trait can use. The last thing I want to see is a Gargoyle wearing 4 master worked claw blades so they can get the non-magical +2 to hit to offset their off-'hand' attack penalties.

The claw blades get a +1 to hit because they are always masterwork quality. They cost 305 gold to buy.


I'm trying to make a character that uses natural attacks. Just so I'm clear, the Claw Blades are for Catfolk only and there's no other item that will do the same thing?

Dark Archive

Heather 540 wrote:
I'm trying to make a character that uses natural attacks. Just so I'm clear, the Claw Blades are for Catfolk only and there's no other item that will do the same thing?

Tusk blades work for Gore attacks

Amulet of mighty fists work for everything


Keep in mind that the claw blades make the claw attacks into manufactured weapon attacks so you can use twf and bab with them but any other natural attack that is added is now at a -5 and half str to dmg.


Ok.


Cavall wrote:

I dont think "can only be used by catfolk with a specific racial trait" is a strict reading.

It's the only way to read it.

Anything else is homebrew GM permission.

3 years late, but you're taking a very hardline approach to reading it.

That line can just as validly be read as 'the only catfolk who can use these are catfolk with Claw Attacks'


Quote:
These subtle blades can only be used by catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait.

No? It clearly states that you need to be a catfolk with that specific racial trait, not a catfolk with claw attacks.

Dark Archive

kyrt-ryder wrote:
Cavall wrote:

I dont think "can only be used by catfolk with a specific racial trait" is a strict reading.

It's the only way to read it.

Anything else is homebrew GM permission.

3 years late, but you're taking a very hardline approach to reading it.

That line can just as validly be read as 'the only catfolk who can use these are catfolk with Claw Attacks'

No, it's not "catfolk with claw attacks from any source you want" its "catfolk with claw attacks from this one very specific source"

Quote:
These subtle blades can only be used by catfolk with the cat's claws racial trait.


Think it through. Do Catfolk normally have claws? Yes, but only some of them. Those with the claws racial trait.


I don't think I understand the question... or why the question is in the rules arena.

Claw Blades are pretty clear about only fitting Catfolk with the Claws racial trait specifically.

So, no. Everything with claws cannot automatically use Claw Blades. Same as not everything with a tail is able to use Ratfolk Tailblades or Kobold Tail Attachments.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
kyrt-ryder wrote:
Think it through. Do Catfolk normally have claws? Yes, but only some of them. Those with the claws racial trait.

But Catfolk don't normally have claws. Only those with a specific trait do. 99.9% of catfolk dont have that trait

All forks are silverware, not all silverware is a fork

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / So... can the Claw Blades be used by anyone? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions