Two Questions Regarding the Burn (Ex) ability of a Fire Elemental


Rules Questions


Question 1: The DC and damage for catching fire via the Burn extraordinary ability of a small fire elemental is amplified if it basses from one burning character to a second. Am I reading this right?

More Details:
A small fire elemental uses its Burn ability to deal fire damage to targets that it hits with its slams. The damage is 1d4. Victims of Burn must make a Reflex save of DC 11 or take an additional 1d4 each round. However, if another creature makes an attack against the burning creature using natural weapons or an unarmed strike, the attacker follows the catching on fire rules. Thus the Reflex save becomes DC 15 and the amount of damage eachround becomes 1d6. Am I reading this right?

Question 2: The rules for the Burn ability state that a creature making an attack against a burning creature using natural weapons or an unarmed strike, should follow the rules for catching on fire. However, what if a burning creature makes an attack against a non-burning one? For example, should I apply the catching on fire rules to a target that is attacked by a burning treant or wooden golem?


Question 1 : The Burn effect is active on 1 character. It gets attacked by anyone using unarmed/natural weapons : the new attacker does not get the Burn effect, but the Catch on fire rule.

- The Burn effect doesn't spread directly.
- Only the character which has the Burn condition can spread the fire.
- The Catch on fire effect does not spread.

Question 2 : If a burning creature attacks a non-burning one, the non-burning one does neither Burn not Catch on fire.

To summarize

A -> B : A catches on fire
W -> B : W does not catch on fire
B -> D : D does not catch on fire
A -> F : A does not catch on fire
F -> D : D does not catch on fire
W -> F : W does not catch on fire

with:
B burning creature,
F creature under the catch on fire rules
A non-burning attacking creature with natural/unarmed,
D non-burning defending creature,
W non-burning attacking creature with a real weapon

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two Questions Regarding the Burn (Ex) ability of a Fire Elemental All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions