| Yewstance |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
For reference:
End Your Turn: First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. While you do this, unless a power directed you to end your turn, you may play cards and use powers. Then, reset your hand (see Resetting Your Hand on page 14). When you’re done, the turn passes to the player on your left.
I have always played that you cannot use cards or powers after you have declared the end of your turn, unless they are explicitly called out as being played at the end-of-turn. You call the end of turn, end-of-turn effects (optional or mandatory) apply, then you reset your hand.
However, reading the rulebook closely seems to contradict that assumption of mine. It says that you can play cards and powers there (without specifying that they must state anything particular), and other points of the rulebook make clear that you can play cards and powers at pretty much any point outside of an encounter (you can just only use them to explore during the exploration phase).
Does this mean you can use an end-of-turn effect, then use a card that does not specify a specific timing, between the end-of-turn and your hand reset? For example.
"Kyra discards Camel at the end of her turn to move from the Tarworks to the Brickworks, then uses Cure to heal Valeros at the Brickworks before resetting her hand."
I would have though that would be an illegal play, but the rulebook may have just pointed out to me that I may have been wrong on that this whole time. Is that the case?
| Hawkmoon269 |
Let's take those first sentences, clarify something, and trim out some if the subordinate Coates
First, apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn. While you do this, unless a power directed you to end your turn, you may play cards and use powers.
What is "this" in the second sentence? It is the instruction in the first sentence. So....
While you do apply any effects that happen at the end of the turn, unless a power directed you to end your turn, you may play cards and use powers.
So, does is playing Camel an effect that happens at the end of your turn? No. If some other end of turn effect happens and Camel relates to it, you can play Camel. But I can't think what that would be. A more typical example would be having to make a check as an end of turn effect and therefore being allowed to play a blessing or use a power to automatically succeed at it.
After the "first" instruction the next thing you do is reset your hand. No space in between for free play. Then the turn passes. No space there either.
At least, that's how I play it.
| skizzerz |
I play the same way as Hawkmoon. You’re free to play stuff right before end of turn effects, as you can freely play cards and use powers in between steps of a turn. Once you start processing end of turn effects though your next chance for free play is after the next blessing is flipped and start of turn effects happen.
| Yewstance |
Alright, so it describes to players that they're not forbidden from playing cards during the end of their turn if its relevant to the situation - an effect that says "at the end of your turn, examine the top card of your location deck" might cause an encounter to occur (via Triggers) after all, so it'd be useful to know that you're still allowed to play weapons and blessings even in this technical step.
Thank you, I'm sufficiently convinced by that interpretation, which had previously gone over my head.
[...]After the "first" instruction the next thing you do is reset your hand. No space in between for free play. Then the turn passes. No space there either.[...]
Yeah, that was always my understanding until I challenged my own understanding by mis-parsing the rulebook. There's no "space" between "End your turn -> reset your hand" for cards to suddenly end up being played.
The precise wording feels somewhat misleading to me; I would never question if I was allowed to play a card during a check, as long as it was relevant, so it's odd that it's clarified in this particular method to me. Perhaps it's simply a matter of how I mentally parsed it.
EDIT: Okay, whilst it still reads oddly to me, it does seem grammatically consistent... and reading that forum thread linked below does give me a certain appreciation of the various edits and rewrites this particular facet of the rules has undergone.
This does, however, bring up a new question.
"While you do this, unless a power directed you to end your turn, you may play cards and use powers."
Does this mean that if you're directed to end your turn (lets say, through the effect of the Ghoul monster), and that causes a non-optional effect to occur (like a scenario that says "When you end your turn, roll a 1d6. If you roll a 1, summon and encounter the Henchman Bandit Henchman", or something that made you examine the top card which could be a trigger), then you cannot play cards when resolving this effect?
If I'm forced to end my turn, and something else causes a check to be made (like an end-of-turn recharge on a displayed card, or a summoned bane), am I not allowed to play any cards or use any powers? If I summoned a Bandit, could I not reveal a weapon because this is something that's happened "while" ending my turn, but I was directed to end my turn by a power?
With some googling, I've found a rather long forum thread from years ago bringing up similar questions based on rules that were subtly different at the time, but I'm not sure how to correlate a specific statement (or which statement) in that forum that could confirm why I would - or would not - be able to play a weapon in an encounter that occurred during the end-of-turn, if that end-of-turn was forced by a power.
I suppose a clearer question would be thus. If I'm forced to end my turn by a monster effect, and the scenario power says "when you end your turn, succeed at a Constitution or Fortitude 4 check or bury your hand", am I allowed to play a blessing on that check, even though my turn was 'forced' to end? Why or why not? The rules seem to imply I cannot, but this could be a pretty significant issue when a weapon is expected to pass certain checks.
Can other people play blessings on such a check? I believe they can, because the rulebook only uses the magical word "You".
| Hawkmoon269 |
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qk3n&page=2?When-exactly-do-At-the-end-of- your-turn#96
In your example, you can't play cards or use powers for the Constitution check if you got ghouled. I believe others could still do so.
| Yewstance |
Eesh, and here I was hoping that I was missing something. It still seems clear that other characters can play cards, at least.
If being 'ghouled' is representative of being paralyzed or knocked unconscious, then I find it amusing the idea that you could pass a combat check with your Strength/Melee (and being boosted by other player's blessings) whilst unconscious.
Many thanks!