|1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.|
The Test Subject ability of the Biotechnician theme clearly lets you have one extra biotech gear.
For example, a human could have both a dragon gland and a wildwise implant even though they both occupy the throat system.
Is this meant to grant one free augmentation, period, or one free augmentation per slot?
I interpreted it as being one extra augmentation, period. However I would love it if I was wrong.
Oh, I thought the other way, but now I see I'm wrong.
Thanks to your enthusiasm for biotech gear and constant tinkering with your DNA, you can adopt experimental, cutting-edge augmentations in your body beyond what most people can support. You can install one additional piece of biotech augmentation than a typical member of your race. For example, a human could have both a dragon gland and a wildwise implant (Starfinder Core Rulebook 211, 212) even though they both occupy the throat system.
The example doesn't contradict the highlighted sentence, it makes it clear where the one extra augmentation comes - from doubling up on one slot, rather than some weird extra slot.
Dream Prophet moves into sole control of the lead for power gaming themes.