Bombs


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


Question one of my friends says that an alchemist bomb can be a conjured up item is this true?


predacon64 wrote:
One of my friends says that an alchemist bomb can be a conjured up item. Is this true?

Using what spell/ability?


See that's what I don't understand is that I've played and Alchemist for quite some time so I know almost all of the ins and outs of what an alchemist can and cannot do. However I have never seen a a rule that says that an alchemist bomb can be both a physical item or a conjured item. Is there such a rule that says that an alchemist bomb can be either a physical item or a conjured up item.


predacon64 wrote:
See that's what I don't understand. I've played and Alchemist for quite some time so I know almost all of the ins and outs of what an alchemist can and cannot do. I have never seen a a rule that says that an alchemist bomb can be both a physical item or a conjured item. Is there such a rule that says that an alchemist bomb can be either a physical item or a conjured up item?

What I meant was: What was your friend trying to do? Were they trying to use a spell to conjure an alchemist bomb? Were they trying to dispel it?

There are a lot of rules that interact with each other in this game so without context it's very difficult to say whether something works, or whether something fits a certain description.


An alchemist bomb in many ways really isn't an item at all. At it's core, it is a supernatural ability of an alchemist. The flavor involves physical bombs, but in many ways they really aren't items at all.

You can't buy, sell or craft them for example. I don't believe any spell could create an alchemist bomb (although if you found something that you could summon with the alchemist bomb supernatural ability then that summoned creature would be able to create bombs).


You might be able create the "volatile chemicals" with certain spells, but you'd still have to do the "infusing them with their magical reserves" part. Unless for some reason you're in a situation where it's impossible for you to have the bomb ingredients at hand (e.g., being captured, stripped, and tossed in a featureless, chemically-inert cell), you're using a spell to do what is generally handwaved, to no real effect. It won't let an alchemist surpass her usual daily limit of bombs.


Dave Justus wrote:
An alchemist bomb in many ways really isn't an item at all. At it's core, it is a supernatural ability of an alchemist. The flavor involves physical bombs, but in many ways they really aren't items at all.

In the absence of anything else, this is you base line. Alchemist Bombs are a Supernatural Ability, not an item. As such, without any specific rule that says you can conjure them you have to assume you can't.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

An Alchemist Bomb is a Physical item that the Alchemist uses there Supernatural Ability to infuse it with explosive power.

Alchemist Bombs wrote:
In addition to magical extracts, alchemists are adept at swiftly mixing various volatile chemicals and infusing them with their magical reserves to create powerful bombs that they can hurl at their enemies. In order to create a bomb, the alchemist must use a small vial containing an ounce of liquid catalyst—the alchemist can create this liquid catalyst from small amounts of chemicals from an alchemy lab, and these supplies can be readily refilled in the same manner as a spellcaster's component pouch. Most alchemists create a number of catalyst vials at the start of the day equal to the total number of bombs they can create in that day—once created, a catalyst vial remains usable by the alchemist for years

Without the Alchemist, a conjured Alchemist Bomb would be inert.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Bombs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.