Item Creation - setting the Caster Level?


Rules Questions


The thing that always bothered me in D&D 3.5, and now in Pathfinder, is there are no rulings on increasing the Caster Level of a created magic item.

The items have a Caster Level for determining the strength of the item's aura, how good it's saving throws are, and how tough it is to dispel.

Because of such benefits, would it cost extra to increase the Caster Level of crafted items? And exactly how high can you set it? Up to your own CL? Or as high as you want?

The last question I ask because according to this FAQ, they make it sound like you could be a 5th-level Caster and still attempt to set the CL of an item at, say, 15th or 25th if you wanted to?

Setting Item Caster Level

A clarification would be greatly appreciated. I have a player creating a Gem of Seeing, but he is CL 23rd and doesn't want his Gem of Seeing to be CL 10th, but higher.


Magic Item Gold Piece Values wrote:

Command word :Spell level × caster level × 1,800 gp

Charges per day :Divide by (5 divided by charges per day)
No space limitation. :Multiply entire cost by 2

So a Gem of Seeing would be:

5 level spell X 10th level caster X 1,800gp X (6 uses / 5 = 1.2) X 2 for no slot = 216,000gp
Witch it is not... it’s 75,00gp
2.88 times less than the equation ( witch is only a guide line)

If the creator would like to make it a 23 caster level (how is he 23 level), make it cost:

5 X 23 X 1,800 X 1.2 X 2 / 2.88 = 172.500gp


What about things like Bracers of Armor though? Or Amulet of Natural Armor? Those don't correlate to your CL, it's a flat cost.

So what would be the cost difference between an Amulet of Natural Armor +5 with CL 5th and an Amulet of Natural Armor +5 with CL 20th, for example?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

No cost difference, but the craft DC is higher, and in return, it's harder to suppress. The cost, in this case, is in the craft DC, not gold. That's a fair trade, IMO.


That does seem fair. Now, strangely according to the FAQ, it's stating a spellcaster can actually set the CL to whatever they want. They just gotta beat the Spellcraft DC. So if a 15th-level caster wanted to actually craft a CL 35th item, there's no stopping them other than beating a Spellcraft DC 40? (not hard to do for a 15th level caster with the right stuff) Or are they limited to their full CL? (so 15th CL in the example I use)


The game assumes that you are creating the normal version of the item. That is why it doesnt talk about increasing caster levels. As for the item if you use a higher caster level the price should go up since you now have a better item.

Some items use the exact formula in the book, and others have an ad-hoc price. The GM will have to use his best judgement a lot more with the ones that step outside of the formula, and that is partly why there is no advice on it. No general rule will fit every situation.


By RAW there is no increase in price. and a caster can choose to create the item at as high of a CL as they want.

Now as Wraithstrike says, you should possibly increase the price. How much depends.

For luls the highest a normal craft check can get that I have seen is +63 at level 20.
That means the crafter can routinely church out CL 68 items.


Note that there is a caster level limit for some items.

Quote:

Caster Level (CL): The next item in a notational entry gives the caster level of the item, indicating its relative power. The caster level determines the item's saving throw bonus, as well as range or other level-dependent aspects of the powers of the item (if variable). It also determines the level that must be contended with should the item come under the effect of a dispel magic spell or similar situation.

For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself.

That should probably also apply to staves and any item similar to those.


I would say that any item where the CL effects something beyond just the CL of the item it should apply.

So a wand, the CL effects the damage it does, like a stave.
A ring of featherfall though doesn't need a max CL as the CL doesn't effect the effect of the item.


J4RH34D wrote:

I would say that any item where the CL effects something beyond just the CL of the item it should apply.

So a wand, the CL effects the damage it does, like a stave.
A ring of featherfall though doesn't need a max CL as the CL doesn't effect the effect of the item.

Technically, the caster level of the ring of feather falling does have an effect. Any item that functions as the spell looks at the caster level. The first effect is duration - a higher caster level means the effect lasts longer. Not a big deal, as if you don't hit the ground in the first round, the ring would simply reactivate.

However, feather fall only affects Medium or smaller creatures normally (1/level). A Large creature counts as 2 medium creatures, so it requires a CL2 feather fall spell. The ring wouldn't work for them unless it had a higher caster level.


Ah. Yes. You are correct.
But hopefully you know what I meant.


J4RH34D wrote:

By RAW there is no increase in price. and a caster can choose to create the item at as high of a CL as they want.

Now as Wraithstrike says, you should possibly increase the price. How much depends.

For luls the highest a normal craft check can get that I have seen is +63 at level 20.
That means the crafter can routinely church out CL 68 items.

Which would make it impossible to dispel and with +34 on all its saves. Also it would probably explode anyone using Detect Magic on it to read the aura's strength.

I will have to house rule the max can be set to the crafter's caster level, I just wish Paizo would clarify this more.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Item Creation - setting the Caster Level? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.