
toastedamphibian |
What exactly does "... he may attempt or otherwise act on a grapple..." mean?
So long as the wielder retains control of the trailing rope, he may attempt or otherwise act on a grapple as a free action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity.
It kind of sounds like you can make an arbitrary number of free action grapple checks.

toastedamphibian |
Yeah, but with what limits? If it was "once per round, if you control the trailing rope..." it would make sense.
It is basically saying "So long as your shirt is red, you can attack as a free action". That can't be right.
Another question: what the hell does Distance do on a net? Nets have a range increment of 10ft, with a max range of 10ft. All distance effects is the increment...
Edit: And why does it grow 2 sizes? What you can entangle with a net is based on your size, not the nets.

Perfect Tommy |

A net is normally only useful for a creature within one size of you. Hence the size change.
While Nets may have maximum ranges of 10(unverified) the net of snaring is a unique magic item. As the item does not specify a maximum range it would default to the normal maximum range for throwing weapons offive times the Range increment.
I have no doubt the designer intended the range to be the max range. However raw is raw.
If he wins the strength check, the user is entitled to make a free grapple attemp, or in subsequent rounds (If successful) act as he would if a grapple were established. (Ie pin, do sneak dmg etc)

toastedamphibian |

Pizza Lord |
The net of snaring is a +1 distance net. Normally a net has a 10 foot range, distance makes it a 20 foot range weapon (and presumably the trailing rope is of equal length). Three times per day, it may be thrown at 40 feet and increases two size categories, allowing it entangle creatures of larger sizes. While it doesn't say so, I would probably rule that it can still entangle normal sized targets as well, but that's more of a judgement call on that.
Normally, when a net hits, the target is just entangled. In this case, there's a Reflex save to avoid being entangled. If they fail, the user can (if holding the trailing rope) make a free grapple attempt. If they succeed, the target becomes grappled (as well as entangled, which are two separate conditions). Presumably, following the grapple rules, the wielder also counts as grappled and the target is pulled to an adjacent square. If the target doesn't get free, then every round the wielder can maintain the grapple and theoretically do anything that can normally be done with a grapple check: move themselves and the target, pin them, disarm or damage them with their own weapon, etc. (as long as it makes sense I guess.)
Another benefit of the increased size of the net may be additional hit points, since increasing in size typically doubles hit points for objects. That's a GM call on whether hit points change or not. They don't normally for creatures but objects use different rules, so that would make the net much harder to cut through.
While this is the Rules Forum, you did ask for an opinion, and that's the best I can come up with.

Cevah |

What exactly does "... he may attempt or otherwise act on a grapple..." mean?
Quote:So long as the wielder retains control of the trailing rope, he may attempt or otherwise act on a grapple as a free action that does not provoke an attack of opportunity.It kind of sounds like you can make an arbitrary number of free action grapple checks.
I think the presence of the word free is an error.
I think this should mean you do your normal action or grapple, but can do it remote via the rope, and by doing so you do not incur being grappled at the same time.
In other words, no change in the number of actions. Just a change is how you can do the actions.
If you left the free in, you could from grapple to pin to tie-up in the space of a single action. That would be a major power boost.
/cevah