Channeling


Rules Questions


I have a slight confusion with channeling energy to do with targeting.
Does it effect EVERY creature in the radius, or do I choose one type (living or undead) and only they get effected?

So if I channel negative energy can I target only undead? Can I target both living and undead? Do I even have a choice?

Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all creatures of one type (either undead or living)

Thanks!

Grand Lodge

You're either Channeling to heal or Channeling to harm.

You choose when you declare that you're Channeling.

99% of the time*, you'll...

• Channel Negative to harm living
• Channel Negative to heal undead
• Channel Positive to harm undead
• Channel Positive to heal living

*Some exclusions and restrictions apply. Void where prohibited. Consult a Pharasman if Channeled Energy does not disperse after 4 hours...


You choose heal or harm with your energy type and all appropriate creatures in the radius get affected.

Your energy type (either Negative or Positive) determines who is affected when declaring the use for heal or Harm.

A lot of people get tripped up because they think they declare the target (living or undead), but you don't actually. You pick your energy type at creation (or use if you have the Versitile Channeler feat) and declare heal or harm at use.

The creature's type, racial traits, class traits, feats, and spell effects determine whether they are affected.

So you can channel Negative Energy to heal and all undead will be affected in the radius.

You can not heal and harm simultaneously (unless you progress the Envoy of Balance prestige class).

You have a choice of heal or harm upon use of your channel (unless your class feature says otherwise).


Thanks, this clears it up quite well. Makes a necromancer cleric much more useful in a party of the living!


Don't forget the feat Selective Channelling. Allows you to choose a number of creatures (= to your charisma modifier) not affected by your burst.

Liberty's Edge

Curse the Halfling wrote:
Don't forget the feat Selective Channelling. Allows you to choose a number of creatures (= to your charisma modifier) not affected by your burst.

In addition, even without the feat, you can always choose not to be affected by your own burst

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channeling All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions